HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

War Zone (Fantastic Four) by Greg Cox
Loading...

War Zone (Fantastic Four)

by Greg Cox

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
271402,159 (3.92)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

A rare day off for the Fantastic Four turns into a impromptu war zone as they discover various creatures from the Negative Zone have invaded their dimension and are wreaking havoc. Now Mr. Fantastic and the Thing must go into the depths of the dangerous Negative Zone to discover the cause behind it while the Invisible Woman and the Human Torch stay behind to stave off the threat.

Greg Cox is one of my favorite comic book novelization writers because he really tends to make it feel like part of the comic universe set through prose. The stakes are always high, the battles long and hard fought, and his style of erstwhile verbosity and technical jargon works especially well in the canon where Reed Richards constantly keeps going on about quantum mechanisms being displayed to the nth axis. Although real physicists might roll their eyes at the discussions, this is a novel about an antimatter universe invasion, so I think that level of realism has been well and truly suspended.

Each of the main characters get their moments to shine in this novel through personal moments and acts of heroism. In the Thing's case, a short lived romance was my favorite for how it felt like something anybody writing the series would have loved to include. Fans of Ben and Johnny's bickering, the family moments, and well worn catchphrases need not worry about these things being excluded. There are some cute nods to fans, such as a cavalry of H.E.R.B.I.E.s coming to the rescue while Johnny Storm grudgingly admits their usefulness, even as he mentions how annoying he finds them.

While this novel is not a groundbreaking idea--evil invaders hatch plan to take over/destroy Earth, are repelled, rinse, wash, repeat--fans of Fantastic Four will enjoy the ride. Readers who turn up their noses at comic book superheroics won't find anything Literary and Deep here to change their mind, but this is a thoroughly fun read if you're already a fan of the world and characters. ( )
  gaisce | Sep 24, 2013 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
They are the Earth's most revered protectors: Reed Richards, Susan Richards, Ben Grimm, and Johnny Storm -- the Fantastic Four. Celebrities around the globe and defenders of mankind, these extraordinary individuals have sworn to confront the perils and challenges facing the modern world and each other, always with unyielding courage, unerring wisdom, and an unshakable familial bond.

But their darkest hour may yet be at hand, as humanity's most frightening threat comes violently from beyond the stars...from the depths of the Negative Zone, a universe in a dimension parallel to our own -- one first discovered years ago by Reed Richards himself. And it is this terrifying and deadly menace that will ultimately test the measure and mettle of four heroes sworn to protect the human race at any cost -- even their own lives....
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

All across Manhattan, dimensional gateways are unleashing bizarre and hostile alien creatures from the anti-matter universe known as the Negative Zone - and the Fantastic Four must now fight a two-front war to hold the line against an all-out invasion.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
5 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.92)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3
3.5
4 4
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,013,283 books! | Top bar: Always visible