HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti
Loading...

Waiting For You (edition 2009)

by Susane Colasanti

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
319None34,821 (3.69)5
KimberlySlicedOpen's review
Review by Sliced Open Reviews

Now I don’t know about you but my typical reads are between Paranormal YA and New Adult BUT I always have to slip in a good chick lit or realistic fiction to keep the equilibrium, so I think I can officially add Susane Colasanti to the list of reliable sources.

Waiting For You was a coming of age story of High School Sophomore Marisa. Colasanti built Marisa’s character to be slightly dark and high school bright at the same time, but it was done masterfully. While probably somewhere in Chapter 2 I could tell you what the end of the story looked like, I don’t think the ending was as important as the middle. The “in between” of this book was what did it for me, the building of Marisa’s character, the mystery behind Dirty Dirk, and the relationships between all of the characters. So, overall liked the book, it’s not a book I’ll read again, but it did fulfill my chick lit needs! ( )
  KimberlySlicedOpen | May 20, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 17 of 17
This isn't a book that will make you guess how it will end. It's a happy book with a happy end and you pretty much know that right off the bat. However, it is an easy read. It's one of those fuzzy feeling books that makes you feel all good inside. Therefore, I liked it. ( )
  JessicaofAbbey | Apr 9, 2014 |
I found that I was able to tell the ending of this story before it happened, but it was interesting to read an author that I have never read before. I'll have to try reading another by this author and see if I enjoy it ( )
  askum | Dec 13, 2013 |
I picked this up after flipping through [b:So Much Closer|8492805|So Much Closer|Susane Colasanti|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1286325931s/8492805.jpg|13358342] at work and generally liking what I read. I liked it well enough to go and grab one of Colasanti’s earlier books. Unfortunately, there wasn’t as much pep and funny to grab me with Waiting for You.

A huge problem with the book is the pacing, especially with the first third of the book. The chapters were extremely erratic, switching between what was going on in the plot and having Marisa pontificate on her interests and feelings. It felt jarring and took me out of the plot. The chapters whenever Marisa went off about her interests and life didn’t really gel with the others. She would go on for about five pages about why she did photography, or why she absolutely had to practice her violin in the bathroom. While it’s not a laundry list of characteristics and we see her doing and enjoying some of her hobbies, I wanted to see their introduction integrated more into the story itself, not getting a whole chapter with a tiny bit of plot development.

There’s also the issue that a lot of these chapters serve solely to introduce secondary characters, again, with no previous set-up. For example, Marisa’s little sister Sandra gets randomly introduced in chapter five, with no prior mention. (Heck, we’re not told she’s the younger sister until about a page and a half in.) Aunt Katie is another character who just gets a random introduction, with little to no build-up, and in fact, I thought could have been completely cut from the story.

It’s also this random, sprawling writing style that made me dislike Marisa as our main character. I can’t get a real grasp on who she’s supposed to be—is she an artist? Normal high school girl? Someone trying to get over past issues? There’s at least one or more mentions of everything that she does, but it never defines Marisa. Also, her interests really don’t show anything more to her character. There are scenes scattered throughout the book where Marisa describes taking photos and why she likes doing it, but the only reason it feels like she’s a photographer is so she can discover that her dad’s moving out. Then, it’s randomly dropped that she has an anxiety disorder and has been getting over a year-long bout of depression. While this would have helped for great characterization, it doesn’t feel realistic. First, side tangent on the fact that Marisa claims that she doesn’t go to therapy anymore. I don’t know what this says about Marisa or her parents, but depression does not work that way. There’s no easy cure-all, and if Marisa actually had an anxiety disorder, she would have been recommended to get help and medication.

The love story is barely interesting. Once Marisa hooks up with Derek, it feels like he was leading her on the whole time and we never get to see the side of him that complimented Marisa on her artwork. His ex-girlfriend is there to be catty and bitchy and only wants to steal him back. I’m a little bit more interested in Nash, but there’s not much that we see to him, and it’s so obviously set up that he’s Dirty Dirk the podcaster. There’s no real build-up to either love interest.

The only major plotline that goes anywhere interesting is Marisa’s parents splitting up, and even then, there’s not much done with it. Marisa indulges in a lot contrived drama—she hates her father, he’s must have obviously cheated on her mother; oh no, her mother had the affair, now what is she supposed to do? The fact that her mother purposefully delays telling either one of her daughters about what’s happening also pissed me off—I know divorces and affairs are really messy, especially when dealing with the kids’ reactions, but her mother’s excuses of how everything happened so fast and “I just want to be happy for me!” felt contrived and plot convenient. Also, the resolution of Marisa starting to forgive her mother felt too rushed and way too easy.

Overall, it’s not a very good book. It’s not terrible, but the bland nature of the plot and the drama was way too convenient to fit the plot needs. Also, the handling of teen depression is really bad. I may have to give her other books a full read, but I probably won’t be picking up any more of Susane Colasanti anytime soon.
( )
  princess-starr | Mar 31, 2013 |
Colasanti tells a typical teenage love story in "Waiting for You." Marisa is headed into her sophomore year of hgih school and has an idea in her mind about finding the love of her life. She has her sights set on the popular jock, Derek, and throughout the year a relationship flourishes and Marisa could not be happier. However, some things get in the way of Marisa truly enjoying her ideal life: her parents are arguing at home, her best friend is talking to guys on an online dating network, and dating Derek has pushed away her close friend, Nash. Marisa's coping mechanism through all of this comes through an anonymous radio broadcast. DJ Dirk is the hot topic at school, and he talks about and relates to everything Marisa is going through. Will Marisa find the one she's wiating for? Will Dirk's identity be revealed? Or has Marisa already found her true love, but it has taken Dirk to help her realize it?

"Waiting for You" was a quick and easy read. The plot was predictable beacuse it follows the same sequence of events as most teen romance novels. However, it is a very relatable story; everyone can find soemthing that applies to them. Whether it is trouble at home, broken friendships and broken hearts, or young love, readers can understand what the characters are going through based on personal experiences. I would recommend this book to any teenage girl who is looking for an easy and entertainign book to read for pleasure. ( )
  ahsreads | Jan 4, 2013 |
This chapter book is about a young girl looking for her first real boyfriend. The identity of three boys is questioned towards the end of the book. When she discovers who one of the potential suitors really is everything starts to come together despite her struggles she has to face throughout the novel.
  Danielle_Rumsky | Dec 12, 2012 |
Review by Sliced Open Reviews

Now I don’t know about you but my typical reads are between Paranormal YA and New Adult BUT I always have to slip in a good chick lit or realistic fiction to keep the equilibrium, so I think I can officially add Susane Colasanti to the list of reliable sources.

Waiting For You was a coming of age story of High School Sophomore Marisa. Colasanti built Marisa’s character to be slightly dark and high school bright at the same time, but it was done masterfully. While probably somewhere in Chapter 2 I could tell you what the end of the story looked like, I don’t think the ending was as important as the middle. The “in between” of this book was what did it for me, the building of Marisa’s character, the mystery behind Dirty Dirk, and the relationships between all of the characters. So, overall liked the book, it’s not a book I’ll read again, but it did fulfill my chick lit needs! ( )
  KimberlySlicedOpen | May 20, 2012 |
This book is about a girl named Marisa. She thinks that this guy named Derek is who she has been waiting for, but he has a girlfriend. Then there is this other guy, Nash. Nash is Marisa’s neighbor and childhood friend who happens to be a geek. Anyway, when Nash wants to start dating Marisa she says no and then they don’t talk for a long time. In between there, Derek breaks up with his girlfriend and then he asks Marisa out. After that Nash doesn’t think he has a chance with Marisa so then he asks another girl out. So that’s happening but there is more drama at her house. Her mother and father have announced that they are getting a divorce. Marisa is mad at her dad before she finds out that it was her mom who was having an affair. Her parents are separated and they both start dating other people. Derek decides to break up with Marisa and Nash’s girlfriend breaks up with him.
In the end Marisa and Nash end up being together. I liked this book a lot. It put a twist on the same story where the girl falls for the boy that is like her best friend. Being that it had family problems mixed in the story too, it made it even more interesting to read. Usually when writers put all those things in the same book it seems too dramatic for people to like. I think this book has more potential to be a good book than those fantasy love stories. Books like this seem more real than the fairies, vampires and werewolf kind of chronicles. This book might make a good movie ( )
  Ryanne.Thompson | Jan 20, 2012 |
too slow, couldnt finish it ( )
  GothicNight | Jul 19, 2011 |
This was a great book for anyone who is in highschool and may be struggleing with balanceing a relationship and friends. This book has help me realize the importance of hanging out with friends just as much as a boyfriend, it diffentally helped me with my struggles with love and friends. ( )
  dymondco | Feb 18, 2011 |
One of the best books I've ever read. I was captivated on the first page. I could also relate. Amazing book, amazing author! Read it! ( )
  elliedreams | Jul 19, 2010 |
This was a sweet, coming-of-age story of a young girl who is at the point in her life where she is discovering who she is and where she is going. Marisa is a very relatable character - she's a sophomore in high school and is looking for Mr. Right. When she lands the perfect boyfriend (handsome, popular, etc.) she begins to realize that sometimes love doesn't have to be perfect and can be found when least expected.

Although the story does have a light feel to it, it does touch on some rather serious subjects, making it not just a fun book but also an emotional story. I do have to say that I was drawn more to the lighter/more romanticer (yes, I made that word up) moments in the story. I also enjoyed the whole anonymous DJ bit... although I did guess who it was from the start.

I have to confess that I did wish that it would have been more fast-paced... I felt as if something was waiting around the corner the whole time, but it just never came. All in all, this is a classic coming-of-age story about friendship and first love that is easily enjoyed. ( )
  bookwormygirl | May 18, 2010 |
Good book for anyone looking for a cute easy read. Pretty standard plot line, but some interesting twists that make it interesting. The idea of Dirk the talk show host who only talks about the goings on at the school is different. This also adds a bit of mystery. Very easy fast read, but it is written like a teenager talks. Good if you are a teen, but the age range is limited. ( )
  meeps1031 | Mar 23, 2010 |
Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

Marisa has had a crush on Derek for a long, long time. He's perfect: friendly, cute, popular. The only problem is that he has a girlfriend. Then there's Nash, her longtime, geeky neighbor. Sure, he's super shy, but he's also extremely sweet and smart.

So when Derek breaks up with his girlfriend and starts paying attention to Marisa, she's ecstatic. Soon it's official - Derek and Marisa, the couple of the school. But then things change between Nash and Marisa. They start to talk more and find themselves becoming good friends. And then there's the fact that the once geeky Nash isn't so geeky anymore. In fact, he seems to have gotten...a style!

When Marisa has Derek, the guy she's always wanted, doesn't that mean she should be happy? And when she's not happy, does this mean that maybe she and Derek aren't meant to be?

Susane Colasanti writes a must-read for all teens. Not only does this book delve into young love, but it also deals with family life and the problems that are common today. This book is a rite of passage for all teens going through the dramas of high school: family problems, friend drama, crazy siblings, cute boys, and surprising finds.

WAITING FOR YOU, the third teen read from Colasanti, is recommended to all. This book will bring laughs, tears, and awkward moments that will be sure to please everyone who reads it. ( )
  GeniusJen | Oct 13, 2009 |
Another great Susane Colasanti book! When I heard about Waiting For You, I was really excited, as I absolutely love When It Happens (there actually happens to be a quote from it on the walls of my school in the English department) and Take Me There is a favorite as well. This was a fun read that kept me reading rather quickly. I predicted the ending right away, but it was still a lot of fun to read how it would come to that conclusion.

I really liked Marissa's character, I felt she had elements that relate to all sorts of people which draws you in even more if you connect with the character. Nash was another really well written character, he was just so sweet. Some of the others characters I felt where a little too true to stereotypes.

The setting was another thing that really drew you into the story, the setting of the high school was actually believable. In some books with high school settings, you think, "That's not what high schools really like." Plus the message sent is really cute, which is you should appreciate what you have rather than hoping for the next "thing" which if it happens, may not surpass what you had to begin with.

I love the cover, it's perfect for the plot of the book.

This is definately a great summer read! ( )
  TheBookCellar | Jun 29, 2009 |
Waiting for You was so easy for me to read. A lot of times I sit down to read and have to stop every few minutes, I think of something I have to do or the writing catches me up and I have to slow down or take a break. But Waiting for You I could just sit down with and read, no if ands or buts.

Waiting for You was a fun yet emotional story. I liked how complex the story was, there was a lot to grasp onto and relate to. I thought I might have a hard time reading about Marisa's parents separation but it actually presented it in a way that was easily digestible. I think my favorite part was Marisa trying to figure out who she wanted to be with romantically and learning more about herself in the process. I also loved the plotline of the mysterious nighttime DJ. I mean, I knew exactly who it was from the beginning but I loved finding the little clues sprinkled through the book as to their identity! It definitely had me grinning.

It came as no surprise to me that Nash, Marisa's friend from childhood would be my favorite character. I'm all about the eccentric dorky boys. Another of my favorite parts involved Marisa's friend Sterling waiting at a park to meet a guy she chatted with online. He turned out to be not what she expected and it was pretty hilarious!

Overall a multi-dimensional book full of family, friends, and love! I can't wait to read more by Colasanti! ( )
  mint910 | May 10, 2009 |
Ah, Susane Colasanti, why must you be such a genius? Words will, as is usual with her books, have difficulty describing how utterly perfect Waiting for You was. In yet another stunningly sweet book, Colasanti will have you laughing and crying and just wishing you lived your lives with her amazing characters. They come to life with quirky characteristics, up to date references (Speak! and Twisted!) and genuine, realistic speech, although there were certain times when Marisa acted a bit like a spoiled brat. Still, it was great to see another character diagnosed with an anxiety-disorder, showing teens everywhere that it's not a completely life-halting diagnosis, much like Jade told us in Deb Caletti's The Nature of Jade. Nash, Love Interest Extraordinaire, is the boy we've all wanted to meet. So many great things plot-wise, where to begin? The father-daughter bond between Marisa and her dad was heartwarming--it's really rare to see a good YA book with one of those, as they usual end up being mother-daughter girl bonding books. There's enough intrigue to leave you slightly on the edge of your seat, parts predictable, parts not so, but all entertaining to read nevertheless. Everything is so honest, current, and clear. It's what I love most--the clarity, the softness of the words, the characters, all that even reflected down to the gorgeous cover image. Colasanti truly has discovered, developed, and perfected the teenage life and voice.

Rating: 5/5 ( )
  Runa | Mar 24, 2009 |
Marisa's story is a classic dilemma. Nerdy boy likes girl, girl likes popular boy, will things ever work out for the two?

Marisa and Nash have always been neighbors but have grown apart over the years. Nash is the nerdy boy who is obsessed with robots and science and Marisa is the girl who would love to be popular but can never quite fit in. Marisa's problem is that she has an anxiety disorder that made most people think that she was crazy.

This year, though, Marisa and her best friend Sterling make a pact that Sophomore year will be the best yet. They both plan to reinvent themselves over the summer and start fresh. Things seem to be going great for both of them, especially when Derek, the boy of her dreams, seems to take an interest in Marisa.

While things get better and better for Marisa, her friendship with Sterling seems to be deteriorating. Marisa won't spend time with Sterling because she is too busy with Derek but Marisa won't let Sterling find her own boyfriend. Sterling has a tendency to go for the older guys that she meets on the internet and Marisa is worried that something might happen. All Sterling wants is someone like Derek is to Marisa and she can't seem to find it anywhere but the internet. More and more Marisa blows off Sterling to hang out with Derek and Sterling finally cracks. She can't stand being put second in Marisa's life and she won't put up with it anymore.

Things couldn't be better for Marisa but she can't seem to stop thinking about Nash. Nash also entered into a new relationship and instead of being happy, Marisa seems to be a tad bit jealous. When Derek starts hanging out with his ex-girlfriend, Sierra, things get even worse.

Not only is Marisa having trouble with friendships and relationships, her family life seems to be getting worse. Her parents, who have always been the type to show their affection, don't seem to even notice each other anymore. What could possibly be going on with them?

Will Marisa finally choose the right guy for her? Will Sterling ever get over finding older guys on the internet? Will Marisa's parents make-up of break-up?

Waiting For You is a classic coming-of-age story about friendship and first love. Not only does Susane Colasanti manage to create a great love story, she manages to incorporate that maybe the guy of your dreams is right in front of you and you are just too afraid to look. Susane Colasanti was able to show in this story that love isn't necessarily about looks and what other people think but about how you feel. Waiting For You is one of those books that makes you want to keep reading and find out if everything works out in the end. It will inspire you to live your life in the Now and let the future come at you as it may. ( )
  kbpup903 | Mar 9, 2009 |
Showing 17 of 17

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
6 avail.
127 wanted
2 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.69)
0.5 1
1 1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 19
3.5 5
4 26
4.5 1
5 13

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,494,924 books! | Top bar: Always visible