HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Happiness Sold Separately by Lolly Winston
Loading...

Happiness Sold Separately

by Lolly Winston

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7713211,991 (3.32)19

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 19 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 32 (next | show all)
This book has to have one of the most annoying child characters in the history of literature. As well as no likable characters. ( )
  janb37 | Feb 13, 2017 |
My last book for 2007. I am discussing this book at my book club. If you're interested, read my thoughts, and the thoughts of the other members, there:

http://readersanonymous.ning.com/ ( )
  trishaj | Oct 7, 2014 |
I rather liked the cover image – hung out to dry. A troubled marriage, first infertility, then infidelity. The story was a sensitive look into a marriage unraveling, though amicably enough, with the circumstances and choices played out. ( )
  countrylife | Jan 27, 2014 |
The characters are solid but I thought the plot was unadventurous and predictable. Midlife crises make boring books when nobody goes entirely mad. ( )
  satyridae | Apr 5, 2013 |
I absolutely loved "Good Grief" and was so excited to read another book by Lolly Winston. Unfortunately, this was just ... blah. ( )
  cait815 | Apr 1, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 32 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 044669939X, Paperback)

The New York Times bestseller about how marriage, love, and how sometimes falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time can be the right thing. Elinor Mackey has lived her life in perfect order: college, law school, marriage, successful corporate career. But when she discovers that she and her podiatrist husband, Ted, can't have children, Elinor withdraws into her own world of heartbreak and anger. While Elinor
falls in love with the oak tree in their front yard, sleeping under it at night, Ted begins an affair with Gina, the nutritionist at their gym. Ted, who may be the only one who can help Gina and her son, suddenly finds himself in love with two women at the same time. In the tradition of Anne Tyler, John Cheever, and Tom Perrotta, Winston's second novel looks beyond the manicured surface of suburbia to a world of loss, longing, lust, and betrayal.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:17:39 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

"The marriage of a seemingly perfect couple dissolves into a complicated dance of affairs, lovers, and admirers"--Provided by the publisher.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
287 avail.
11 wanted
2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.32)
0.5
1 11
1.5
2 22
2.5 3
3 72
3.5 13
4 50
4.5 9
5 20

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,127,233 books! | Top bar: Always visible