HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller
Loading...

Tropic of Cancer (1934)

by Henry Miller

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: The Obelisk Trilogy (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,718None739 (3.66)130
1001 (35) 1001 books (26) 1930s (22) 20th century (98) American (108) American fiction (27) American literature (129) autobiography (35) banned (20) banned books (28) classic (72) classics (59) erotic (25) erotica (96) fiction (709) France (60) Henry Miller (39) literature (178) memoir (39) Miller (20) novel (152) own (27) Paris (113) read (49) Roman (29) sex (56) sexuality (37) to-read (89) unread (57) USA (33)
  1. 20
    Journey to the End of the Night by Louis-Ferdinand Céline (Mouseear)
  2. 20
    Factotum by Charles Bukowski (psybre)
  3. 00
    Story of the Eye by Georges Bataille (fundevogel)
  4. 00
    The Demon by Hubert Selby Jr. (hazzabamboo)
    hazzabamboo: Filthy, sex-obsessed, unmistakably American, and characteristic lapses into stream of consciousness
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 130 mentions

English (60)  French (2)  Danish (1)  Italian (1)  Spanish (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (66)
Showing 1-5 of 60 (next | show all)
One of those bizarre cases of a book with brilliant style and language that for whatever reason never grabs me. It's slow and meandering, which I generally do not mind, but I've tried to read this a few times and haven't gotten more than 60 pages. I mean, I love Hunger and Ask the Dust, and those don't have any more direction than this, but Miller seemed all to pleased with his philosophical musings to actually write a good book.

It's unfortunate for me, anyway, because the 60 pages I read contained hundreds of amazing lines or quips, but they never seemed to gel into a compelling whole. ( )
  blanderson | Mar 4, 2014 |
Read this nearly fifteen years ago, but barely remembered it. The surrealist style doesn't do much for me, but it's a nice portrait of the drinking and whoring ex-patriate crowd in Paris during the early 1930s (after the big names of ten years earlier had moved on). Also, it's a nice sketch of the sort of people who eagerly signed up to fight Franco a few years after this was published.

I'm giving this only 3 stars because there's no actual plot. It could be a memoir; it's definitely not a traditionally organized novel. That was a point in its favor during the surrealist and early Modernist movement, but it's essentially Kerouac 25 years early.

The GLBT note is mainly due to a supporting character (from Idaho) proclaiming his desperate, undying love for a young (apparently teenage) boy back home. The other men don't think it's possible for a man to fall in love with another man, but their friend ignores their scorn. There are quite a lot of homoerotic situations and men being naked around each other (and sharing whores together), but these scenes lack the rich detail that the rest of the book has and I wonder if Miller was self-censoring or if it was a publisher's decision.

This novel was published in 1934 in Paris and banned from sale or import to the US. Its first US publication in 1961 caused a groundbreaking Supreme Court obscenity trial.

( )
  sageness | Feb 7, 2014 |
It gets one star for the vivid images he spills once in a while. As a human being, he's in negative numbers. ( )
  marti.booker | Dec 2, 2013 |
I started this, but I have always had a hard time with stream of consciousness writing. I've read that it isn't all this way, so I'm going to keep trying.
  OstensiblyA1 | Sep 20, 2013 |
underrated/overrated
neither/both ( )
  amelish | Sep 12, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 60 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (42 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Henry Millerprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Gerhardt, RenateEditorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Nin, AnaïsForewordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Saarikoski, PenttiTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Shapiro, KarlIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Wagenseil, KurtTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
These novels will give way, by and by, to diaries or autobiographies--captivating books, if only a man knew how to choose among what he calls his experiences that which is really his experience, and how to record truth truly. ---Ralph Waldo Emerson
Dedication
First words
I am living at the Villa Borghese.
Quotations
I have no money, no resources, no hopes. I am the happiest man alive. A year ago, six months ago, I thought that I was an artist. I no longer think about it, I am. Everything that was literature has fallen from me. There are no more books to be written, thank God. This then? This is not a book. This is libel, slander, and defamation of character. This is not a book, in the ordinary sense of the word. No, this is a prolonged insult, a gob of spit in the face of Art, a kick in the pants of God, Man, Destiny, Time, Love, Beauty

I believe that today more than ever a book should be sought after even if it has only one great page in it: we must search for fragments, splinters, toenails, anything that has ore in it, anything that is capable of resuscitating the body and soul.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (4)

Book description
Autobiographical novel by Henry Miller, published in France in 1934 and, because of censorship, not published in the United States until 1961. Written in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Henry David Thoreau, it is a monologue about Miller's picaresque life as an impoverished expatriate in France in the early 1930s. The book benefited from favorable early critical response and gained popular notoriety later as a result of obscenity trials. Containing little plot on narrative, Tropic of Cancer is made up of anecdotes, philosophizing, and rambling celebrations of life. Despite his poverty, Miller extols his manner of living, unfettered as it is by moral and social conventions. He lives largely off the resources of his friends. In exuberant and sometimes preposterous passages of unusual sexual frankness, he chronicles numerous encounters with women, including his mysterious wife Mona, as he pursues a fascination with female sexuality. Tropic of Cancer was the first of an autobiographical trilogy, followed by Black Spring (1936) and Tropic of Capricorn (1939). (Review by The Merriam-Webster Encyclopedia of Literature by way of Amazon)
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

A stream-of-consciousness story of a poverty-stricken young American, living in Paris.

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
12 avail.
353 wanted
7 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.66)
0.5 7
1 42
1.5 9
2 87
2.5 16
3 198
3.5 61
4 285
4.5 35
5 249

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,455,066 books! | Top bar: Always visible