HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

One for the Money (Movie Tie-in) (Stephanie…
Loading...

One for the Money (Movie Tie-in) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (original 1994; edition 2011)

by Janet Evanovich

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8,500278362 (3.9)163
A quick, fun, and entertaining read. I enjoyed it but there really wasn't much depth to it. Overall though, I enjoyed it and would read more of her novels. ( )
  CaitywithaC | Apr 28, 2012 |
English (274)  Spanish (2)  Swedish (1)  All languages (277)
Showing 1-25 of 274 (next | show all)
This really is a perfect book for its type. We have a plucky heroine, who takes up bounty hunting as a way to cover the bills after she looses her job. She is funny, but not over the top. The other characters are equally well written. The plot is both over the top, but makes sense. All the bits and pieces come together - its a tightly written book. It even manages to get a bit of social commentary in, without being preachy.

Is it perfect? no. I found the tension to between Stephanie and Morelli a bit annoying - at times, it felt off. However this is a minor point for a book like this. When you want a easy book to read that moves quickly, isn't too serious, but isn't silly - this is a perfect book for you. ( )
  TheDivineOomba | Aug 16, 2015 |
This was an audio book I listened to while exercising in the morning. It was entertaining not just for the storyline but also for the flashbacks it gave me to pre-social media society! ( )
  mullgirl | Jun 8, 2015 |
THIS WAS GOD AWFUL. I didn't even finish it. Not only was it poorly written, but Stephanie Plum is a horrible character. UGH.
  katherineemilysmith | May 4, 2015 |
After the movie (I loved it), I wanted to read the books. I was half happy and half disappointed (to be fair the first few books were better than the rest - I've ready 17 or 18). The writing isn't anything special but there is banter and wit. I love her grandma, and the hookers, and some other random side characters and that and the witty moments kept me coming back for more 17 sometimes.

THIS BOOK: One For The Money
The main character is out of a job and becomes a bounty hunter to make ends meet. She is understandably inept at her new job, but she keeps trying and gets the job done (with some help, now and then).

The books to fallow:
By the time of the 5th book or so you would think she would start to get the hang of her job or get a new one - nope. At a certain point she is just a pretty woman of 30 who can't pick from 2 men (or choose to move on from both), who is bad at her job, and relies on luck and the men in her life to save her from dying or failing.

So why do I keep reading? In spite of how annoying she is, and how she is hopelessly in love with 2 mildly mentally abusive men? Despite all half attractive or good guys being over 6 ft tall for some reason and all the other men are taken or ugly? The reason is the supporting crazy characters, and the fading wit. ( )
  mlg11031112 | Apr 10, 2015 |
I will admit, this is the first Janet Evanovich book I've ever read. She's a very prolific and popular author, I've just never gotten around to checking her out because I wasn't sure if she would be my cup of tea. While I enjoyed One for the Money, I don't know how soon I will pick the rest of the series. They are light, fluffy fun reads, perfect for airports or the beach. This series focuses on Stephanie Plum, a young woman who, while out of luck and out of money, joins her cousin's bail bonds business and tracks down clients who have skipped out of their court hearings. Stephanie learns the hard way that there is a lot more to becoming an apprehension agent. She quickly finds herself wrapped up in a case bigger than she ever could have imagined, but deals with her ridiculous problems with wit and humor. A nice, easy, read. ( )
  ecataldi | Mar 24, 2015 |
A very fun book. There are so many crazy, fucked up characters in this book, its just awesome. I guess, what makes it more interesting to me, is that I know fucked up people like this. They really exist, and I hate them so much. They make for great conflict though, which is what every good story needs.

This story is about Stephanie Plum, who ends up going to work as a bounty hunter for her shady bail bondsman cousin. Of course, Steph doesn't know how to use a gun. She's just a stupid Jersey girl, right? But no, she turns out to be quite adept in picking up the trade. Albeit in a bumbling bimbo sort of way.

Then there's the sexy man-hunter bounty hunter that helps her out from time to time. You know she wants to fuck him, but of course he just brushes her off, which just makes you want the coupling even more. Then there's her old high school boyfriend, who's a cop now, and helps her catch bad guys from time to time. Oh, and they're also casual fuck buddies. I probably just spoiled the whole fucking book for you now, but it's still worth a read. It's quite the fun romp. ( )
  gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
Finally started the adventure of Stephanie Plum, and it did not disappoint. Stephanie is a wonderful character with a lot of flaws that just make you giggle. Somehow you can see yourself getting into the shenanigans that she gets into. Looking forward to the rest of the series. ( )
  Ahnya | Feb 12, 2015 |
I loved this book. Witty and charming - and kept me on the edge of the seat. A real page turner. ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
The first volume in Janet Evanovich's ridiculously popular Stephanie Plum series. In this initial installment our hero, desperate for cash after losing her job, turns to her cousin Vinne the bail bondsman for employment, thus embarking on her new career as a bounty hunter, a job for which she is woefully unequipped. And then it turns out that her first target is a man she had a one-night (or, more accurately, one-hour) stand with in high school, and that he's determined not to get caught until he's proved himself innocent.

This series was recommended to me as sheer brain candy, and that's probably about right. It's a quick, easy, but not particularly impressive or memorable read that worked fairly nicely as a palate cleanser between more serious books. I will say that although there are some lighthearted aspects to it -- Plum's family are pure comic relief, for instance -- overall it was less of a fun romp than I was expecting. There's a general air of sleaziness about the whole thing, and it features some very dark elements of sexual violence.

If I hadn't already picked up most of the rest of this series at a library sale, I'm not sure if I'd bother seeking out the next one, but since I have, I'll continue on with it the next time I want something this particular variety of mindless. ( )
1 vote bragan | Jan 21, 2015 |
Stephanie's first assignment as bail bondsman: nail Joe Morelli, a former vice cop on the run from a charge of murder one. Morelli is also the irresistible macho pig who took Stephanie’s virginity at age sixteen and then wrote the details on the bathroom wall of Mario’s Sub Shop. There’s still powerful chemistry between these two, so the chase should be interesting.

It could also be extremely dangerous, especially when Stephanie encounters a heavyweight title contender who likes to play rough. Benito Ramirez is known for his brutality to women. At the very least, his obsession with Stephanie complicates her manhunt and brings terror and uncertainty into her life. At the worst, it could lead to murder.

Witty, fresh, and full of surprises,Loved Joe and Ranger and Lula, Stephanie and Grandma Mazar....the book and the movie were both great...Looking forward to reading all the Stephanie Plum Series! ( )
  JudithDCollins | Nov 26, 2014 |
After I got myself through the opening scene the book got alright. There was some touchy subjects thrown into the mix but I got through it alright and the humor helps. Ms. Evanovich knows how to mix humor with drama and it worked perfectly.

I wanted to read this book before I went to see the movie and I was glad I did. You should read it too if you plan on going to see it. I did find myself liking Ranger, on the screen and in the novel. He would be my favorite character.

Overall, this was a light, funny read, and if you can get through the first part (which may just be a sore subject for me in novels) then it's worth the read. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
My Dad recommends this series, so when I saw the first one, I picked it up and enjoyed it. Being from New Jersey probably helps that. ( )
  MikeRhode | Nov 12, 2014 |
I really liked the character and the plot was satisfying as well. I definitely want to read more in the series. The protagonist had just the right mixture of vulnerability and chutzpah. Very enjoyable ( )
  AliceAnna | Oct 22, 2014 |
A fun fast read not too complicated detective tale. The ending was kinda predictable but still entertaining. I think it was a nice start to the series and am looking forward to the next book. ( )
  grapeapril75 | Oct 18, 2014 |
This is my first Stephanie Plum and I plan to read all of them. She’s hilarious. All the characters are great, even the bad guys. I picked up her first and wanted to finish it in one haul. I think I did. I have her next two to read. ( )
  mahree | Oct 13, 2014 |
I could have sworn I had a review in for this book, but couldn't find it. It's not bad, a candy read about a bail bondsman - woman - trying to make ends meet in NJ. Stephanie is fun & pretty tough in a very believable way. It's a relaxing read, but I quickly got bored with the series. I don't think I finished the 3d book. ( )
  jimmaclachlan | Aug 18, 2014 |
One for the Money is a surprisingly plausible story about Stephanie Plum, a pretty average woman who loses her job and ends up becoming a bounty hunter. Sounds crazy, right? What makes it work is that she’s not instantly good at it. Her bumbling mishaps and witty commentary throughout are both hilarious and believable. Her strong personality and sheer stubbornness – enhanced by the fact that one of her targets, Joe Morelli, is a guy who slept with her once and never looked back – gives her the perseverance she needs to make the job work.

Although it makes sense that Stephanie wouldn’t be an awesome bounty hunter immediately, I didn’t enjoy reading about an incompetent heroine any more than I liked her being interested in the jerk who slept with her then left her. Obviously, I wasn’t too fond of our leading man either. Without having a character to really relate to, what got me into the book was the humor. Stephanie is a little clumsy and very snarky, both traits which lead to some funny moments. And her grandmother is one of the quirkiest characters I’ve read about in a long time!

The plot was surprisingly complex for something I would describe as the book equivalent of a soap opera. There’s a compelling mystery to solve and you’re given enough information that you can work on solving it. There are also a couple of side plots as Stephanie completes odd jobs to make money while pursuing Morelli. Along the way, a decent number of the supporting characters get very well developed personalities. The reason I would categorize this book as mental junk food, despite the quality of the plot, is the writing. Not only is the writing itself nothing special, the information included in the book is often more graphic than necessary. It frequently feels like the author is going out of her way to entertain the reader with unnecessary sex and violence.

However, I’ll admit it – I like junk food and I liked this book, enough that I’ve also read the second one. I did read it hoping for a little bit more though, and all I discovered is that the series seems a bit formulaic. Between the similarity in the plots of the first two books, the unlikable main characters, and the rather crass writing, I won’t be reading another. There are just too many other books for me to spend time re-reading the same only-acceptably-good book over and over again.

Originally posted on Doing Dewey. ( )
  DoingDewey | Jun 29, 2014 |
One for the Money, is the first book in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. Laugh out loud funny, the movie did not do this book justice. Trenton, New Jersey is not exactly the mecca of the well bred, but is the home to a hilarious cast of characters and the crazy adventures of Stephanie Plum. Fun summer beach read! ( )
  NicolefromCarmel | Apr 29, 2014 |
I really like the light, humorous tone in these books, coupled with some great action and intrigue. Great light reading. Entertaining. ( )
  linda.temple | Apr 9, 2014 |
first novel in the series, gets off to a rocky start. This introduces characters, but the series doesn't get good til 3. ( )
  ewillse | Mar 23, 2014 |
This book was fun & exciting. I'm looking forward to reading the next one! ( )
  lloyd1175 | Mar 22, 2014 |
Meh. Predictable, easy, beach reading. ( )
  steadfastreader | Mar 18, 2014 |
That was pretty good, I'm intrigued enough to continue the series ( )
  Steph1203 | Mar 14, 2014 |
Finding yourself after the loss of a job.. Inventing a new you
series ( )
  TeamDewey | Mar 13, 2014 |
first novel in the series, gets off to a rocky start. This introduces characters, but the series doesn't get good til 3. ( )
  PatienceFortitude | Mar 6, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 274 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.9)
0.5 2
1 37
1.5 4
2 115
2.5 39
3 552
3.5 145
4 857
4.5 76
5 744

Audible.com

5 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,008,784 books! | Top bar: Always visible