HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Emil's Clever Pig by Astrid Lindgren
Loading...

Emil's Clever Pig (1970)

by Astrid Lindgren

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
166471,708 (4.13)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

English (3)  Danish (1)  All (4)
Showing 3 of 3
Six Emil stories, from going to the auction and buying a bread shovel, a jewelry box, a fire pump, and Lame Lotta, and earning Rollo the cow, through painting little Ida blue to play at typhus and getting drunk on fermented cherries, to rescuing Alfred from blood poisoning during a blizzard.  I have no idea why these aren't more popular in the US.  Maybe they're a little too old-fashioned, because they weren't translated soon enough? ( )
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Jun 6, 2016 |
Richer and more nuanced than the first Emil book, but still breathtakingly funny. This is one smart boy, with a heart as golden as his hair. Fans of Ramona Quimby and Clementine would enjoy learning that even in rural Sweden, even many decades ago, children got into and out of several scrapes daily. But the stories aren't just about Emil - we also become fond of little sister Ida, mother Anna and father Anton, hired youth Lina and Alfred, even the neighbors and townsfolk have personalities. I'm going to keep working to find the others. ( )
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Jun 6, 2016 |
Six stories about farm boy Emil, the most mischievous child in Sweden! He lives with his parents, his sisters Lina and Ida, and their farmhand Alfred. Emil's pranks often get him into trouble and then he is sent to the tool shed to carve little wooden men - 369 in total! During the course of the stories Emil is chased by a mad cow, teaches his pet pig to dance, plants a frog in a lunch basket, locks his father in the dunny and saves Alfred's life amongst other enterprising and best intentioned deeds. Emil is a thoroughly delightful character and these stories will make you laugh out loud. ( )
  DebbieMcCauley | Dec 7, 2015 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Information from the Swedish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0192727567, Paperback)

Whether he's teaching his pet pig to dance, being chased by a mad cow or wrestling a robber, Emil's adventures never stop. Hens, dogs, little sisters - and adults - all flee his path. But Emil doesn't mean to be bad, it's just that trouble - and fun - follow him wherever he goes. A collection of utterly engaging tales from one of the world's best-loved children's authors.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:16:44 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

Five-year-old Emil finds his mischief becoming worse and his punishments more bearable after he has Piggy-Beast to share them with.

Legacy Library: Astrid Lindgren

Astrid Lindgren has a Legacy Library. Legacy libraries are the personal libraries of famous readers, entered by LibraryThing members from the Legacy Libraries group.

See Astrid Lindgren's legacy profile.

See Astrid Lindgren's author page.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
19 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.13)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 4
4 10
4.5 3
5 7

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 116,985,860 books! | Top bar: Always visible