HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Babymouse, Cupcake Tycoon by Jennifer L.…
Loading...

Babymouse, Cupcake Tycoon (2010)

by Jennifer L. Holm

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1087111,760 (4.09)1
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 7 (next | show all)
In the newest Babymouse book, it's time to tackle that most beloved of school-related projects: fundraising. After Babymouse floods the library (by accident of course) the school needs to do a fundraiser to replace the damaged books. The fundraiser will be selling cupcakes, and the winner will get a special prize. Can Babymouse beat Felicia and get the prize? ( )
  scote23 | Mar 30, 2013 |
Summary: This graphic novel is based around a mouse who has a rich fantasy/imagination. She also seems to be quite clumsy. During one of her fantasies while looking for a book to read in her school library, she manages to break a water wipe. It floods the whole library and ruins the books. As a book lover, she is mortified not to mention embarrassed for having caused it. Her school holds a fundraiser to replace the books. Her history with being a door to door salesperson for fundraising efforts shows that shes not very good at it. Whoever sells the most wins a mystery prize. They decide to sell cupcakes, which happens to be one of her most favorite things. Her efforts at first don't go very well but in the end she discovers that when she stops focusing on her greediness of wanting to win the prize, and instead on her love of books, she out sells everyone.

Personal Reaction: I really like this book. I like her rich fantasy life, and her love of cupcakes. It reminds me of my oldest daughter. I also like that there is a lesson in it with doing things for the right reasons, and not the wrong ones.

Classroom Extension: I would ask the kids to draw a graphic novel of one or two pages related to a cartoon mouse and or cupcakes in some way.

Have a classroom discussion of fun ideas for fundraisers and talk about why we do fundraisers. ( )
  MistyRobinson | Nov 10, 2012 |
VOYA: 4Q, 4P Babymouse struggles to sell the most cupcakes for a library fundraiser in this graphic novel aimed at younger readers.
  ekq | Apr 20, 2012 |
4Q
5P
  Sara_Killough | Apr 19, 2012 |
This is a cute book about a girl/mouse called babymouse who destroys all the books in the library on accident. the school is going to host a fundraiser , only she hates fundraisers because she always looses. this time, they are selling cupcakes, her favorite! she is so excited, sells the most, and ends up getting a lame plaque that even has her name spelled wrong on it.
  lam032 | Apr 7, 2011 |
Showing 1-5 of 7 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Babymouse, along with the whole school, participates in a fundraiser after she accidentally wrecks the library. Babymouse tries and tries, but can't quite seem to sell any cupcakes until a little luck rolls her way.
Babymouse is a fun read, obviously directed to elementary school girls. Her constant daydreaming will no doubt be familiar to a lot of readers, as will her honest efforts for everything to turn out right at the end.
I'm not sure how I would use this in a classroom lesson, but it would be a great book to help encourage independent reading in or out of class.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 037586573X, Paperback)

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

It's champagne wishes and cupcake dreams for Babymouse! The school library is having a fund-raiser, and Babymouse is determined to raise the most money and WIN the GRAND PRIZE. Or . . . er, to help the school! The competition is fierce, but Babymouse will stop at nothing to get what she wants, even if it means outselling every last kid in school . . . including her nefarious nemesis, Felicia Furrypaws. The claws are out and the race is on in Cupcake Tycoon—the absolutely PRICELESS 13th installment of the Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:33:10 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

When her school library holds a fundraiser, the imaginative Babymouse is determined to sell the most cupcakes and win the grand prize.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
24 wanted1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.09)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 5
3.5 1
4 5
4.5 1
5 9

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,115,514 books! | Top bar: Always visible