Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Sandman Slim: A Novel by Richard Kadrey

Sandman Slim: A Novel (edition 2009)

by Richard Kadrey

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,5591354,699 (3.79)84
Title:Sandman Slim: A Novel
Authors:Richard Kadrey
Info:Harper Voyager (2009), Edition: First Edition, Hardcover, 400 pages
Collections:Your library
Tags:fiction, fantasy, urban fantasy, dark fantasy, 2012, favorite

Work details

Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey

  1. 70
    Storm Front by Jim Butcher (enrique_molinero, kale.dyer)
    kale.dyer: Also contains an anti-hero magician in a real-world setting.
  2. 40
    Altered Carbon by Richard K. Morgan (Anonymous user)
    Anonymous user: Both these novels are told in first person by men who are not averse to a bit of violence every now and then, and who have a certain attitude towards the universe. Altered Carbon is SF, while Sandman Slim is more of a Supernatural Urban Fantasy.
  3. 40
    A Madness of Angels: Or, the Resurrection of Matthew Swift by Kate Griffin (saltypepper)
    saltypepper: Start of a series which begins with the resurrection of a man who uses magic and is seeking vengeance, in a city (Los Angeles, London) which is practically another character.
  4. 41
    Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell (saltypepper, ahstrick)
  5. 20
    The Devil You Know by Mike Carey (MyriadBooks)
  6. 20
    Dead Eye: Pennies for the Ferryman by Jim Bernheimer (enrique_molinero)
  7. 10
    Already dead : a novel by Charlie Huston (meleada)
    meleada: Similar urban fantasy noir tone, dark humor, and violence-prone anti-hero protags.
  8. 10
    Something from the Nightside by Simon R. Green (MyriadBooks)
  9. 00
    The Devil's Rose by Brom (amanda4242)
  10. 00
    London Falling by Paul Cornell (majkia)
    majkia: gritty supernatural thriller
  11. 00
    The Genehunter by Simon Kewin (LongDogMom)
    LongDogMom: Similar style
  12. 00
    Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams (LongDogMom)
  13. 00
    Happy Hour in Hell by Tad Williams (LongDogMom)
    LongDogMom: Similar feel and style, both deal with angels, demons, Hell, betrayal and love.
  14. 00
    Black Tide (Matt Rowley) by Patrick Freivald (yarmando)
    yarmando: Supernatural action thrillers with heavier, more graphic violence.
  15. 00
    The Dirty Streets of Heaven by Tad Williams (LongDogMom)
    LongDogMom: Similar in tone and I think would enjoy a similar audience.
  16. 11
    Working for the Devil by Lilith Saintcrow (MyriadBooks)
  17. 00
    Child of Fire by Harry Connolly (LongDogMom)
  18. 00
    John Dies at the End by David Wong (ahstrick)
  19. 00
    Nightlife by Rob Thurman (SunnySD)
  20. 00
    The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig (ShelfMonkey, reconditereader)
    reconditereader: Both are about tough guys battling in supernatural, violent underworlds... but their secret weakness is always the people they care about. Both are real page-turners that keep things moving, too!

(see all 20 recommendations)


Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 84 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 137 (next | show all)
I'm not sure why I didn't hear about this book sooner. It really did blow my mind with how fantastic it is. Seriously, books like these are right in my wheelhouse.

The character of James Stark a.k.a Sandman Slim is amazing. I love him the same way I love the main characters in [a:Jim Butcher|10746|Jim Butcher|https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/authors/1205261964p2/10746.jpg]'s books and [a:Mike Carey|9018|Mike Carey|https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/authors/1334894864p2/9018.jpg]'s books. They are all amazing fun to read about and pretty badass. ( )
  Sarah_Buckley | Sep 17, 2016 |
3.5/5 ( )
  Amanda105 | Sep 5, 2016 |
A fast read, well-written, and I enjoyed the noir...but urban fantasy still not my genre.
  JudyGibson | Jul 17, 2016 |
At age 19, James Stark was betrayed by "friends" and dragged "Downtown" into Hell. After surviving 11 years as a gladiator and hit man, Stark has returned to LA with the single goal of avenging the murder of his true love.

Kadrey has created a very gritty, dark urban fantasy version of LA. The world building is interesting with unique twists and ideas. Bloody violence between devils, angels, humans, and other creatures provides high action and drama. Anti-hero Stark's self-deprecating style and twisted sense of irony provide some comedic relief. Language, violence, and impious scenes may be limiters.

I think this series would appeal to fans of Supernatural or Grimm TV shows, as well as lovers of dark, urban fantasy. ( )
  ktoonen | Jun 24, 2016 |
  apomonis | Jun 2, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 137 (next | show all)
It's the kind of book where suffering and slim hopes are the reality for almost all the characters, and where goals are not achieved without the kind of sacrifice and revelation that change people's lives forever. And by the standards of that kind of book, Sandman Slim is very, very good indeed.
added by lampbane | editSF Site, Greg L. Johnson (Oct 15, 2009)
This is a tightly plotted revenge story that grabbed me by the throat and didn't let go.
added by lampbane | editBoing Boing, Cory Doctorow (Jul 24, 2009)

» Add other authors (5 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Kadrey, Richardprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Andrews, MacLeodNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Just judge of vengeance, grant the gift of forgiveness, before the day of reckoning. - Dies Irae, Requiem Mass
The dumber people think you are, the more surprised they're going to be when you kill them. - William Clayton
For Nicola
First words
I wake up in a pile of smoldering garbage and leaves in the Old Hollywood Forever cemetery behind the Paramount Studio lot on Melrose, though these last details don't come to me until later.
Nothing nice happens to murdered women, except that maybe someone cares about how they got that way.
Ladies and gentlemen, meet the Metatron's Cube. One of the holiest of holy glyphs. The soul of the angel Metatron, the voice of God. Good for keeping away imps, flesh-eating zombies, and ants at a picnic. It slices. It dices. It has a thousand and one uses. A thousand and two if you draw it on a brick and throw it through the windshield of your ex-girlfriend's new boyfriend's car.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English


Book description
When he was 19, James Stark was considered to be one of the greatest natural magicians, a reputation that got him demon-snatched and sent downtown - to Hell - where he survived as a gladiator, a sideshow freak entertaining Satan's fallen angels.

That was 11 years ago. Now, the hitman who goes only by Stark has escaped and is back in L.A. Armed with a fortune-telling coin, a black bone knife, and an infernal key, Stark is determined to destroy the magic circle - led by the conniving and powerful Mason Faim - that stole his life.

Though nearly everything has changed, one constant remains: his friend Vidocq, a 200-year-old Frenchman who has been keeping vigil for the young magician's return. But when Stark's first stop saddles him with an abusive talking head that belongs to the first of the circle, a sleazy video store owner named Kasabian, Stark discovers that the road to absolution and revenge is much longer than he counted on, and both Heaven and Hell have their own ideas for his future.

Haiku summary
Stark ends up in hell. 
Girlfriend dead, breaks out, revenge. 
Heaven and Hell, Scared.

No descriptions found.

(see all 2 descriptions)

Working as a sideshow gladiator in Hell after being snatched by demons at the age of nineteen, James Stark escapes and returns to Los Angeles, where he plots to destroy the magic circle that stole his life.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
126 wanted
2 pay9 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.79)
0.5 1
1 11
1.5 2
2 26
2.5 10
3 106
3.5 33
4 219
4.5 19
5 110


2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions


2 editions of this book were published by Eos.

Editions: 0061714305, 0061976261

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 109,834,591 books! | Top bar: Always visible