HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Submission: A Novel by Marthe Blau
Loading...

Submission: A Novel

by Marthe Blau

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1025118,402 (2.83)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

English (4)  Dutch (1)  All (5)
Showing 4 of 4
Never has a book infuriated me with a character until this one. Elodie is a complete moron, this is not a novel about normal sub/dom relationships. The character in this book is mentally ill and needs help. If you want to be pissed off and not turned on at all by her pathetic internal pleadings then, by all means, read this book. If you're looking for a sexy novel on sub/dom culture and relationships then stay the fuck away. ( )
  faerychikk | Jan 5, 2016 |
Very impressing. And also a bit sad on the end or maybe it is for the whole story.
Warning: you can get a tear by reading ( )
  misty13 | May 27, 2009 |
This book contains an interesting voice that becomes tedious and repetitive about half-way through. It seemed the author was reaching for the prize of The Greatest Unrequited Lust. Both of the main characters' machinations kept the story moving, but the end falls apart. It is quite possible that if something was lost in this translation, it was that the ability to keep this reader in sympathy with the character failed--gradually at first--and finally and irrevocably at the end of the book. Tragic. ( )
  psybre | Jan 21, 2009 |
Kind of like the Story of O lite, except that you cared about O. Blau gives us a picture that is all frame and little content. We don't really know what is going on inside of her, or why she is drawn to this guy. This is not porn, and it is not literature. ( )
  Arctic-Stranger | Sep 19, 2007 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0743271122, Paperback)

You'll want to scream,

but you'll be gagged.

You'll want to cry,

but you'll be blindfolded.

You'll want to run away,

but you'll be tied up.

You'll have no way of begging me,

I'll do what I want with you.

Submission, the controversial novel that, according to The Sunday Times (London), "sent tremours through the French establishment," is bound to leave American readers breathless.

Sexual obsession, domination, and dangerous desire drive the story of Élodie, a young married Parisian lawyer who finds herself swept up in a cycle of sadomasochistic lust.

A handsome stranger Élodie meets in court issues her a series of instructions that she feels compelled to follow. He introduces her to sex clubs hidden in dark alleys, toys that enhance physical pleasure as well as pain, and couples whose appetites are as voracious as his. What at first seems out of character for Élodie -- she has a small child at home, after all -- quickly begins to shape her self-identity. As the violence of their encounters escalates, these acts become an addiction she can't bear. But how far can Élodie go . . . and how much of her life will she risk in the process?

This sophisticated and captivating novel exudes the sensuality that only the French can deliver.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:15:14 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

A first novel in the tradition of The Story of O and The Sexual Life of Catherine M finds Elodie, a young married Parisian attorney, swept into a cycle of sado-masochism and sexual addiction in her relationship with a compelling stranger.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
4 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.83)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 5
2.5 2
3 6
3.5 2
4 3
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,724,955 books! | Top bar: Always visible