HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Turmoil by Booth Tarkington
Loading...

The Turmoil (original 1915; edition 1914)

by Booth Tarkington

Series: Growth (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
481242,697 (3.38)5
Member:jeffome
Title:The Turmoil
Authors:Booth Tarkington
Info:Harper & Brothers (1914), Edition: 1st, Hardcover
Collections:Your library
Rating:****
Tags:None

Work details

The Turmoil by Booth Tarkington (1915)

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

An enjoyable easy read - A good early 20th century family drama.....wealthy driven family shuns the black sheep dreamer in the family since that 'drive and greed' gene seems to have been missed........but is this lack of gumption really the sum total of the black sheep's fate??? I'll not spoil the story, but suffice it to say, the story, while certainly sappy, kept my interest and revealed the fact that there have been obsessed business men neglecting their families in the $$$$ quest for a very long time.......i see people i know very well today in several of the characters and this was written in 1915! I love having the perspective on the human condition.....thank you Booth Tarkington. ( )
  jeffome | Jan 10, 2013 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To Laurel
First words
There is a midland city in the heart of fair, open country, a dirty and wonderful city nestling dingily in the fog of its own smoke.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0252071131, Paperback)

A familiar midwestern novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson and Sinclair Lewis, "The Turmoil" was the best-selling novel of 1915. It is set in a small, quiet city - never named but closely resembling the author's hometown of Indianapolis - that is quickly being transformed into a bustling, money-making nest of competitors more or less overrun by 'the worshippers of Bigness'. 'There is a midland city in the heart of fair, open country, a dirty and wonderful city nesting dingily in the fog of its own smoke', begins "The Turmoil", the first volume of Pulitzer Prize-winner Booth Tarkington's "Growth" trilogy. A narrative of loss and change, a love story, and a warning about the potential evils of materialism, the book chronicles two midwestern families trying to cope with the onset of industrialization. Tarkington believed that culture could flourish even as the country was increasingly fueled by material progress. "The Turmoil", the first great success of his career, tells the intertwined stories of two families: the Sheridans, whose integrity wanes as their wealth increases, and the Vertrees, who remain noble but impoverished. Linked by the romance between a Sheridan son and a Vertrees daughter, the story of the two families provides a dramatic view of what America was like on the verge of a new order. An introduction by Lawrence R. Rodgers places the novel squarely in the social and cultural context of the Progressive Era. The book also features illustrations by C. E. Chambers.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:52:34 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Published in 1915, this was the first novel in Tarkington's Growth trilogy, which continued in The Magnificent Ambersons and Alice Adams . Set in a Midwestern city, The Turmoil focuses on two families: the Sheridans sacrifice integrity on the altar of wealth and power, while the Vertrees cling to respectability at the cost of poverty.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted3 free
12 pay
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.38)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,621,993 books! | Top bar: Always visible