HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Trilogy, Book…
Loading...

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Trilogy, Book 1) (original 2009; edition 2010)

by James Dashner

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,842481724 (3.85)289
Member:uganskin
Title:The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Trilogy, Book 1)
Authors:James Dashner
Info:Delacorte Press (2010), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 400 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:None

Work details

The Maze Runner by James Dashner (2009)

  1. 430
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (smammers)
  2. 210
    Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card (aeleone)
    aeleone: More sci-fi than Maze Runner, but the characters experience a similar situation as the boys in the maze. Plus, it's super classic.
  3. 122
    Lord of the Flies by William Golding (bookworm12)
  4. 80
    Gone by Michael Grant (stephxsu)
    stephxsu: Incredible world-building and suspense-building featuring a plethora of interesting and sympathetic characters.
  5. 40
    Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (bluenotebookonline)
    bluenotebookonline: Bit more fantasy than The Maze Runner, but a similar setup (hero who's trapped) and pace.
  6. 30
    Wool by Hugh Howey (KatyBee)
  7. 32
    Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Waterbuggg)
    Waterbuggg: Both books are action-packed and have a similar premise and secret.
  8. 00
    Das Labyrinth erwacht by Rainer Wekwerth (Friederike.Geissler)
  9. 00
    The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen (kaledrina)
  10. 00
    The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier (Anonymous user)
  11. 22
    Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi (bluenotebookonline)
    bluenotebookonline: Also action packed, has a dystopian setting, includes quite a bit of kids vs. adults, etc. Prinz award winner.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 289 mentions

English (476)  Spanish (2)  German (1)  Catalan (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (481)
Showing 1-5 of 476 (next | show all)
This is a great read about a teenage boy who ends up in a colony of boys, none of whom know how they got there. As pieces of their memories return, it becomes evident that the boys are part of an experiment. The purpose is to figure out how to navigate a maze outside the walls of the colony, without being killed by the creatures within. With talent and luck, they just might find the door to freedom. This is another dystopia novel on par with The Hunger Games. ( )
  valorrmac | Aug 19, 2015 |
3.5 stars

“My name is Thomas, he thought.
That … that was the only thing he could remember about his life."


The Maze Runner immediately plunged me into the story. I had questions; I wanted to know what happened next from the very first page.

In Chapter 1 we're introduced to a boy named Thomas. What else can I tell you about him? Well...nothing. Thomas awakes to darkness, with no memories of his life, his family, his friends. He only knows his name. And apparently that's not such a strange thing in the new world he's introduced to.


His new life is a maze—literally. And for some reason that he can't explain, Thomas wants to become a Maze Runner. A risky job that will send him into the chaos that surrounds his new home, and is occupied by the dangerous and grotesque Grievers.

One more thing—no one has ever made it through alive.

I really enjoyed The Maze Runner, but it didn't quite meet my expectations. For one thing, it was a bit slow to get started. There were always questions that made me want to know what happened next, but just not enough action or happenings to make it a fast-paced read. I'd say the story started out with a bang, slowed down for a while, then picked up about half way through the book.

I think the thing I liked best about this book was the mystery behind the maze. What were all those kids doing there without their memories? It was an interesting premise, and Dashner executed it well.

Content: A lot of the characters threw around some stupid made up words(like they were cursing) and that got pretty annoying. But other than that it was a pretty clean read. I'd say suitable for ages 11 and up.

Overall, I liked the Maze Runner and I'll keep on reading the series. The epilogue really made me want to know what happens next!

The Scribbling Sprite ( )
  ScribblingSprite | Aug 10, 2015 |
RGG: A cross between Lord of the Flies and Ender's Game, while the character development is strong, the plot moves frustrating slowly as the clues to what's happening seem to take forever to be revealed. Reading Level: 12-14; FP X.
  rgruberexcel | Aug 10, 2015 |
RGG: A cross between Lord of the Flies and Ender's Game, while the character development is strong, the plot moves frustrating slowly as the clues to what's happening seem to take forever to be revealed. Reading Level: 12-14; FP X.
  rgruberexcel | Aug 10, 2015 |
Ok. Not as good as Mocking Bird or Divergence books 1. ( )
  libgirl69 | Aug 6, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 476 (next | show all)
 
The story reads like a maze with erroneous turns, dead ends, and a plot that should work but falls short.
added by Katya0133 | editLibrary Media Connection, Constance G. Pappas (Nov 1, 2009)
 
James Dashner has created a thrilling dystopian novel.
 
The Maze Runner has a great hook, and fans of dystopian literature, particularly older fans of Jeanne DuPrau's The City of Ember (Random, 2003), will likely enjoy this title and ask for the inevitable sequel.
added by Katya0133 | editSchool Library Journal, Kristin Anderson (Oct 1, 2009)
 
With a fast-paced narrative steadily answering the myriad questions that arise and an ever-increasing air of tension, Dashner's suspenseful adventure will keep readers guessing until the very end.
added by Katya0133 | editPublishers Weekly (Sep 21, 2009)
 

» Add other authors (1 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
James Dashnerprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Deakins, MarkReadersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Straub, PhilipCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Alternative titles
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Lynette. This book was a three-year journey, and you never doubted.
First words
He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air. Metal ground against metal; a lurching shudder shook the floor beneath him.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original language
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary
Teen must run through maze
To figure out his past and
Survive scary plot.
(legallypuzzled)

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385737955, Paperback)

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.


From the Hardcover edition.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:20:02 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

James Dashner is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.85)
0.5 2
1 27
1.5 11
2 92
2.5 29
3 415
3.5 116
4 638
4.5 100
5 482

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 98,996,228 books! | Top bar: Always visible