HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Chicken Sunday by Patricia Polacco
Loading...

Chicken Sunday (edition 1998)

by Patricia Polacco

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,372815,578 (4.36)9
A young girl used to visit and go to church with her neighbors' grandmother. One day they walked by a store and the grandmother saw a hat she liked. After dinner, the children wanted to give her the hat for Easter. They went to the hat shop, but were accused of throwing eggs on the back of the man's door. To make it up to him, the children decorated eggs to prove they were not bad children. The children wanted to help the shop owner so they could buy the hat, but he had no jobs for them. So he told them to sell the eggs to make money. After they sold the eggs, instead of having to pay the shop owner for the hat, he gave it to them. ( )
  RebeccaMichelet | Apr 28, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 80 (next | show all)
I would use this book in the 2nd grade to work on sequencing with my students. This book has a good plot line and the students would be able to put events in order. ( )
  SarahSangalli | Apr 26, 2016 |
"Chicken Sunday" includes differences in race, religion, and culture. Many characters are brought in from different backgrounds and beliefs yet are all able to agree on the importance of respect, friendship, and love. This story starts off with an older lady, Miss Eula, taking her children to church and seeing a beautiful hat in a shop window. The children, from different races and religion, come together to get their loved one what she wants most for Easter Sunday. The Russian language was included many times in this story. Words such as Spaseeba (Thank you) and Chutzpah (Courage) were used. Not only does this allow children to see how people from all over the world get along, it also exposes them to different languages and cultures. ( )
  jmistret | Apr 26, 2016 |
I think students would like this book because it is all about doing something nice and generous for someone you love. I liked it for that aspect as well. I would use this in a 2nd-3rd grade classroom and would use it in a lesson on sequencing with a plot chart. I would read this book in a read-aloud and we would go through the plot charts together. ( )
  SalemSmith | Apr 20, 2016 |
I thought this book was really cute. I absolutely loved the illustrations throughout the book. Particularly on pages 3 and 4 when Polacco provides real-life photographs, I think this was a great touch. The illustrations absolutely work with and enhance the story. I think that the plot was very straight-forward and easy to understand. For example on the page when the children were blamed for vandalizing Mr. Kodinski's home, I was afraid where the story was going to go next. I didn't have to wait long! The next page built up a little bit more suspense, but then the page after than, I had some closure. The story provides a sense of hope because these children didn't need to do these things, but since they did, Miss Eula was so proud of them. I think the main idea or message of this book is to do nice things for other people. Miss Eula was elated when the children had done those nice things for Mr. Kodinski, and thus, Mr. Kodinski also did something nice in return. ( )
  hfetty1 | Apr 12, 2016 |
When Patricia was a young child, she grew up with the Washington family in her neighborhood, which included Miss Eula and her grandsons, Stewart and Winston. Patricia was good friends with them and went to their baptist church with them, even though she practiced a different religion. Miss Eula would always stop to admire a particular hat in a shop window on the way back from church. The three kids were trying to save up enough money to buy Miss Eula that hat so they sold decorated eggs. Once they had enough money, the store owner said he knew who they were buying it for and said they could take the hat to give to Miss Eula. The family of the three kids and Miss Eula, even if Patricia wasn't related, was an underlying theme as well as the perseverance to get Miss Eula the hat she wanted to pay her back for everything she did. ( )
  NoelAbadie | Mar 31, 2016 |
Lesson: What Are Family Traditions?
  ccsdss | Feb 26, 2016 |
This book is another winner for Patricia Polacco, showing the love among intergenerational characters which is truly heart warming. Family is not just portrayed as blood relatives but as friends and community which is done so well in this book.

Curricular connection - Students can sequence story events, character development can be done through questioning and writing, Cause & Effect lesson can be developed through what the students were accused of in the book.
  sanm277 | Feb 24, 2016 |
Chicken Sunday is a book I personally enjoyed because of the plot twists and unpredictability. While I was reading it, I never could’ve expected for it to end how it did. In my opinion, this is a good book for all ages. It teaches a great moral lesson for kids and shows the innocence and true caring that the main characters have. I found the writing to be very engaging, I was eagerly waiting for every page to find out what was going to happen next. Though many unexpected things happened, like the kids being framed, the story was very easy to follow because of its great organization. The characters were well developed and it was from their point of view. This made it very interesting when they got themselves into trouble because we were able to feel and understand their thoughts and feelings. As I mentioned earlier, Patricia Polacco did a great job incorporating problem and solution into the plot to keep it suspenseful for me. As always, her illustrations brought the story to life. Their simple colors and beauty can help readers connect to the story and relate it back to their own personal experiences. ( )
  mcicch2 | Oct 5, 2015 |
“Chicken Sunday” is written and illustrated by Patricia Palacco. I enjoyed this book because it reflects multiculturalism and diversity is a significant yet subtle way. For example, Mrs. Eula and the boys represent a middle/lower class African American family in the 1960’s while Patricia is a young, white, Jewish girl. All of the characters interact with Mr. Kodinski, a Jewish hat shop owner, who the book hints at had been a survivor of the holocaust. The book also reflects how honesty and doing the right thing pays off. An example of this is when the children apologize to Mr. Kodinski by making him traditional Jewish decorated eggs that he later allows them to sell in his store. Patricia Palacco is always a delightful read for children and parents. ( )
  bboyd7 | Sep 25, 2015 |
“Chicken Sunday” by Patricia Polacco is a great book for kids. Often children find themselves in a situation where they are misunderstood or blamed for something they did not do. This is what happened to Patricia, Stewart and Winston but do to their determination they were able to show Mr. Kondinski that they were not the ones who threw the eggs at his door. This can teach children to find ways to solve problems. Also like the children in the book trying to find responsible ways to make money kids can learn to be helpful and even find their own ways to earn money. ( )
  cbucci1 | Sep 15, 2015 |
I enjoyed reading Patricia Polacco’s “Chicken Sunday” for several reasons. First of all, I liked the message of the book. “Chicken Sunday” shows that kind deeds are often rewarded. Patricia and her neighbors want to buy Miss Eula an expensive Easter hat, and their kindness is rewarded when the owner of the hat shop gives them the hat for free. This book teaches children how they should treat other people, especially adults. There are also several different cultures in “Chicken Sunday,” Patricia is Russian-American, and her neighbors are African-American. I would recommend this book to K-2nd grade teachers, and anyone else who wants to read a great picture book. ( )
  swarnk1 | Sep 14, 2015 |
I really like this book for many reasons. This book included good color, detail, and use of language. The storyline and plot allowed the reader to relate in many ways. The book included culture and symbolism. The culture was introduced when they spoke of the grandmother, her name, her choice of food that she cooked, and the they way she carried herself. The symbolism present was the children's constant desire to buy their grandmother a hat. This symbolizes the love and appreciation they had for her. Another sign of symbolism is after the grandmother dies and the children go back to her grave to pour gravy over it as the grandmother had wished. ( )
  BrittanyNelson94 | Sep 2, 2015 |
The pictures and the way the characters' words roll off her pen make this book. You must read this one aloud. There is really no other way to truly appreciate the beauty of it! ( )
  MeezCarrie | Aug 31, 2015 |
“Chicken Sunday” by Patricia Polacco was an excellent book. I’ve read many books by Patricia Polacco but this was my favorite! The main idea/message of the story is to teach the reader how they should treat people. Throughout the entire story, the children wish only to help others. This book pushes the reader to think about tough issues because the children experience misfortune and frustration. I really liked the ending of the book because it provided a heartwarming closure—“We lost Miss Eula some time back, but every year we take some chicken soup up to Mountain View Cemetery and do just as she asked”. I also like the overall writing of this book. Since it was written from the view of the little girl, the writing is both clear and concise but descriptive enough to indicate the different elements of the story. As always, I loved the illustrations in every Patricia Polacco book. Her style of illustration is very unique and catches the eye of the reader. ( )
  marmig2 | Mar 31, 2015 |
I liked the book “Chicken Sunday” by Patricia Polacco. One reason I liked this book was because of the characters. Since Patricia Polacco’s books are written about real life events the characters are relatable. In this particular story, it talks about neighbors and how they were a different religion. “They weren’t the same religion as I was. They were Baptists.” Another aspect I liked about this book was the illustrations. The illustrations took up most of the page and were brightly colored. Another reason I liked the illustrations was because the people in the illustrations were drawn with very detailed and accurate facial expressions so the reader knew how the characters were feeling. The big idea of this story is to accepting of people who have different religions. ( )
  amulve2 | Oct 30, 2014 |
Summary:
This book is about a woman who has a tradition of making large fried chicken dinners on Sundays after church. Her grandchildren and a neighbor girl see her admiring an Easter bonnet at a hat store on the way home from church. They go to the hat store to see if there is anything they can do to earn money to buy the hat for their grandmother. Some older kids were throwing eggs at the store and ran away when they got there, so the store owner thought it was them. The children were very upset that the store owner thought they were throwing eggs at his store, So they decorated eggs and brought them to him. He then realized, it wasn't them that was throwing the eggs. He then allowed them to sell their decorated eggs at his store. He also gave them the Easter bonnet for their grandmother.

Personal reaction:
This book made me feel bad. There have been many occasions where I had jumped to the wrong conclusions with my children.
This book also brought back memories of our fried chicken dinners we used to have on Sundays after church.

Classroom Extensions:
I would use this book in my class to start a discussion on jumping to conclusions and how things aren't always as they seem.
I would also use this book to start a discussion on different spring time traditions. I would also research and possibly make a Pysanky egg.
  theresazeigler | Oct 26, 2014 |
Summary:
Chicken Sunday is about a group of children who want to buy their "Miss Eula" a Sunday hat. However, being children, they do not have any money. When they go to ask for work from the owner of the store who sells said hat, they end up being blamed for the egging of his business. When the owner shames them and tells Miss Eula, they attempt to make peace by making Ukrainian eggs. The owner eventually believes the children and allows them to sell their eggs in his shop. The owner gives them the hat as the children go to buy it.

Personal reaction:
I really felt sorry for the children and their wrong place, wrong time misfortune. I would have been so upset if it had been me. I also would have been frustrated with the situation especially if I were trying to do something nice for someone else.

Classroom extension ideas:
1) I would use this book and talk about the Ukrainian eggs and what they mean in the culture, then we would decorate our own. Based on the age we might use a coloring sheet or plastic eggs.
2) I would also use this book by doing a journal opportunity. I would only read to the part where the kids were blamed for throwing the eggs and let them finish the story. The we would share some of our stories before I read the rest of the book.
  yourfavhannah | Oct 25, 2014 |
In my opinion this is a great book. I liked the way the author made diversity in all the characters. The author made the characters with different religions and race in the book. This made the characters well developed. The author was able to create good children for other children to read about. You can see this when the white girl and the two African American boys make the shop owner “Pysanky eggs” (Eggs from the shop owners home town). Patricia Pollacco is able to create a great plot to her story. She’s able to create a problem that the three young children have to fix even though they didn’t do the crime. They were made able to make up for what they did with no conflict and actually benefit from circumstance. Once again in a Patricia Pollacco book, the illustrations are magnificent. The illustrations really made me feel as though I was there and gave me a clear view of what was happening on each page. This first person, fiction children’s book was able to show other children doing nice things for other people. The whole time the kids were trying to help out Ms. Eula and buy her a hat she always wanted. They were able to do this by perseverance. They made it through obstacles and were able in the end to get her the hat. The big idea and message of this book is to show children how to be “good people”. These children were never worried about themselves but always others!
  JordanMyers | Sep 23, 2014 |
After a recent reunion with a family who was so kind to me when I was young, this book resonated in a timely manner, and affirmed the fact that people can make a difference in our lives.

When a young Russian girl befriends African American brothers in her family, they vow to treat each other as family.

Visiting every Sunday, Patricia loves the chicken sunday dinners after church. She grows to thrive in the family and together she and her family of brothers vow to find a way to purchase a hat that Grandmother Eula would love to possess for Easter.

Misunderstood by the shop owner, who stero types them and their intentions, they vow to show they are well intended. When the shop keeper opens his heart and his store to the young group, they sell hand made Russian eggs in his store as a way to buy the bonnet.

So impressed with the love the children have for their beloved Grandmother, he boxes the hat and gives it to them for free. ( )
  Whisper1 | Jul 29, 2014 |
I liked this book mainly because of the characters. I think they helped set an example to bridge the gap between generations. For example, in the beginning of the story, the children and old storekeeper were not always friendly with one another. Although by the end of the story, the children and the old storekeeper gain a more positive perspective of one another. Along with the characters, the plot helped bridge the gap between generations. In the beginning of the book, when the children describe the old storekeeper they say, “He’s such a strange old man. He never smiles at anyone. He always loos so mean.” Also, in the beginning, the old storekeeper assumed the children egged his store and asks, “Why do you kids do things like this.” As the story continues, the old storekeeper and children see how their original perspective of each other was not accurate through the acts of kindness they each take part in. The big idea of Chicken Sunday is that trust can be earned when one shows good character. By the end of the story, the old storekeeper saw the children as good hearted and told them to, “Tell [your Grandma] that I know you are very good children, such good children.” ( )
  Kgranit | Mar 6, 2014 |
Patricia Polacco is such an amazing artist and writer, and I loved this book. One reason I like it is because of the multicultural aspect. Trisha is from Ukrainian and Irish descent, and her best friend is an African American boy. I like that they share cultures, she teaches him to paint eggs, and he has her over for his 'Chicken Sunday' dinners. I also like this book because of the artwork. Polacco uses a lot of contrasting light and dark colors, which adds to the light and dark skin of the characters. But, the light and dark colors are always together, such as a white background in her friend's house, or the black clothing of Mr. Kodinski, showing that color doesn't matter, and that the two characters can be friends despite their race. The main idea of this story is to work hard to give someone deserving something special. ( )
  bphill5 | Oct 28, 2013 |
This is a story about the children want to buy that special Easter bonnet in Mr. Kodinski's shop window for their Miss Eula.
this book acn be find at Pierce College
age4/5
  xiomaragrace12 | Oct 28, 2013 |
Summary:
This book is about three kids who want to thank Miss Eula for her wonderful Sunday chicken dinners, so they sell decorated eggs to buy her a beautiful Easter hat she has been admiring.

Personal Reaction:
I thought this was a nice story about doing this for people and earning things so you can do good for someone who's done good for you.

Classroom Extensions:
1. Decorate Easter eggs.
2. Talk about the importance of earnings.
  JasmineOehler | Oct 27, 2013 |
This is a great story about an older woman who takes 3 kids in the neighborhood to church on sundays and makes them fried chicken afterwards, and the book goes on to tell about the trouble the 3 kids get into to try to do something nice for the old woman. This book had a great story line and fabulous illustrations. You could use this book to research the holocaust and extend into world war two if needed.
  MaryKateCollins | Sep 16, 2013 |
Patricia Polacco does it again in this lovely tale of three best friends who, despite differences in race, religion and gender, considered themselves family. When Stewart and Winston's Gramma Eula Mae - who stood in the position of a "babushka" to Russian-Jewish Trisha as well - admired a hat in Mr. Kodinski's shop, the three children were determined to get it for her, as an Easter gift. But an incident involving some eggs and some older boys had Mr. Kodinski convinced that they were hateful young vandals. How could they convince him otherwise, while also earning the money necessary to get Miss Eula her hat...?

Chickens Sundays - so named because of the delicious Sunday meals Miss Eula Mae would prepare for the children, after church - had me sniffling at the end, which, given that this is Patricia Polacco, probably shouldn't come as a surprise. The characters - from Miss Eula, who sang "like slow thunder and sweet rain"," to Mr. Kodinski, whose tattooed forearm hinted at an explanation for his initial distrust of the children - felt completely real, which, of course, they were. This is, after all - like so many of the author's other books - a story based on Polacco's own childhood, making it all the more moving. ( )
  AbigailAdams26 | Apr 15, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 80 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
25 wanted
1 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.36)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 1
3 10
3.5 4
4 45
4.5 6
5 69

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,259,138 books! | Top bar: Always visible