HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Big Stone Gap : A Novel (Ballantine Reader's…
Loading...

Big Stone Gap : A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle) (edition 2001)

by Adriana Trigiani

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
2,091723,162 (3.64)1 / 30
Member:violeteyeddreamz
Title:Big Stone Gap : A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle)
Authors:Adriana Trigiani
Info:Ballantine Books (2001), Paperback
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:None

Work details

Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani

Recently added byhappiestinthewoods, 400mom, wat-tirana, mcmiranda, AshLMT, private library, KimSalyers

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

English (71)  Vietnamese (1)  English (72)
Showing 1-5 of 71 (next | show all)
Can't wait for the movie in a theater near me. ( )
  LindaCarvelli | Aug 15, 2016 |
The woman does not know when to end a perfectly good book.
  barefootcowgirl | Jul 29, 2016 |
I see shades of the early Barbara Kingsolver books here.
Ave Maria is 35, a pharmacist in a small Virginia mountain town, the "town spinster." The book follows her life for a year. Her mother's been dead for a year, her Dad dead for 10. But Ave discovers that her "father" really wasn't, the story builds from there. It's a warm, friendly book - reminiscent of Lorna Landvik and Fannie Flagg. I will definitely read more of her works. ( )
  BookConcierge | Feb 26, 2016 |
Loved this, small town American writing at its best.
  LindsayCal | Feb 15, 2016 |
A most unlikely-named main character, Ave Maria, anchors this novel of finally growing up. It is set in a small town in the Blue Ridge, which provides a colorful and, for the most part, lovable, group of characters who become Ave Maria's family after the death of her mother. As her 36th year unfolds, she discovers secrets of her mother, her father, and, finally, of her own, that change her life. I found this book delightful, fun to read, and meaty enough to be a little more than just casual reading. ( )
  TerriBooks | Jan 27, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 71 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Tim
First words
This will be a good weekend for reading.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0345438329, Paperback)

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:25:05 -0400)

(see all 6 descriptions)

The warm and very funny story of a small town is told by Ave Maria Mulligan, a 35-year-old self-proclaimed spinster, whose comfortable routine is about to be disrupted forever. "Funny, charming, and original".--Fannie Flagg.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 7 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Adriana Trigiani is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
145 avail.
16 wanted
2 pay7 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.64)
0.5 1
1 9
1.5 2
2 47
2.5 16
3 194
3.5 49
4 207
4.5 20
5 122

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 110,639,926 books! | Top bar: Always visible