HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Aunt Dimity's Death by Nancy Atherton
Loading...

Aunt Dimity's Death

by Nancy Atherton (Author)

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Aunt Dimity (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8685210,253 (3.83)60
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 60 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 52 (next | show all)
I read this for a crime fiction genre study, which was a little misleading, since there is no actual crime that takes place in this story. The mystery appears as Lori sifts through her mother's old letters, looking for a clue hidden in an old English cottage that will allow Lori to inherit a sizable estate.

Personally, I didn't care for the book, but as is often the case, this speaks more to my reading tastes than it does to any flaws in the story. Objectively, this is a charming, quick novel with elements of romance and fairy tales sprinkled throughout. The cottage where Lori finds herself working is the epitome of English quaintness, as is the good-natured law firm supervising Lori's efforts. The tone remains upbeat and warm throughout, and there is not a smidgen of violence that takes place, not even "off-stage," as is usually the case with cozies. In fact, I would say that this book has just as many romantic and historical elements as it does mystery, if not more so.

But as I mentioned before, I didn't care much for this book...it felt like eating one of those store-bought cupcakes with the neon, radioactive frosting...I can handle a little bit at a time, and I can certainly understand why other people enjoy it, but I'm not likely to choose it on my own. I gave it three stars instead of two, because the book definitely succeeds on an objective level, and clearly on a subjective level for many readers. Just not for me.

Readalikes:

Beatrix Potter series - Susan Wittig Albert. One of the attendees at the genre study meeting suggested this for anyone who was a fan of sweet cozies. This mystery series features beloved children's author, Beatrix Potter, and her animal companions, who help solve mysteries.

Cat Who series - Lilian Jackson Braun. Both series feature unusual assistants with psychic powers - a ghost in Aunt Dimity and a cat in Cat Who. Both series also feature small-town settings, light humor, and quirky characters with little to no violence.

Meg Langslow series - Donna Andrews. A small-town Virginia blacksmith solves light-hearted mysteries with the help of her eccentric acquaintances and family members. Romance also plays a part in this charming series. (From NoveList) ( )
  coloradogirl14 | May 28, 2014 |
delightful mystery and self discovery. nice escape. ( )
  njcur | Feb 13, 2014 |
There isn't much of a mystery here, most of it lies with uncovering some secrets of the past, but I still very much enjoyed this book. It was more a story of the power of love & forgiveness over anger & fear than a whodunit type mystery. It's also a bit of a fairy tale complete with fairy godmother type benefactor & a sweet romance. I think now that Lori is set up in this manner the other books in the series are more traditional mysteries with Aunt Dimity's ghost being helpful. ( )
  CCleveland | Nov 27, 2013 |
This is a charming book with likable characters and gorgeous sounding locales. Looking forward to reading more in this series about personal growth and solving mysteries. ( )
  KarenRinn | Nov 2, 2013 |
A mystery/ghost serial. It's a fun read. No. Not the greatest mystery in the world nor is there murder one. Sometimes, it's just nice to escape into a simple story. Aunt Dimity is a ghost. Not really a spoiler. She is the ghost of Lori's mother's best friend who takes a special interest in Lori. ( )
  kp9949 | Aug 10, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 52 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (3 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Atherton, NancyAuthorprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Harte, MeredithCover designersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Lofaro, JerryCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For the Handsome Prince
First words
When I learned of Aunt Dimity's death, I was stunned.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Atherton's first mystery combines a strong sense of traditional English fare with an insistent gothic spirit. Suffering from her recent divorce, her mother's death, and an erratic income, Lori Shepherd receives notice from a prestigious Boston law firm that she must travel to England in order to meet the requirements of a will. While visiting her benefactor's "haunted" cottage with lawyer friend Bill, she uncovers important clues relating to a World War II mystery.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Lori thought Aunt Dimity was just a character in a family bedtime story until a law firm summoned her to a reading of her relative's last will and testament. Lori will inherit a sizable estate--if she can discover the secret hidden in a treasure trove of letters tucked away at Dimity's English country cottage.… (more)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 avail.
17 wanted
1 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 19
2.5 6
3 69
3.5 20
4 87
4.5 9
5 81

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,668,261 books! | Top bar: Always visible