HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The cold dish by Craig Johnson
Loading...

The cold dish (original 2004; edition 2005)

by Craig Johnson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,086787,665 (3.99)295
Member:bfister
Title:The cold dish
Authors:Craig Johnson
Info:New York : Viking, 2005.
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:Wyoming, crime fiction

Work details

The Cold Dish: A Longmire Mystery by Craig Johnson (2004)

  1. 20
    Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger (sjmccreary)
    sjmccreary: similar remote locations, small towns near Indian reservations, both are cold weather settings
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 295 mentions

English (77)  French (1)  All (78)
Showing 1-5 of 77 (next | show all)
Almost noir in the american midwest - cowboy territory. But it has the troubled cop, femme fatale and sleezy bars. It might have worked better for me if I had more of a cultural understanding of the impact Native American reservations have on 'ordinary' life, which is far removed from my experiences. But it was mostly clear enough to understand the context.

Walt is a that typical american sheriff, - overweight somewhat lacking in focus since his wife died, but otherwise dedicated to the job and a drink, and inexplicably attractive to the various women around the small town that's the centre of his county.

TBR ( )
  reading_fox | Dec 9, 2016 |
From Amazon:

Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle. With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

My Thoughts:

Set in a fictional small town in northern Wyoming and featuring grieving, 50-something widower Sheriff Walt Longmire, the book is a beautifully crafted mystery that will hold your attention from the first page. A marvelous supporting cast of eccentric locals including Longmire's best friend, Henry Standing Bear, both assist and hinder the Sheriff as he makes his way through a maze of suspects to solve a grisy series of murders. By the last chapter of this terrific first novel, the reader will feel that he, too, knows the starkly beautiful country at the foot of the Big Horn mountains. A guaranteed great read. ( )
  Carol420 | May 31, 2016 |
Other than the language, I really enjoyed the first story in the Longmire series. Great introduction to the characters or Walt (Longmire), Vic, Henry, and Ruby! If you like John Wayne (think The Shootist) you will love Sheriff Walter Longmire. As a life long fan of Zane Grey and Louis L'Amour I enjoyed the raw characters and their idiosyncrasies. Fun modern day western! ( )
  weisser4 | May 3, 2016 |
Read this one for my library mystery book group. Nice quick read this is the second Longmire book that I have read. A&E has also done a great job with the casting of the Longmire series based on Craig Johnson's books. ( )
  yvonne.sevignykaiser | Apr 2, 2016 |
This was a fantastic mystery/crime drama. The author writes very down to earth, colorful characters that will make you smile. Written in first person POV, Sheriff Longmire introduces us to his world as he investigates the death of Cody Pritchard. Things soon point to murder and possible revenge for another crime. Walt's inner voice was very engaging and drew me into the story. I felt like I was right there with him. His friendship with Henry Standing Bear was very endearing and probably my favorite part of the book. They shared an easy banter that helped ease the tension during the more suspenseful scenes. I enjoyed the plot and had no idea who the culprit was until the end of the story when Walt broke the case. The writing was witty and sharp, the type of book that just flows from one sentence to the next. I really enjoyed it and look forward to continuing the series. ( )
  Becky_McKenna | Mar 10, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 77 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Revenge is a dish best served cold. --Pierre Ambroise Francois Choderlos de La Clos, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Dedication
For
The Dairy Princess of Wayne Count
And the Crack Shot of Cabell ...
First words
"Bob Barnes says they got a dead body out on BLM land."
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
After twenty-four years as sheriff of Wyoming's Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Prithcard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody had been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 buffalo rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is nver served at all.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143036424, Paperback)

Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, the first in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
 
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:22:23 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

When a local boy is found dead near the North Cheyenne reservation, most people assume it was an isolated incident, but when Sheriff Walt Longmire launches an investigation, he discovers that two years earlier, the dead boy and three other high school boys had been given suspended sentences for raping a Cheyenne girl. Soon, a second boy is gunned down, and only Sheriff Longmire can keep the other two safe.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 7 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
158 wanted5 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.99)
0.5 1
1 6
1.5
2 12
2.5 3
3 53
3.5 37
4 165
4.5 25
5 105

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 110,794,959 books! | Top bar: Always visible