HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Trace Elements of Random Tea Parties (Live…
Loading...

Trace Elements of Random Tea Parties (Live Girls) (2003)

by Felicia Luna Lemus

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
701171,029 (3.17)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

I had high hopes of this book, but it didn't really live up to them. I hate to say, honestly, I enjoyed the LA lesbians of The L Word more. Some interesting language, but it pushed too hard with its central use of the myth of Weeping Woman, and the writing was often overdone. ( )
  lysimache | Jul 6, 2007 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 158005126X, Paperback)

"Buckle up, doll," urges the narrator of Trace Elements, "I promise I'll try not to tangle your quinceañera dress." So begins the adventure of Leticia Marisol Estrella Torez, who moves north to Los Angeles in an attempt to break from her past: from starched dresses and sleek, tight braids; from Nana, the traditional grandmother who raised her; and also from the seductive Weeping Woman—the siren of Mexican folklore said to fly through the skies at night to steal troublesome children and who embodies, in many ways, Leti's first love. As Leti immerses herself in the post-queer hipster scene in Los Angeles, navigating the twisting road of her own shifting gender and falling deep into "papaya lush blush" love, she rediscovers the strength and meaning of la familia. A striking debut novel in the tradition of Michelle Tea and Sarah Schulman, Trace Elements spins a crazy and beautiful narrative that turns tradition on its head while laying flowers at its feet.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:09:11 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

"Leticia Marisol Estrella Torrez moves north to Los Angeles in an attempt to break from her past: from Nana, the traditional grandmother who raised her, and also from the seductive Weeping Woman, the siren of Mexican folklore who is said to fly through the skies at night to steal troublesome children and who has courted Leticia since her adolescence." "Leticia quickly finds herself immersed in the post-punk, post-queer hipster scene in Los Angeles, and begins a short-lived and doomed affair with the devastating Edith, who bears an uncanny resemblance to Weeping Woman. After this affair runs its course, Leticia is introduced to K, a tall, dark, and handsome Old Spice-wearing lovely from Philadelphia who airbrushes murals on the sides of vans in east Los Angeles. K and Leticia tumble into "candy heaven" bliss, with, to Leticia's amazement, her nana's blessing. They decide to move into a "gingerbread house" together, and as Leticia's confidence in herself and her own sexuality grows, she assumes an identity that K refers to as "shy bookworm sweater femme boy." But her newfound happiness is brutally shattered when Nana suffers a stroke, and when Leticia makes the disturbing discovery that K is not as trustworthy as she seems."--BOOK JACKET.… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.17)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 2
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 127,171,166 books! | Top bar: Always visible