HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

A Question of Guilt by Frances Fyfield
Loading...

A Question of Guilt (1988)

by Frances Fyfield

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
149380,266 (3.18)6

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

Showing 3 of 3
In the book jacket his book was said to be similar to the best of P.D. James and I agree. In fact I thought it was more readable than some of the "not so best" of James in that it was more direct and has few psychological red herrings. If the character is "lying to himself" the reader can figure this out. The protagonists, Helen West and Geoffrey Bailey, are are sympathetic with backstories that explain their flaws. The villains of the piece psycholically manipulate the psychotically frail. This type of tale used to be my cup of tea so I rated it 4 stars, but be forewarned if, like me, you are avoiding this type of mystery. ( )
  lynndp | Aug 15, 2012 |
A mystery in the tradition of P.D. James or Elizabeth George involving a lot of character development with plot mixed in to move the reader along. The author writes in rambling, long sentences, and I found myself wanting to come up for air, but I enjoyed it all the same. ( )
  readyreader | Nov 1, 2010 |
Very satisfying story. Less given to the good v. evil of other mystery writers. Some very fun characters. ( )
  Darrol | Aug 15, 2009 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
Information from the Finnish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Perheelleni, ystävilleni ja naapureilleni
First words
Information from the Finnish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Sylvia Bernard nukkui miehensä vieressä yhtä syvää, rauhallista unta kuin tämäkin.
Quotations
Last words
Information from the Finnish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Cunning and evil, poisoned by a lifetime of love withheld, Eileen Cartwright has an unrivaled passion for revenge. When the rich, middle-aged widow falls in love with her lawyer, she goes to fatal lengths to make him hers. Prosecutor Helen West is assigned to the case, but when Eileen's extraordinary evil reaches out even from behind prison bars, the investigation reaches a climax of frightening and frenzied violence.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"When rich, middle-aged widow Eileen Cartwright becomes obsessed with Michael Bernard, her handsome solicitor, she plots the murder of his pretty wife. A Polish hospital porter is hired for the killing. Bumbling and remorseful, he is quickly caught. But Eileen's involvement is harder to prove as her wealth and cunningly meticulous planning have put her almost beyond the law. Helen West and Geoffrey Bailey are the crown prosecutor and detective superintendent assigned to the case. Both survivors of personal trauma, they are drawn together by a weary, shared compassion. Only when Eileen Cartwright's extraordinary evil reaches out even from behind prison bars are events brought to a tense and thrilling climax"--Container.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
8 avail.
3 wanted
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.18)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 9
3.5 3
4 5
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,079,897 books! | Top bar: Always visible