HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

One for the Money (Movie Tie-in) (Stephanie…
Loading...

One for the Money (Movie Tie-in) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (original 1994; edition 2011)

by Janet Evanovich

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8,356274371 (3.9)163
A quick, fun, and entertaining read. I enjoyed it but there really wasn't much depth to it. Overall though, I enjoyed it and would read more of her novels. ( )
  CaitywithaC | Apr 28, 2012 |
English (270)  Spanish (2)  Swedish (1)  All languages (273)
Showing 1-25 of 270 (next | show all)
Finally started the adventure of Stephanie Plum, and it did not disappoint. Stephanie is a wonderful character with a lot of flaws that just make you giggle. Somehow you can see yourself getting into the shenanigans that she gets into. Looking forward to the rest of the series. ( )
  Ahnya | Feb 12, 2015 |
I loved this book. Witty and charming - and kept me on the edge of the seat. A real page turner. ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
The first volume in Janet Evanovich's ridiculously popular Stephanie Plum series. In this initial installment our hero, desperate for cash after losing her job, turns to her cousin Vinne the bail bondsman for employment, thus embarking on her new career as a bounty hunter, a job for which she is woefully unequipped. And then it turns out that her first target is a man she had a one-night (or, more accurately, one-hour) stand with in high school, and that he's determined not to get caught until he's proved himself innocent.

This series was recommended to me as sheer brain candy, and that's probably about right. It's a quick, easy, but not particularly impressive or memorable read that worked fairly nicely as a palate cleanser between more serious books. I will say that although there are some lighthearted aspects to it -- Plum's family are pure comic relief, for instance -- overall it was less of a fun romp than I was expecting. There's a general air of sleaziness about the whole thing, and it features some very dark elements of sexual violence.

If I hadn't already picked up most of the rest of this series at a library sale, I'm not sure if I'd bother seeking out the next one, but since I have, I'll continue on with it the next time I want something this particular variety of mindless. ( )
  bragan | Jan 21, 2015 |
Stephanie's first assignment as bail bondsman: nail Joe Morelli, a former vice cop on the run from a charge of murder one. Morelli is also the irresistible macho pig who took Stephanie’s virginity at age sixteen and then wrote the details on the bathroom wall of Mario’s Sub Shop. There’s still powerful chemistry between these two, so the chase should be interesting.

It could also be extremely dangerous, especially when Stephanie encounters a heavyweight title contender who likes to play rough. Benito Ramirez is known for his brutality to women. At the very least, his obsession with Stephanie complicates her manhunt and brings terror and uncertainty into her life. At the worst, it could lead to murder.

Witty, fresh, and full of surprises,Loved Joe and Ranger and Lula, Stephanie and Grandma Mazar....the book and the movie were both great...Looking forward to reading all the Stephanie Plum Series! ( )
  JudithDCollins | Nov 26, 2014 |
After I got myself through the opening scene the book got alright. There was some touchy subjects thrown into the mix but I got through it alright and the humor helps. Ms. Evanovich knows how to mix humor with drama and it worked perfectly.

I wanted to read this book before I went to see the movie and I was glad I did. You should read it too if you plan on going to see it. I did find myself liking Ranger, on the screen and in the novel. He would be my favorite character.

Overall, this was a light, funny read, and if you can get through the first part (which may just be a sore subject for me in novels) then it's worth the read. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
My Dad recommends this series, so when I saw the first one, I picked it up and enjoyed it. Being from New Jersey probably helps that. ( )
  MikeRhode | Nov 12, 2014 |
I really liked the character and the plot was satisfying as well. I definitely want to read more in the series. The protagonist had just the right mixture of vulnerability and chutzpah. Very enjoyable ( )
  AliceAnna | Oct 22, 2014 |
A fun fast read not too complicated detective tale. The ending was kinda predictable but still entertaining. I think it was a nice start to the series and am looking forward to the next book. ( )
  grapeapril75 | Oct 18, 2014 |
This is my first Stephanie Plum and I plan to read all of them. She’s hilarious. All the characters are great, even the bad guys. I picked up her first and wanted to finish it in one haul. I think I did. I have her next two to read. ( )
  mahree | Oct 13, 2014 |
I could have sworn I had a review in for this book, but couldn't find it. It's not bad, a candy read about a bail bondsman - woman - trying to make ends meet in NJ. Stephanie is fun & pretty tough in a very believable way. It's a relaxing read, but I quickly got bored with the series. I don't think I finished the 3d book. ( )
  jimmaclachlan | Aug 18, 2014 |
One for the Money is a surprisingly plausible story about Stephanie Plum, a pretty average woman who loses her job and ends up becoming a bounty hunter. Sounds crazy, right? What makes it work is that she’s not instantly good at it. Her bumbling mishaps and witty commentary throughout are both hilarious and believable. Her strong personality and sheer stubbornness – enhanced by the fact that one of her targets, Joe Morelli, is a guy who slept with her once and never looked back – gives her the perseverance she needs to make the job work.

Although it makes sense that Stephanie wouldn’t be an awesome bounty hunter immediately, I didn’t enjoy reading about an incompetent heroine any more than I liked her being interested in the jerk who slept with her then left her. Obviously, I wasn’t too fond of our leading man either. Without having a character to really relate to, what got me into the book was the humor. Stephanie is a little clumsy and very snarky, both traits which lead to some funny moments. And her grandmother is one of the quirkiest characters I’ve read about in a long time!

The plot was surprisingly complex for something I would describe as the book equivalent of a soap opera. There’s a compelling mystery to solve and you’re given enough information that you can work on solving it. There are also a couple of side plots as Stephanie completes odd jobs to make money while pursuing Morelli. Along the way, a decent number of the supporting characters get very well developed personalities. The reason I would categorize this book as mental junk food, despite the quality of the plot, is the writing. Not only is the writing itself nothing special, the information included in the book is often more graphic than necessary. It frequently feels like the author is going out of her way to entertain the reader with unnecessary sex and violence.

However, I’ll admit it – I like junk food and I liked this book, enough that I’ve also read the second one. I did read it hoping for a little bit more though, and all I discovered is that the series seems a bit formulaic. Between the similarity in the plots of the first two books, the unlikable main characters, and the rather crass writing, I won’t be reading another. There are just too many other books for me to spend time re-reading the same only-acceptably-good book over and over again.

Originally posted on Doing Dewey. ( )
  DoingDewey | Jun 29, 2014 |
One for the Money, is the first book in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. Laugh out loud funny, the movie did not do this book justice. Trenton, New Jersey is not exactly the mecca of the well bred, but is the home to a hilarious cast of characters and the crazy adventures of Stephanie Plum. Fun summer beach read! ( )
  NicolefromCarmel | Apr 29, 2014 |
I really like the light, humorous tone in these books, coupled with some great action and intrigue. Great light reading. Entertaining. ( )
  linda.temple | Apr 9, 2014 |
first novel in the series, gets off to a rocky start. This introduces characters, but the series doesn't get good til 3. ( )
  ewillse | Mar 23, 2014 |
This book was fun & exciting. I'm looking forward to reading the next one! ( )
  lloyd1175 | Mar 22, 2014 |
Meh. Predictable, easy, beach reading. ( )
  steadfastreader | Mar 18, 2014 |
That was pretty good, I'm intrigued enough to continue the series ( )
  Steph1203 | Mar 14, 2014 |
Finding yourself after the loss of a job.. Inventing a new you
series ( )
  TeamDewey | Mar 13, 2014 |
first novel in the series, gets off to a rocky start. This introduces characters, but the series doesn't get good til 3. ( )
  PatienceFortitude | Mar 6, 2014 |
first novel in the series, gets off to a rocky start. This introduces characters, but the series doesn't get good til 3. ( )
  PatienceFortitude | Mar 6, 2014 |
The series of unfortunate events leading to a dismal finale and big reveal of the mystery in this fake cozy mystery book, well, they weren't contributive to the overall sheen of the book. Let me explain. It's very difficult - I've come to that conclusion after reading this book - to make something exciting happen in a non magical world in fiction. Not if your name isn't Margaret Mitchell or Agatha Christie. So you've got limited talent as a writer, and you're writing about a bumbling heroine devoid of luck. It's difficult to transcend that setting. It's like you're fighting against gravity. Jumping can only take you so far. That's what I felt while reading this book. That's why the rating is 2/5. Everything is mundane and the author could not upset the tone of her book by pitching in an unearthly event. She tried momentarily. Her staunchest fans will differ with me if she succeeded, let's leave it at that. ( )
  Jiraiya | Feb 26, 2014 |
One for the money is a page turner that I just couldn't put down...I am ready to goe out and get the whole Stephanie Plum series! ( )
  redheadish | Feb 17, 2014 |
I was disappointed in the reader. (Maybe it was the direction, but there were long pauses between sentences that drove me crazy.) I can kind of see the attraction, but Stephanie Plum is not for me. There were some very funny moments. The story wasn't believable for me. Most mysteries aren't really terribly believable, but they are close enough to reality that I can suspend my disbelief. With this one I kept being jerked out of the story as I thought, "That is ridiculous!"
( )
  njcur | Feb 13, 2014 |
Another entertaining read, disposable but well-written. The ending wrapped things up just a little bit too perfectly, with the villain explaining his nefarious plan in detail while a recording device was present, but... nobody's perfect, y'know? ( )
  unsquare | Feb 6, 2014 |
I have been waiting to read the Stephanie Plum series, and decided to start with the first. I enjoy Janet Evanovich's writing style, a mix of thrills, mystery, and humor. This novel, perhaps because it was the first in a series, started slowly... but once into the meat of the story, it was an enjoyable read. And who can beat reading about Trenton, NJ, in the early 90s. ( )
  Randall.Hansen | Jan 28, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 270 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.9)
0.5 2
1 37
1.5 4
2 112
2.5 39
3 538
3.5 145
4 834
4.5 77
5 732

Audible.com

5 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,749,451 books! | Top bar: Always visible