HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The cold dish by Craig Johnson
Loading...

The cold dish (original 2004; edition 2005)

by Craig Johnson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
968728,922 (4)272
Member:bfister
Title:The cold dish
Authors:Craig Johnson
Info:New York : Viking, 2005.
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:Wyoming, crime fiction

Work details

The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson (2004)

  1. 20
    Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger (sjmccreary)
    sjmccreary: similar remote locations, small towns near Indian reservations, both are cold weather settings
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 272 mentions

English (71)  French (1)  All languages (72)
Showing 1-5 of 71 (next | show all)
rating - 3.5
This is the tale of Walter Longmire. He is a rough and tough cowboy sheriff. His best friend is Henry Standing Bear. who turns out to be on the short list of suspect for a murder. But Walter knows it cant be him and tries to find things that lead to who the true murder could be. ( )
  JWarrenBenton | Jan 4, 2016 |
rating - 3.5
This is the tale of Walter Longmire. He is a rough and tough cowboy sheriff. His best friend is Henry Standing Bear. who turns out to be on the short list of suspect for a murder. But Walter knows it cant be him and tries to find things that lead to who the true murder could be. ( )
  JWarrenBenton | Jan 4, 2016 |
Longmire tracks down the killer of boys who raped a NA girl. Well written, with a bit more humor than in the TV version. ( )
  addunn3 | Oct 31, 2015 |
Disclaimer: I watched the Longmire TV show before I started the book series. The show is really, really good (all episodes now on Netflix).

I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the TV show Longmire is different from the book (at least this first book in the series), because I did not know everything that was going to happen. The main mystery of this book serves as the storyline for the first episode of the show (which is wrapped up in a later episode), and the conclusion is vastly different, so again, I'm glad it was like reading a whole new mystery.

Anyway, while the characters in the book differ in some ways from the show, they are still engaging (especially Sheriff Walt Longmire, he of the dry wit and literary references; and his bestie Henry Standing Bear, moral compass and ladies' man) and Johnson paints a glorious picture of folks in small-town Wyoming. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series. ( )
  kaylaraeintheway | Oct 18, 2015 |
The Longmire TV series and this book are related, but not identical. The breadth and depth of the written story cannot be shared in a 1-hour episode on the tube. I thought I knew who the killer was, but the book and the TV series are not the same, and so the joy of Longmire is doubled by parallel universes in different media. I love these characters and look forward to reading more about their lives. The combination of all too human failings; brutal, sometimes senseless violence; tenderness from unlikely places; and, the Great Mystery, provides rich, complex character development for both villains and heroes within a landscape that is both beautiful and deadly. Thankfully, at this writing, ten books are in this series. For more about the story, read the reviews below. I don't want to be repetitive. ( )
  brickhorse | Aug 31, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 71 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Revenge is a dish best served cold. --Pierre Ambroise Francois Choderlos de La Clos, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Dedication
For
The Dairy Princess of Wayne Count
And the Crack Shot of Cabell ...
First words
"Bob Barnes says they got a dead body out on BLM land."
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
After twenty-four years as sheriff of Wyoming's Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Prithcard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody had been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 buffalo rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is nver served at all.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143036424, Paperback)

Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, the first in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
 
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:22:23 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

When a local boy is found dead near the North Cheyenne reservation, most people assume it was an isolated incident, but when Sheriff Walt Longmire launches an investigation, he discovers that two years earlier, the dead boy and three other high school boys had been given suspended sentences for raping a Cheyenne girl. Soon, a second boy is gunned down, and only Sheriff Longmire can keep the other two safe.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 7 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
164 wanted4 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5
2 9
2.5 3
3 45
3.5 36
4 145
4.5 24
5 92

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,135,475 books! | Top bar: Always visible