HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The American Boy by Andrew Taylor
Loading...

The American Boy (original 2003; edition 2004)

by Andrew Taylor

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7962911,521 (3.46)26
Member:miss_read
Title:The American Boy
Authors:Andrew Taylor
Info:HarperPerennial (2004), Paperback
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:fiction, historical, award winner, 1810s, mystery

Work details

The American Boy by Andrew Taylor (2003)

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 26 mentions

English (28)  Swedish (1)  All languages (29)
Showing 1-5 of 28 (next | show all)
Den amerikanske pojken är en stort upplagd, underhållande och välskriven roman i en berättarstil som påminner om både Charles Dickens och Edgar Allan Poes. Persongalleriet är stort och det är en fördel om man inte behöver lägga boken ifrån sig alltför länge. Risken finns då att man tappar bort sig. För övrigt är det svårt att släppa boken, man är ivrig att få reda vad som ligger bakom de märkliga händelser som drabbar berättarpersonen Thomas Shield. En mycket läsvärd bok!
  svkkarlskrona | Feb 3, 2016 |
Well written and interesting though things seemed to just unfold through no real effort of the MC. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 22, 2016 |
Well written and interesting though things seemed to just unfold through no real effort of the MC. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 22, 2016 |
Set in the early 1800's this is an intriguing murder mystery loosely based around the early life of Edgar Allan Poe his fathers mysterious disappearance and his time spent in England.

While the key facts are true Poes father did disappear and Poe was adopted by the Allans who took him to England the main part of the story is pure fiction.

The American Boy is actually a minor character within the novel however he is the catalyst that brings people together and causes certain events to occur.

The murder mystery is cleverly laid out and the reader is manipulated along with Thomas Shield the narrator.

The appendix written by another minor character much later sheds extra light on the events of that time.

London of the 1800's is well captured by the authors descriptions and this is a book that leaves you thinking and wondering what clues you missed along the way. ( )
  BookWormM | Jan 15, 2016 |
1819 England: young Edgar Allen Poe is a minor character in this mystery set among the dark corners of London and the lonely English countryside. Red herrings enough to fill Lake Michian abound. Strange incidents which eventually tie together as the reader figures out just what the crime really is: murder, fraud or treason? Well strung together but the ending just did not have enough surprise for all the secrecy which built it up. ( )
  literaryrunner | Apr 25, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 28 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
We owe respect to the living, Voltaire tells us in his Premiere Lettre sur Oedipe, but to the dead we owe only truth.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0007109601, Paperback)

Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. England 1819: Thomas Shield, a new master at a school just outside London, is tutor to a young American boy and the boy's sensitive best friend, Charles Frant. Drawn to Frant's beautiful, unhappy mother, Thomas becomes caught up in her family's twisted intrigues. Then a brutal crime is committed, with consequences that threaten to destroy Thomas and all that he has come to hold dear. Despite his efforts, Shield is caught up in a deadly tangle of sex, money, murder and lies - a tangle that grips him tighter even as he tries to escape from it. And what of the strange American child, at the heart of these macabre events, yet mysterious - what is the secret of the boy named Edgar Allen Poe?

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:25:51 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses, a man is found dead and mutilated, a heiress flirts with her inferiors, and a schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
59 avail.
32 wanted
3 pay11 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.46)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 23
2.5 5
3 65
3.5 20
4 74
4.5 7
5 21

Audible.com

7 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 109,221,486 books! | Top bar: Always visible