HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Wrong Mother: A Novel by Sophie Hannah
Loading...

The Wrong Mother: A Novel (original 2008; edition 2009)

by Sophie Hannah

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6844813,957 (3.34)14
Member:nb2041
Title:The Wrong Mother: A Novel
Authors:Sophie Hannah
Info:Penguin (Non-Classics) (2009), Paperback, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Point of Rescue / The Wrong Mother by Sophie Hannah (2008)

  1. 20
    We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver (JeaniusOak)
    JeaniusOak: Both novels explore difficult themes surrounding Motherhood.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 14 mentions

English (44)  Italian (2)  Dutch (1)  German (1)  All languages (48)
Showing 1-5 of 44 (next | show all)
Hannah throws the reader directly into the story without the pleased-to-meet-you introductions to so and so. What a confident and risky thing to do...but it works really well. The novel is refreshingly unconventional but comprehensible and sharp with lots of interesting stuff going on between many characters. And I especially like that the police don't all hang about in pubs or bars for half the book.

Very enjoyable; I look forward to reading more of Hannah's novels. ( )
  Bookish59 | Dec 28, 2015 |
I found this book to be enjoyable but an equally frustrating read. When Hannah sticks to the main plot it's impossible to put down. Unfortunately, there are many superfluous characters and sub-plots that do nothing to improve the story. The romantic storyline is confusing and uninteresting, only complicating an already cluttered story. The ending is certainly surprising and equally far-fetched. Overall, it was a mostly satisfying but forgettable read. ( )
  Suze005 | Oct 24, 2015 |
I found this book to be enjoyable but an equally frustrating read. When Hannah sticks to the main plot it's impossible to put down. Unfortunately, there are many superfluous characters and sub-plots that do nothing to improve the story. The romantic storyline is confusing and uninteresting, only complicating an already cluttered story. The ending is certainly surprising and equally far-fetched. Overall, it was a mostly satisfying but forgettable read. ( )
  Suze005 | Oct 24, 2015 |
There's a really good twist right at the end! The mystery itself was a page-turner.

I just wished there was more about Simon and his girlfriend/fiancee though. That storyline left me wanting to know more about them and their relationship. ( )
  KatieCarella | Apr 12, 2014 |
Confusing. Too many British expression and terms used. Would not recommend to my book club friends. ( )
  JBourke56 | Mar 17, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 44 (next | show all)
Shockingly (and refreshingly) blunt riffs about the violent emotions of motherhood and the familial yearnings of men, along with chilling and darkly funny revelations about lust and loyalty, make this novel one of the season's most absorbing reads.
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Susan and Suzie
First words
Or your family.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original language
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143116304, Paperback)

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Dead Lie Down and The Other Woman’s House

Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name—Mark Bretherick. It’s a name she shouldn’t know, but last year after a business trip canceled at the last minute, Sally treated herself to a secret vacation—away from her hectic family life—and met a man. After their brief affair, the two planned to never meet again. All the details are the same: his job, where he lives, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. But the photograph on the news is not the man Sally knew. And now Geraldine and Lucy are dead.
 
The third book in Sophie Hannah’s acclaimed Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Wrong Mother delivers white knuckle suspense and Hannah’s trademark plot twists, and is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Ruth Rendell.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:20:29 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

It's been a year since Sally Thorning's brief affair with Mark Bretherick. The two planned to never meet again. But now, Mark's wife and daughter are dead--and the safety of Sally's own family is in doubt.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
47 avail.
96 wanted
5 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.34)
0.5 1
1 10
1.5 1
2 22
2.5 14
3 68
3.5 24
4 52
4.5 14
5 23

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 106,920,732 books! | Top bar: Always visible