HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Wrong Mother: A Novel by Sophie Hannah
Loading...

The Wrong Mother: A Novel (original 2008; edition 2009)

by Sophie Hannah

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7675218,110 (3.36)16
Member:PAKelley
Title:The Wrong Mother: A Novel
Authors:Sophie Hannah
Info:Penguin (Non-Classics) (2009), Edition: Original, Paperback, 432 pages
Collections:nonfiction
Rating:****
Tags:None

Work details

The Wrong Mother by Sophie Hannah (2008)

Recently added byShiraDest, LydiaGranda, Cahaje, cbahr, logan451, Rozinanty, LoZioSpino, private library
  1. 20
    We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver (JeaniusOak)
    JeaniusOak: Both novels explore difficult themes surrounding Motherhood.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 16 mentions

English (48)  Italian (2)  Dutch (1)  German (1)  All languages (52)
Showing 1-5 of 48 (next | show all)
Whodunnits are not my thing in general, but I am hesitating between 2 and three, probably coming marginally closer to 3 stars than 2. The protagonist is written in 1st person, while all other points of view, seen about every other chapter, are in close 3rd. There were also some additional interesting ways of keeping the tension up, by building context around the main plot via sub-plots, and also keeping the work human by bringing in both class antagonism and parent vs. single or married without kids perspectives.
Read, Write, Dream, Walk !

#PublicDomainInfrastructure
ShiraDest

March 30th, 12018 HE ( )
  ShiraDest | Mar 6, 2019 |
In this entertaining psychological thriller by Sophie Hannah, Sally Thorning sees in the news a story about the death of a woman and the woman's 5-year-old daughter, the result of an apparent murder-suicide. What catches Sally's attention is not the story itself but the mention of the husband and father in this family - Mark Bretherick. One year ago Sally had a one-week fling with Mark Bretherick. Only this man on the news is not the Mark Bretherick she met one year ago. So who is the real Mark Bretherick? If the man on the news is the real Mark Bretherick, then who did she have a fling with one year ago? And now Mark Bretherick's wife and daughter are dead.

I enjoyed this tautly written novel that kept me guessing the whole time. An intriguing plot, sufficiently developed main and peripheral characters, and a doozy of a twist (or should I say multiple twists) at the end kept me riveted. Even though this was the first that I'd read of Hannah's Spilling CID series, there was no need to read the previous two books in the series in order to understand this one. It stands alone just fine. ( )
  niaomiya | Aug 10, 2018 |
Description
Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband when she hears an unexpected name, Mark Bretherick. It's a name she shouldn't know but last year Sally treated herself to a secret vacation away from her hectic family life and met a man. After their brief affair the two planned to never meet again. But now Mark's wife and daughter are dead, and the safety of Sally's own family is in doubt.

There were some lively and interesting characters in this story, including Sally. But Sally did things that didn’t make sense, were risky and got her into trouble, which made me lose interest. Some of the curious things going on in the plot made me keep reading though. In the last part of the book, there was a lot that had to be explained and it was confusing. Overall, just a so-so read. ( )
  gaylebutz | Mar 25, 2018 |
Third in the series is the charm! Great twisty plot involving mistaken identities, multiple murders, and miserable moms. The undercurrent of the difficulties between co-workers Charlie (female) and Simon (male, and whatever went wrong with your childhood?) continue and add both tension and relief to the main plot. As usual, Snowman is around to infuriate and ingratiate. This is a fantastic series and happily there are more to come. ( )
  froxgirl | Dec 5, 2016 |
Hannah throws the reader directly into the story without the pleased-to-meet-you introductions to so and so. What a confident and risky thing to do...but it works really well. The novel is refreshingly unconventional but comprehensible and sharp with lots of interesting stuff going on between many characters. And I especially like that the police don't all hang about in pubs or bars for half the book.

Very enjoyable; I look forward to reading more of Hannah's novels. ( )
  Bookish59 | Dec 28, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 48 (next | show all)
Shockingly (and refreshingly) blunt riffs about the violent emotions of motherhood and the familial yearnings of men, along with chilling and darkly funny revelations about lust and loyalty, make this novel one of the season's most absorbing reads.
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Susan and Suzie
First words
Or your family.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original language
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143116304, Paperback)

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Dead Lie Down and The Other Woman’s House

Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name—Mark Bretherick. It’s a name she shouldn’t know, but last year after a business trip canceled at the last minute, Sally treated herself to a secret vacation—away from her hectic family life—and met a man. After their brief affair, the two planned to never meet again. All the details are the same: his job, where he lives, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. But the photograph on the news is not the man Sally knew. And now Geraldine and Lucy are dead.
 
The third book in Sophie Hannah’s acclaimed Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Wrong Mother delivers white knuckle suspense and Hannah’s trademark plot twists, and is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Ruth Rendell.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:20:29 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

It's been a year since Sally Thorning's brief affair with Mark Bretherick. The two planned to never meet again. But now, Mark's wife and daughter are dead--and the safety of Sally's own family is in doubt.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.36)
0.5 1
1 10
1.5 1
2 24
2.5 14
3 71
3.5 25
4 56
4.5 14
5 26

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 133,415,247 books! | Top bar: Always visible