HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

June 6, 1944: The Voices of D-Day (World War…
Loading...

June 6, 1944: The Voices of D-Day (World War II Library)

by Gerald Astor

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
65None183,505 (4)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0440236975, Mass Market Paperback)

In ships and planes, they crossed the English Channel.
On the other side Hitler’s army waited.
And the longest day was about to begin....

In the spring of 1944, 120,000 Allied soldiers crossed the English Channel in the most ambitious invasion force ever assembled. Rangers, paratroopers, infantry, and armored personnel, these soldiers--some who had just cut their teeth in Africa and Sicily and some who were brand-new to war--joined a force aimed at the heart of Europe and Hitler’s defenses. On the morning of June 6, D-Day began. And in the hours that followed, thousands lost their lives, while those who survived would be changed forever

No other chronicle of D-Day can match Gerald Astor's extraordinary work--a vivid first-person account told with stunning immediacy by the men who were there. From soldiers who waded through the bullet-riddled water to those who dropped behind enemy lines, from moments of terror and confusion to acts of incredible camaraderie and heroism, June 6, 1944 plunges us into history in the making--and the most pivotal battle ever waged.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:03:22 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

This is a definitive, and redefining, book: On the 50th anniversary of the single greatest combined land-sea-air operation of World War II, American GIs, British Tommies, soldiers, sailors, paratroopers, Rangers, and Commandos who breached Fortress Europe tell what really happened as they braved a firestorm of Nazi shot and shell. The June 6, 1944, cross-channel assault mustered 120,000 Allied soldiers, a fleet of 5,000 vessels, and an aerial armada of 1,000 bombers for a precisely orchestrated, devastating blow at the enemy. But the action failed to follow the script, as inadequate intelligence, human error, and nature conspired to nearly wreck in a few hours the elaborate plans that had been kept secret from Hitler for many months. Here, the men who were there tell what they felt before they dropped from the sky or splashed ashore, what went wrong and why, and how they pressed through the fearsome resistance that claimed so many of their comrades. Their more than seventy accounts, brilliantly interwoven and abundantly documented with photographs, present the savagery of combat at its fiercest. In the tradition of John Keegan's The Face of Battle, World War II veteran Gerald Astor has written a book that radically revises our understanding of "The Longest Day" in an unmediated, unforgettable way that is, finally, the most fitting tribute to the valor of those who endured it.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 avail.
1 wanted
2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,560,244 books! | Top bar: Always visible