HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Cold Dish: A Longmire Mystery by Craig…
Loading...

The Cold Dish: A Longmire Mystery (2004)

by Craig Johnson

Other authors: george guidall (Narrator)

Series: Walt Longmire (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,276916,177 (4)332
  1. 20
    Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger (sjmccreary)
    sjmccreary: similar remote locations, small towns near Indian reservations, both are cold weather settings
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 332 mentions

English (90)  French (1)  All (91)
Showing 1-5 of 90 (next | show all)
Like most, I came to the Longmire series dishonestly, i.e., via Netflix. The written word may disappoint those too heavily invested in liberties taken by the TV series over the course of six seasons. Vic's not blonde. Henry is physically much more bear-like than Lou Diamond Phillips. And Walt is a lot more verbose than on the screen--which, of course, is to be expected since the book is told from the sheriff's first person point-of-view. But the essential Longmire elements--Wyoming, the Cheyenne nation, murder and the pursuit of justice by a dusty, dedicated lawman--are all there and the story worked for me just as well and in some ways even better in novel form. ( )
  mtbass | May 17, 2018 |
Another instance of checking out a book after a TV show or movie. After only a few pages, I decided I vastly approve of the changes made by the script writers for the show and that I would gain nothing from time spent reading the background material. So back it went to the library. ( )
  abycats | May 11, 2018 |
Wyoming sheriff Walt Longmire is tired. He's been sheriff for a long time and he's facing election challenges from a young deputy who has everything going for him — looks, pedigree — except being a good lawman. He's also depressed, still reeling from the death of his wife four years before. He shares his half-finished log cabin home with a bevy of mice and stacks of unpacked boxes.

As if all that wasn't enough, Walt is also still smarting from a two-year-old case in which a quartet of white teenage boys received a suspended sentence after raping a developmentally disabled Native American girl. When one of the boys is found shot to death, Walt has to consider whether the murder is a form of vigilante justice, and whether the rest of the perpetrators are also in danger.

This book is the first in Johnson's wildly popular series, which spawned a television series that recently wrapped up a seven-season run. It suffers from the common series-opener problem of allowing the establishment of the scene and characters to get a bit in the way of the storytelling, but it's still compelling in its treatment of its Native American characters and culture (the most prominent of whom, Henry Standing Bear, would bristle at the term and insist that he is an Indian). It takes a broadminded view of native spirituality that leaves room for multiple interpretations.

I remember when I read this for the first time in 2015 that Walt's depressive personality felt oppressive, and I hoped it would lift as the series continued. It didn't seem quite as overwhelming this time around, perhaps because having read the rest of the series I know now that Walt does recover his emotional equilibrium. It was also a good reminder that the casting for the television series was not necessarily true to the books. Henry is a tall, beefy man in the books, not the miniaturized version presented by Lou Diamond Phillips. And after watching Katee Sackhoff portray deputy Victoria Moretti as a wiry blonde, it was a revelation to rediscover that the book Vic is an olive-skinned, curvy Italian. She's just as direct and delightfully profane, thankfully. ( )
  rosalita | Apr 24, 2018 |
The book moves at a leisurely pace. Don't get complacent though because when the action comes it is fast and furious. The start of the book (first 100) pages moves slower than the end. It is worth it though because you know Johnson is setting up a world you are going to be visiting again real soon. I thought the end was fabulous and look forward to reading the 2nd book in the series. ( )
  CSDaley | Mar 28, 2018 |
I wasn't particularly fond of the story, but I really like the characters

1st half was ridiculously slow. 2nd half got better - especially the last 40%

I don't particularly feel like I could recommend this book on its own merits, but I'm interested enough in the characters & setting that I'm going to try [b:Death Without Company|236862|Death Without Company (Walt Longmire, #2)|Craig Johnson|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1349807862s/236862.jpg|229421]. ( )
  Adam_Z | Mar 19, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 90 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (1 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Craig Johnsonprimary authorall editionscalculated
guidall, georgeNarratorsecondary authorall editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Revenge is a dish best served cold. --Pierre Ambroise Francois Choderlos de La Clos, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Dedication
For
The Dairy Princess of Wayne Count
And the Crack Shot of Cabell ...
First words
"Bob Barnes says they got a dead body out on BLM land."
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
After twenty-four years as sheriff of Wyoming's Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Prithcard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody had been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 buffalo rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is nver served at all.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143036424, Paperback)

Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, the first in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
 
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:22:23 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

When a local boy is found dead near the North Cheyenne reservation, most people assume it was an isolated incident, but when Sheriff Walt Longmire launches an investigation, he discovers that two years earlier, the dead boy and three other high school boys had been given suspended sentences for raping a Cheyenne girl. Soon, a second boy is gunned down, and only Sheriff Longmire can keep the other two safe.… (more)

» see all 6 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5 1
1 6
1.5
2 14
2.5 3
3 62
3.5 43
4 187
4.5 26
5 123

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 125,513,739 books! | Top bar: Always visible