Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller

Tropic of Cancer (original 1934; edition 1961)

by Henry Miller

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6,08679676 (3.64)151
Title:Tropic of Cancer
Authors:Henry Miller
Info:Grove Press (1961), Edition: 7th Printing, Mass Market Paperback
Collections:Read but unowned, In the day

Work details

Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller (1934)

  1. 20
    Journey to the End of the Night by Louis-Ferdinand Céline (Mouseear)
  2. 20
    Factotum by Charles Bukowski (psybre)
  3. 00
    Story of the Eye by Georges Bataille (fundevogel)
  4. 00
    The Demon by Hubert Selby Jr. (hazzabamboo)
    hazzabamboo: Filthy, sex-obsessed, unmistakably American, and characteristic lapses into stream of consciousness

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 151 mentions

English (71)  French (2)  Spanish (2)  Danish (1)  Italian (1)  Hebrew (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (79)
Showing 1-5 of 71 (next | show all)
My God! What a waste of time. The only thing I can say for Henry Miller is that, occasionally, he showed that he had quite a vocabulary. ( )
  elsyd | Nov 16, 2015 |
Complete Shite. End of!! ( )
  Fergus_Cooper | Aug 4, 2015 |
Miller blew my mind when I was in college. I wonder what I would think now. ( )
  joeydag | Jul 23, 2015 |
why did I even buy this? ( )
1 vote virg144 | Mar 9, 2015 |
Apparently, Henry Miller was the Hank Moody of his time. And if you don't know who Hank Moody is, go watch Californication for fuck's sake. He's a fucking rock star of a writer. He gets all the pussy. Does all the blow. And he has a huge cock, like all rock stars do.

This book made me want to be a writer. I mean, many books have inspired me to write, but none other promised so much unending pussy. And anal. This book made the life of a broke and starving writer seem so bloody awesome.

But maybe it had less to do with the idea that writers get all the pussy, and more to do with the fact that this book is set in Paris, France. Because everyone knows that French girls are freaky sluts.

There wasn't much of a story in this book. It's not really a story. It's just the rantings of a sex-crazed writer. I don't know if you can even call it fiction, because it actually is the story if Miller's life in Paris.

He sort of blends fact and fiction. Like yes, he did walk down to the corner store to get some milk. But he didn't really get blown by a 14 year old girl on his way there. Those little details don't really matter, do they?

It makes me wonder if any of the crazy sex in this book actually happened. I think it's more likely that he didn't get laid at all. He was just writing this book and started fantasizing. I mean, why write about how bloody depressed I am? How about writing about some girl fellating me, while I write this epic masterpiece? Yea. That's hot.

It's funny to me that a lot of the best writers of our time are just glorified pornographers. Because that's what this book is. It's just porn, from beginning to end. Don't get me wrong, it's good porn. It's literary porn. So you can feel all smart and stuff while you're jackin' it. ( )
1 vote gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 71 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (63 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Henry Millerprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
康雄, 大久保翻訳secondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Gerhardt, RenateEditorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Nin, AnaïsPrefacesecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Saarikoski, PenttiTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Shapiro, KarlIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Wagenseil, KurtTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
These novels will give way, by and by, to diaries or autobiographies--captivating books, if only a man knew how to choose among what he calls his experiences that which is really his experience, and how to record truth truly. ---Ralph Waldo Emerson
First words
I am living at the Villa Borghese.
I have no money, no resources, no hopes. I am the happiest man alive. A year ago, six months ago, I thought that I was an artist. I no longer think about it, I am. Everything that was literature has fallen from me. There are no more books to be written, thank God. This then? This is not a book. This is libel, slander, and defamation of character. This is not a book, in the ordinary sense of the word. No, this is a prolonged insult, a gob of spit in the face of Art, a kick in the pants of God, Man, Destiny, Time, Love, Beauty

I believe that today more than ever a book should be sought after even if it has only one great page in it: we must search for fragments, splinters, toenails, anything that has ore in it, anything that is capable of resuscitating the body and soul.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (4)

Book description
Autobiographical novel by Henry Miller, published in France in 1934 and, because of censorship, not published in the United States until 1961. Written in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Henry David Thoreau, it is a monologue about Miller's picaresque life as an impoverished expatriate in France in the early 1930s. The book benefited from favorable early critical response and gained popular notoriety later as a result of obscenity trials. Containing little plot on narrative, Tropic of Cancer is made up of anecdotes, philosophizing, and rambling celebrations of life. Despite his poverty, Miller extols his manner of living, unfettered as it is by moral and social conventions. He lives largely off the resources of his friends. In exuberant and sometimes preposterous passages of unusual sexual frankness, he chronicles numerous encounters with women, including his mysterious wife Mona, as he pursues a fascination with female sexuality. Tropic of Cancer was the first of an autobiographical trilogy, followed by Black Spring (1936) and Tropic of Capricorn (1939). (Review by The Merriam-Webster Encyclopedia of Literature by way of Amazon)
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

A stream-of-consciousness story of a poverty-stricken young American, living in Paris.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
11 avail.
288 wanted
8 pay3 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.64)
0.5 9
1 45
1.5 10
2 98
2.5 16
3 226
3.5 62
4 312
4.5 36
5 266


2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,880,992 books! | Top bar: Always visible