HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The cold dish by Craig Johnson
Loading...

The cold dish (original 2004; edition 2005)

by Craig Johnson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8045811,352 (4.03)167
Member:bfister
Title:The cold dish
Authors:Craig Johnson
Info:
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:Wyoming, crime fiction

Work details

The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson (2004)

  1. 20
    Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger (sjmccreary)
    sjmccreary: similar remote locations, small towns near Indian reservations, both are cold weather settings
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 167 mentions

English (57)  French (1)  All languages (58)
Showing 1-5 of 57 (next | show all)
I enjoyed this very much and glad there is a series. The tv series is even decent. It isn't going to replace my love for Parker's Spenser series, but it will join my list of favored literary detectives, cops, sheriffs and other assorted law enforcement and private investigators. ( )
  autumnturner76 | Sep 22, 2014 |
Very well written. This is not for everyone, but it is a gritty mystery and if that's your thing, it is definitely worth the read. ( )
  learn2laugh | Sep 14, 2014 |
This is the first Longmire novel for me, and probably the last. I found it readable, and I enjoyed the characters- especially the colorful and often humorous (regional?) language. The use of Indian spirits and such is a bit much for my taste, and ultimately it's just another detective novel. ( )
  keithostertag | Sep 8, 2014 |
What an enjoyable read. Such great, vivacious characters and so many great one-liners. But don't let Johnson's humor fool you into thinking he's a one-trick pony. (Sorry, couldn't resist.) The painful parts are full of lyricism and gravitas without taking away from the story. Can't wait to read more by him. ( )
  stacy_chambers | Jul 21, 2014 |
Revenge is the cold dish, and the weather can be seriously cold in Absaroka county, Wyoming. The sheriff is nearing retirement. His deputy would rather be in New York. His best friend might be the last person to have seen the dead guy alive. And his best friend’s friends might have multiple reasons to have wished the dead guy harm. Meanwhile his home’s unfinished and his life’s on hold. But none of that will stop him from keeping people safe and solving his case.

The writing is smooth and sure, fiery as good liquor, warm as hot coffee (they drink lots of coffee!), and filled with twisted touches of humor spicing dialog and relationships equally. There are wonderfully memorable scenes of helicopters, log cabins, and a desperate walk in the snow. Hints of mysticism balance perfectly with well-drawn mystery and investigation. And the ending, though not quite surprising, feels perfectly natural with unexpected twists adding conscience and depth.

I’ve not seen the TV series of Craig Johnson’s books, but I feel like I know what it will look like—a testament to the author’s great descriptions and depictions of life in small-town Wyoming on the edge of the reservation. I love this book!

Disclosure: My husband kept quoting from it as he read, so I had to read it myself. ( )
  SheilaDeeth | Mar 28, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 57 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Revenge is a dish best served cold. --Pierre Ambroise Francois Choderlos de La Clos, _Les Liaisons Dangereuses_
Dedication
For
The Dairy Princess of Wayne Count
And the Crack Shot of Cabell ...
First words
"Bob Barnes says they got a dead body out on BLM land."
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
After twenty-four years as sheriff of Wyoming's Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Prithcard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody had been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 buffalo rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is nver served at all.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143036424, Paperback)

Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, the first in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
 
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:58:17 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

When a local boy is found dead near the North Cheyenne reservation, most people assume it was an isolated incident, but when Sheriff Walt Longmire launches an investigation, he discovers that two years earlier, the dead boy and three other high school boys had been given suspended sentences for raping a Cheyenne girl. Soon, a second boy is gunned down, and only Sheriff Longmire can keep the other two safe.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 7 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
296 wanted
4 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.03)
0.5 1
1 3
1.5
2 10
2.5 2
3 32
3.5 26
4 117
4.5 21
5 78

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,376,911 books! | Top bar: Always visible