HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Wrong Mother: A Novel by Sophie Hannah
Loading...

The Wrong Mother: A Novel (original 2008; edition 2009)

by Sophie Hannah

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6184315,758 (3.35)14
Member:nb2041
Title:The Wrong Mother: A Novel
Authors:Sophie Hannah
Info:Penguin (Non-Classics) (2009), Paperback, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Point of Rescue / The Wrong Mother by Sophie Hannah (2008)

  1. 10
    We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver (JeaniusOak)
    JeaniusOak: Both novels explore difficult themes surrounding Motherhood.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 14 mentions

English (41)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (43)
Showing 1-5 of 41 (next | show all)
There's a really good twist right at the end! The mystery itself was a page-turner.

I just wished there was more about Simon and his girlfriend/fiancee though. That storyline left me wanting to know more about them and their relationship. ( )
  KatieCarella | Apr 12, 2014 |
Confusing. Too many British expression and terms used. Would not recommend to my book club friends. ( )
  JBourke56 | Mar 17, 2014 |
I just didn't care. Finally 2/3 through the book I just gave up - a rare occasion. ( )
  EctopicBrain | Jul 31, 2012 |
Sophie Hannah writes a mystery series featuring two very messed up detectives. Charlie is prone to shooting her mouth off and behaving impulsively while Simon is so repressed and angry he can barely speak. Strangely, these two work well together, although their relationship is a bit volatile. In this third installment, they aren't even working together, Charlie having transferred to another department.

A woman and her child have been found dead by the husband. It appears to be a murder-suicide, but questions remain. Well, while the others are eager to wrap things up, Simon has doubts. Meanwhile, another woman has had an argument with her babysitter, culminating when someone pushes her into the path of an oncoming bus. She manages to get away with only a few scrapes, but she's shaken by the encounter. She's further upset when she sees on the news the story of the murder-suicide and recognizes the name of the members of the family, but the grieving father is not the man she knew by that name. Sally Thorning is works full time and has two very small children. She's tired all the time and a bit cranky with it. She's determined to find out what's going on, but she can't tell anyone. The man claiming to be Mark Breckenridge is not the man she knew by that name and with whom she had a brief fling not that long ago.

Hannah doesn't fetishize motherhood. Her young mothers are cranky and impatient and dream of a quiet night alone. She writes somewhat like Ruth Rendell, with that dark edge, although Rendell's cops were never quite as messed up as any of the detectives here. ( )
  RidgewayGirl | Jun 17, 2012 |
This book has many interwoven thoughts. I felt it was well written. I did have some problems keeping track of some of the minor police officers. ( )
  cookiemo | May 30, 2012 |
Showing 1-5 of 41 (next | show all)
Shockingly (and refreshingly) blunt riffs about the violent emotions of motherhood and the familial yearnings of men, along with chilling and darkly funny revelations about lust and loyalty, make this novel one of the season's most absorbing reads.
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Susan and Suzie
First words
Or your family.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143116304, Paperback)

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Dead Lie Down and The Other Woman’s House

Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name—Mark Bretherick. It’s a name she shouldn’t know, but last year after a business trip canceled at the last minute, Sally treated herself to a secret vacation—away from her hectic family life—and met a man. After their brief affair, the two planned to never meet again. All the details are the same: his job, where he lives, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. But the photograph on the news is not the man Sally knew. And now Geraldine and Lucy are dead.
 
The third book in Sophie Hannah’s acclaimed Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Wrong Mother delivers white knuckle suspense and Hannah’s trademark plot twists, and is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Ruth Rendell.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:53:24 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

It's been a year since Sally Thorning's brief affair with Mark Bretherick. The two planned to never meet again. But now, Mark's wife and daughter are dead--and the safety of Sally's own family is in doubt.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
56 avail.
107 wanted
5 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.35)
0.5 1
1 10
1.5 1
2 19
2.5 14
3 57
3.5 22
4 48
4.5 13
5 22

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,964,431 books! | Top bar: Always visible