Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Farewell To The East End: The Last Days of…

Farewell To The East End: The Last Days of the East End Midwives (original 2009; edition 2009)


MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2701542,050 (4.19)41
Title:Farewell To The East End: The Last Days of the East End Midwives
Info:PHOENIX (2009), Paperback
Collections:Your library

Work details

Farewell to the East End by Jennifer Worth (2009)



Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 41 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 15 (next | show all)
so interesting to listen to life back then and the way people lived in different parts of the world. Very good diary of an interesting person's life. ( )
  Jodeneg | Oct 23, 2015 |
so interesting to listen to life back then and the way people lived in different parts of the world. Very good diary of an interesting person's life. ( )
  Jodeneg | Oct 23, 2015 |
These three books are based on the journal of a young midwife working in London's poor lower east end post WW II. The stories evoke so many mixed emotions. Very good glimpse at the post war era in London. ( )
  nurse73 | Aug 14, 2015 |
this now was somewhat sad as worth is now dead as are all of the characters except trixie and perhaps chummy whom worth lost track of. even the east end is dead. dock jobs gone, people relocated, birth control. ( )
  mahallett | Apr 20, 2015 |
The final book of the Call the Midwife series. More tales of nursing in the East End and all interesting but I really began to see the lack of characterization in it and realized that all I saw was the TV show characters. The ending was rather tough, as she wrappedup what happened to everyone and, it being the 60s when it all happened, many were dead and the story after story of dying put a somber note on it all, esp. as the author also recently passed away. Still, I'm very glad I read them.
  amyem58 | Mar 27, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 15 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
In 1855 Queen Victoria wrote to her daughter Vicky, the Crown Princess of Prussia, who was expecting a baby:

What you say about the pride of giving life to an immortal soul is very fine, but I own I cannot enter into all that. I think very much more of our being like a cow or a dog at such moments, when our poor nature becomes so very animal and unecstatic.
Dedicated to Cynthia for a lifetime of friendship
First words
Someone once said that youth is wasted on the young.
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English


Book description
The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife.

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

[retrieved 1/19/2015 from Amazon.com]
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

The Call the midwife trilogy is comprised of Call the midwife (not included here, c2002), Shadows of the workhouse (not included here, c2005), and Farewell to the East End (this book, c2009). Together, this series chronicles Jennifer Worth's career as a midwife from start to finish, from her arrival in the war-scarred Docklands as a wide-eyed trainee, to the demolition of the tenements and subsequent closure of Nonnatus House. It provides a fascinating snapshot of social history, documenting the East End in the days when there was a real sense of community, when times were tough but there was plenty of good humour and neighbourly support to help the inhabitants through the harsh economic climate. The book also enables readers to follow Jennifer's personal story, as she discovers the amazing resilience of a population still bearing the scars of war, and the vibrant community of nuns with whom she lives and who teach her the skills of midwifery. In stories that are funny, disturbing and moving in equal measure, we meet prostitutes and abortionists, bigamists and mischievous nuns, and see Jennifer earn the confidence of people whose lives are often stranger than fiction.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
15 avail.
44 wanted
2 pay4 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.19)
3 9
3.5 4
4 41
4.5 4
5 25


An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,863,476 books! | Top bar: Always visible