HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Freedom Summer: The Savage Summer That Made…
Loading...

Freedom Summer: The Savage Summer That Made Mississippi Burn and Made… (edition 2010)

by Bruce Watson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
127494,816 (4.28)4
Member:kristenkim03
Title:Freedom Summer: The Savage Summer That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy
Authors:Bruce Watson
Info:New York : Viking, 2010.
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:African Americans, civil rights, 20th century America, Southern history

Work details

Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy by Bruce Watson

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 4 mentions

Showing 4 of 4
There is a lot to like about this book. The stories are interesting and compelling (although the narrative structure was sometimes muddy and confusing). I was very interested to read about this chapter in American history that I hadn't been aware of before. I was shocked to realize how recently these things happened, and also to realize that in some cases, attempts at bringing violent perpetrators to justice are still being carried out.

This book raised a lot of questions for me about organizing, power and privilege, and the silence of a nation. It was disheartening to read about all of the dirty politics that were used to keep people from participating in "democracy".

This is a book that doesn't provide easy answers and the lives within the ambiguity of the movement and it's aftermath. It's an important book. ( )
  shannonkearns | Sep 26, 2011 |
A jumping-off book. Fannie Lou Hamer's testimony to the Democratic Convention's Credentialling Committee is on youtube. So many people to investigate: Ella Baker, the founder of SNCC, Bob Moses, Willie Morris's My Mississippi, on and on. ( )
  jconnell | Dec 13, 2010 |
Excellent both as history and as a gripping story. It is remarkable how many current House and Senate member took part... yet appear to have forgotten the lessons learned. ( )
  RSFox | Dec 9, 2010 |
This is a good book on a very interesting topic. Watson chronicles the summer of 1964, "Freedom Summer," when hundreds of (mostly white) college students journeyed to Mississippi to join up with local black civil rights workers, in an effort to change Mississippi's Jim Crow voting laws. They were met with distrust, hatred, violence of all stripes, and even murder, from the local whites. This is an important, engrossing story. I'm not always sure about Watson's tone, as he has a flare for the melodramatic, and the truth is dramatic enough, especially as told in quotes from those who were there, without extra rhetorical flourishes. The organization of his narrative is sometimes jumbled, as well. While those few stylistic problems keep the book from being "perfect," it is nonetheless a great read, chronicling a time that seems impossibly far away, but was only half a century away from today. Recommended. Four stars. ( )
2 vote allthesedarnbooks | Aug 22, 2010 |
Showing 4 of 4
Mr. Watson’s book derives its power — at its best, it is the literary equivalent of a hot light bulb dangling from a low ceiling — from its narrow focus. “Freedom Summer” is about the more than 700 college students who, in the summer of 1964, under the supervision of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, risked their lives to travel to Mississippi to register black voters and open schools.
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0670021709, Hardcover)

A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America

In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom.

This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning, is now the subject of Bruce Watson's thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:56:09 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

Using in-depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi, while vividly portraying: the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state, the courageous black citizens and Northern volunteers who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
17 wanted1 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.28)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 9
4.5 3
5 6

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,653,984 books! | Top bar: Always visible