HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Have you checked out SantaThing, LibraryThing's gift-giving tradition?
dismiss
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Heretic's Treasure (2009)

by Scott Mariani

Series: Ben Hope (4)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1475138,429 (3.63)3
An ancient fortune has lain hidden for thousands of years, one so powerful that men will kill to protect it. And only one man can unearth it.

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 5 of 5
Overall, typical Mariani fare, which is to say it mixes great action and intrigue with ancient mystery and a dash of actual history. Well worth your time. Some minor weaknesses in the plot that I'm happy to overlook. One minor comment though, I thought the romantic entanglements were rather weakly done.

Also, a word about the "Ben Hope universe" - others have said that it's not necessary to read them in order, and strictly speaking that's true in the sense that each book is a self-contained story.
However, Mariani does tend to reference earlier incidents in all of his books. Thus, reading them in order allows you to understand those references - this, along with the deeper understanding of the Ben Hope psyche, provides a greater reading experience in my opinion. ( )
  adam.currey | Feb 5, 2018 |
This is the funniest book I've read in quite a while. It's a satire of the thriller genre so comically overblown I had to annoy Jo by reading bits out to her. Cleverly, Mariani employs the tropes while taking the piss out of them so it's also a very entertaining thriller in it's own right. Underlying the chain of preposterous coincidences that constitute the plot is an excellent structure. It opens with an old man ushering the hero with a thousand faces into the world of adventure, builds to Aristotle's mid-point reversal and then has Ibsen's gun go off in the third act. All so smoothly done that reading it is like swimming with the current. Mariani will probably never write a great novel. I don't think he'd bother trying. He's an entertainer and a consummate professional. ( )
  Lukerik | Nov 7, 2017 |
A good read, which gallops on. Read mainly in one session. Unexpected twist at the end. ( )
  Andrew-theQM | Jun 20, 2016 |
Review 'shades of Ian Fleming meeting Dan Brown' Western Mail 'Mariani certainly knows how to rack up the tension in this high-octane thriller' Lancashire Evening Post Praise for Scott Mariani: 'This is a pacy, action-packed read.' Closer Product Description An ancient fortune has lain hidden for thousands of years, one so powerful that men will kill to protect it. And only one man can unearth it! Ex-SAS operative Ben Hope is living a peaceful life in rural France - until a phone call from an old army comrade turns his world upside down. Eminent Egyptologist Morgan Paxton has been brutally murdered while working on the mysterious 'Akhenaten Project' in Cairo, and Colonel Harry Paxton wants Ben to find his son's killer. Ben is unable to refuse the request from the man who once saved his life - but when Harry asks him to avenge his son's death he's in dangerous territory. Made worse by the fact that he finds himself attracted to Zara Paxton, Harry's new bride. Carving through the seedy Cairo underworld, Ben soon realises that there was more to Paxton's research than meets the eye as he is plunged into one double-cross after another. His mission leads him from Italy and Paris via the coast of Scotland to the banks of the Nile, climaxing in a tense showdown in the war-torn Sudanese desert. At the end of the trail lies the ultimate treasure, hidden away by three rebel High Priests during the reign of the 'Heretic' Pharoah Akhenaten - a collection so valuable that some will stop at nothing to possess it! A super-charged, heart-racing thriller, perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne and Wilbur Smith. ( )
  Hans.Michel | Sep 13, 2013 |
Showing 5 of 5
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

An ancient fortune has lain hidden for thousands of years, one so powerful that men will kill to protect it. And only one man can unearth it.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 2
3 7
3.5 7
4 11
4.5
5 5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 152,730,132 books! | Top bar: Always visible