HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Three To Get Deadly: A Stephanie Plum Novel…
Loading...

Three To Get Deadly: A Stephanie Plum Novel (Stephanie Plum Novels) (original 1997; edition 2010)

by Janet Evanovich

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,49276790 (3.96)44
TerriBooks's review
This series is hilarious. I'm enjoying Stephanie Plum's interior conversations as she learns how to be a bounty hunter. She shows a side we all have. How can you forget your gun when you're going out to catch a criminal? Well, wouldn't you at one time or another? The roster of characters is also developing and that's turning into a strength, as well. Looking forward to more time with Stephanie and her unlikely adventures. ( )
  TerriBooks | Apr 28, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (74)  Dutch (1)  Spanish (1)  All languages (76)
Showing 1-25 of 74 (next | show all)
I’ve become a Stephanie Plum fan. Light, funny and well written. Always love the colorful characters. I will read the entire series. ( )
  mahree | Oct 13, 2014 |
This one took me forever to slog through. I don't know if it wasn't as good as the others or if I'm just growing weary of Ms. Plum. I'll read #4 and see if she still belongs in my rotation of female detectives or not. ( )
  AliceAnna | Aug 31, 2014 |
Friends have talked about how good the Stephanie Plum books are. I read the first two and was not wild about them. They were okay, but I was underwhelmed. I decided to give the third one a shot, and I'm hooked. The third installment in this series is hilarious! Stephanie Plum, a bounty hunter since her lingerie job fell through, sets out to apprehend the owner of the local candy store. At every turn someone is trying to hinder Stephanie because everyone loves Uncle Mo. When armed men start threatening Stephanie, she realizes there is more to Uncle Mo than anyone knows. I don't even know what to say about Ranger and Morelli. I would not turn down a stakeout with either of them!

I laughed my way through this book from the image painted of Lula, an ex-prostitute and aspiring bounty hunter, to Grandma Mazur. I will definitely be reading more in this series. I have a long way to go! ( )
  GeorgiaDawn | Apr 13, 2014 |
I had so many belly laughs during this read that I don't think I can stop reading Janet on to book 4 soon as I can get it! ( )
  redheadish | Mar 6, 2014 |
This book had me laughing so hard my family kept looking at me like I lost my mind. Terrific, funny easy read. ( )
  leannamcalister | Feb 22, 2014 |
In the latest, Three to Get Deadly, Grandma Mazur gets a boyfriend. He looks about three hundred years old and sets his choppers by the plate — they don’t fit right. He has a glass eye from World War II. “Were you overseas?” Stephanie’s father asked. “Nope. Lost my eye at Camp Kilmer. I was inspecting my bayonet, and then next thing you know I’d poked my eye out with it.” And of course he wants to marry Grandma so he can move in with her son-in-law. Evanovich has an extraordinary flair for writing humorous dialogue and scenes. ( )
  ecw0647 | Sep 30, 2013 |
Stephanie is after the Burg's beloved candyman, and no one wants to help her. Well...except the usual cast, Lula, Ranger, and Morelli, but the rest of the city...not a fan of the big bad Bounty hunter taking on an "innocent" man.

Fun, but not my favorite. Not enough of the supporting characters that make Stephanie so amazing. ( )
  bookwormteri | Sep 23, 2013 |
This was my third Stephanie Plum. It wasn't so gripping as the first two were and she didn't drop much clanger. Those parts of the stories I really like best. Nevertheless it is a solid plot even though the topic is a little bit too far fetched. Lula is starting to help Stephanie and I wonder how this 'partnership' will develop. The cat-and-mouse game between Stephanie and Morelli is taking some interesting turns. So, I'm looking forward to reading some more Plum's. ( )
  Ameise1 | Jul 1, 2013 |
I was a little disappointed in this book. It just didn't seem to have the same spark of the first two in the series. I did continue to enjoy the interaction between Morelli and Stephanie but I found Lula to be extremely annoying and I still don't like Ranger. I will continue on with this series and I look forward to seeing what happens next. ( )
  dpappas | Apr 17, 2013 |
In bounty hunter Stephanie Plum's latest escapade, she's sent to bring in "Uncle Mo," the local candy store owner who has to appear in court for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit. Everybody in Trenton does it, Mo was just the one who got caught. But Uncle Mo doesn't want to come in. And whenever Stephanie finds him, she seems to get shot at or find a body soon afterward. What the heck has Uncle Mo gotten himself into?

I think that you just have to love Stephanie Plum. She's funny, she's in over her head, and she's tormented by gorgeous smartass, Joe Morelli. And she says things like this:

"Ranger declined the butterscotch pudding, not wanting to disrupt the consistency of his blood sugar level. I had two puddings and coffee, choosing to keep my pancreas at peak performance. Use it or lose it is my philosophy."

"Ranger stripped off his sweatshirt. 'Adequate is being able to run five miles. How are you going to catch the bad guys if you can't outrun them?'
'Connie gives the bad guys who can run to you. I get the fat, out-of-shape bad guys.'"

My soul sister!

Morelli is sexy as ever, but he seems to be a little detached from Stephanie and she's not sure she likes it. I'm not sure I like it either. I like me some Morelli.

But there is a little more Ranger. Ranger seems a bit...intense for me. But he is there to help Stephanie when she asks for it, and that counts for a lot. And then he threw out a random Carl Sandburg quote. Is there more to Ranger than meets the eye? I'm willing to find out!

Lula and Grandma Mazur absolutely crack me up. Grandma is lying a little low in this installment, but Lula is hot on Stephanie's heels. The overweight ex-hooker might talk tough, but she can run from gunshots with the best of them. She is absolutely hilarious and I perked up in the scenes she was in, waiting to see what she would come out with next.

The mystery was a little over the top. There were so many bodies piled up in the weirdest places that it got a little absurd. Still, I had no idea what was really going on and it made sense when it was all wrapped up.

I will definitely continue on with the series and recommend it for a good laugh (and some hawt men!) ( )
  JG_IntrovertedReader | Apr 3, 2013 |
I gave this book 5 stars because:
(1) I couldn't figure out who did it before the end (or at least WHY... SHOCKING, by the way!)
(2) The whole book was really... stressful... in a good way... I kept freaking out... (To me, this means the author has really sucked you in...)
(3) The last page...

:)

I'm really loving Stephanie (and Morelli, of course), but I also LOVE the other more minor characters... Grandma Mazur, Lula, Ranger... hahaha... We get some insight into Ranger's character in this book, which was lovely! :)

Anyway--it was fabulous. Read it. ( )
  saraferrell | Apr 3, 2013 |
I give this 3 ½ stars. Stephanie Plum is still trying to figure out the whole bounty hunter thing and in the meantime she’s still getting into crazy antics. This time, however, she has a sidekick by the name of Lula. Of course Morelli and Ranger make their appearance too. Stephanie even comes close to getting some. ;)

I think this series just gets better and better. I like that the books are funny, but there is a serious side to them as well. Evanovich knows how to strike the right balance.
( )
  Jaguar897 | Mar 31, 2013 |
I loved it. Read the ebook version. Stephanie Plum is a great main character and the supporting cast are all wonderful too. I can not wait to read more of this series. ( )
  Barb_H | Mar 30, 2013 |
After reading two books and listening to another, as well as seeing the movie version of One For the Money, it is official. I love Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series. It is a series that is clever, exciting, and extremely funny. And Three to Get Deadly is the best so far, which is why I rushed to the library the day after I finished it to pick up the next book in the series.

In this book, obviously the third in the series (I love that I don't have to consult a list to figure out which book comes next!), Stephanie is sent out to find another fta, or Failure to Appear in bond-recovery agent speak. This time, she is going after one of the most beloved members of the burg, a candy store owner affectionately known as Uncle Mo. Since he is so well known and loved, as soon as the news hits the grapevine, Stephanie finds herself being scolded and even cursed by everyone from former teachers to her own mother. As she searches for Uncle Mo, she discovers that this supposed saint actually has a darker side and a few masked supporters who are determined to frighten Stephanie off the case. While investigating Uncle Mo Stephanie also gets a secondary, "easy" pickup to work on which leads to the mall and a chicken restaurant. I was almost rolling on the floor with laughter when I read her encounter with the chicken character. I won't say anything more about that, but it did lead to plenty of jokes from her friends.



I think the magic of this series comes not just from Evanovich's sense of humor, but also from her ability to create intensely likeable characters. There is Stephanie, of course, but the secondary characters add even more flavor. We get to see a little of Stephanie's nagging mother and a few glimpses of Grandma Mazur (this caused some of my only disappointment with the novel - I loved her character in Two for the Dough). Of course, there is more of Ranger and Joe Morelli to sigh over. And while Grandma Mazur was sort of a scene stealing side-kick in the last book, in this one we have Lula, the ex-hooker who now works in Vinnie's office as a file clerk. I do have to admit, however, that the bad guys in this book weren't as well written as the ones in the previous novels, but I still think that this one is my favorite so far.



I think my love of this series comes from the fact that it is just so satisfyingly readable. You're not going to get non-stop, heart -racing action, terrifying psychos, or a lot of technological and scientific forensic mumbo-jumbo. Don't get me wrong, I do like those elements sometimes, but they're not necessary for a book to be good. And while this series is sexy, it is more of a real-world, humorous sort of sexiness. I guess it goes back to the series being more character driven than scene or action driven. You also probably won't get any really intense emotions from these books like sadness and fear. Yes, some scenes are a little scary, but it is always tempered with humor. These books just have an appealing way of making you feel good that continues to earn them high ratings with me.


( )
  bookforage | Mar 4, 2013 |
I'm not quite certain why I enjoy this series so much....oh...yes I do! Characters, dialogue, characters, dialogue, characters, dialogue. Any book that makes me chuckle repeatedly is a welcome read! Stephanie Plum, her hamster, Morelli, Grandma, and others continue to entertain! ( )
  hemlokgang | Feb 20, 2013 |
This is a reread of the Plum series. I've been bored with the latest books in the series and decided to check out the books that got me hooked. In this story we were still learning about about Stephanie's building relationship with Morelli and her mentor Ranger. Stephanie was looking for her latest "skip" and was managing to mess up an undercover police investigation headed by Morelli. Of course, she stumbles unto several dead bodies and her car gets blown up b ut she was more interesting then. ( )
  Kathy89 | Dec 26, 2012 |
I just love the stephainie plum series it is so hillarious but if I have to Pick one to be my favorite it would be Three To Get deadly. My favorite part is where Lula ties a red flag to the dead body so she doesn't get a ticket for a wide load. ( )
  JessicaBadrick | Aug 6, 2012 |
This series is hilarious. I'm enjoying Stephanie Plum's interior conversations as she learns how to be a bounty hunter. She shows a side we all have. How can you forget your gun when you're going out to catch a criminal? Well, wouldn't you at one time or another? The roster of characters is also developing and that's turning into a strength, as well. Looking forward to more time with Stephanie and her unlikely adventures. ( )
  TerriBooks | Apr 28, 2012 |
Sadly, this is where the series started to drift down hill a little. I still got some great laughs, but it took longer to get to that point and Stephanie's attempts to capture her FTA's just seem annoying rather than funny. ( )
  macjest | Mar 6, 2012 |
Stephanie is the pariah of the neighborhood as she tries to track down everyone's favorite "Uncle Mo." In her usual way, she soon stumbles into more than she had bargained for. More violence, "People keep shooting at me!" More confusion, Morelli is treating her like a sister, and more pain, Ranger has her up and running every morning to get in shape. Full of fun and charm, not the most difficult mystery to solve, but fun to read anyway. More explicit language and graphic sex than I'm comfortable with, I put up with them because Stephanie feels very real and I like being around her. ( )
  MrsLee | Jan 9, 2012 |
As with any Stephanie Plum book this one is full of humor, and mystery. Stephanie is on her biggest case yet local favorite Moe who owns the local candy store is FTA, and it's up to Stephanie to find him. As Stephanie tries to find him against the angst of neighbors who love Moe the candy store owner, the bodies begin to pile up. For a while I thought Moe was behind the murders but was surprised with the ending. What a great book! ( )
  CommunityBookstop | Nov 23, 2011 |
I have several Evanovich and I tend to pick one up only when I'm in the particular mood. I can give or take the Stephanie Plum series -- the plot lines are a little over-the-top ridiculous, but they're good for a laugh if you don't take things too seriously. I actually found myself quite into this one about halfway through -- more so than some of the others I've read. Although contrary to the opinions of other readers, I find the character of Lula somewhat annoying. However, I loved the sexual tension between Stephanie & Morelli in this one. That part, at least, was believable. ( )
2 vote indygo88 | Nov 17, 2011 |
This series just keeps getting better and better. Janet Evanovich has so much spunk and I love it. This book in particular had me laughing out loud. I'm really enjoying the fact that Lula is becoming more involved. Her character is hilarious! The red scarf tied to the dead man's feet sticking out from the trunk of a car just about had me rolling on the floor laughing. Kudos to Evanovich for coming up with these insane scenarios. Definitely looking forward to reading Four to Score. ( )
  jshepherd929 | Nov 17, 2011 |
This story is about a bounty hunter named stephanie who tries to bring in Kenny Manusco, a man who shot his friend in the knee.Morelli a police officer is also tring to find kenny. Stephani and Morelli begin working together but their intentions are very different. Stepanies Grandma enjoys going to funerals. stephanie and grandma relise that kenny's friend works there. Morelli and stepanie discover that kenny, the man working at the funeral home, and the man that got shot were all working together and selling army weopons in caskets.At the end grandma captures Kenny in the funeral home, but he escapes. ( )
  Talje.thoe2363 | Oct 27, 2011 |
Review posted here: http://offbeatvagabond.blogspot.com/2011/09/book-review-three-to-get-deadly.html

Stephanie Plum has only been a bounty hunter for 5 months, but she has already earned herself a reputation as trouble magnet. But the pressure is really on for her now since she has to arrest the town’s saint, Moses (Uncle Mo). He has been Trenton’s Candy Man, owns his own shop that sells candy and ice cream to the kids and it is even known as a safe place for them to hang out. But what is supposed to be a simple bust on minor charge (carrying concealed) soon becomes explosive for Plum when Uncle Mo is beginning to look less and less like the town saint. But that doesn’t stop Uncle Mo’s supporters from showing Plum how much they don’t want Mo gone and this puts Plum in even more danger than she thought.

Oh, how much I love this series. Again, I so regret how long it took for me to start it. I am not sure I would classify this as Chick Lit or not, but it is something I think both men and women will find entertaining. Plum is still Plum, always in the wrong place at the right time (you read that right). I love how her strange hunches send her to the correct places, even though what occurs isn’t the best of situations, it helps. I love how crazy things get. Everything seems so normal and BAM, Plum is surrounded by dead bodies, drug dealers, bullets, and a rocket launcher. Yes, a rocket launcher!

I got the abridged version again, but in this one there wasn’t much of Grandma Mazur which is greatly disappointing, but we do get more Lula. I really loved her. Adding more of her made up for not having a lot of Mazur (still wanted her though). She becomes Plum’s unwanted sidekick, but she was loads of fun. I couldn’t stop cracking up at the amount of things she would say to and about the criminals they needed to bust. One of my favorite scenes was when they had to catch some kid working at the mall. The fight between him and Plum/Lula was hilarious. Seeing two chicks having mustard squirted on them and trying to take down a guy in a chicken suit is just priceless.

We also meet some of Lula’s interesting friends who might be crazier than she is, but made this even funnier to listen to. And of course, there is Joe Morelli, but he is acting surprisingly weird around Plum. He has been after her since the beginning, but now he is acting like they are just buddies. This leads to some sexy and once again very frustrating scenes. Why Evanovich do you continue to tease us? As much as I enjoy Morelli, I am most curious about the character Ranger though. Something quite sexy about him, he definitely screams alpha and I want more. We are definitely going to see more of him.

Don’t have much more to say without spoiling things. This book was great. This series is yet to disappoint. I can’t possibly put it down. If you haven’t started it, you must. No way can you get bored with this series. Going on ridiculous chases with some of the most unusual characters ever, plus the loads of laughs, this is a definite hit. ( )
  harleyquinn0887 | Sep 12, 2011 |
Showing 1-25 of 74 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.96)
0.5
1 2
1.5 6
2 37
2.5 11
3 333
3.5 81
4 579
4.5 26
5 410

Audible.com

Five editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,319,713 books! | Top bar: Always visible