HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Foundling by D. M. Cornish
Loading...

Foundling (2006)

by D. M. Cornish

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Monster Blood Tattoo (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9994612,353 (3.91)73
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 73 mentions

English (45)  Swedish (1)  All languages (46)
Showing 1-5 of 45 (next | show all)
Listened to on CD with an effective narrator.

The story is absorbing with careful, almost Dickensian, attention to details of setting and character. Cornish departs from Dickens in depicting a menacing alternate world, a somewhat feckless but likeable protagonist and an adventure-filled plot. Might appeal to readers who liked Oppel's "Skybreaker" or Westerfeld's "Leviathan". ( )
  msmilton | Jul 18, 2018 |
Listened to on CD with an effective narrator.

The story is absorbing with careful, almost Dickensian, attention to details of setting and character. Cornish departs from Dickens in depicting a menacing alternate world, a somewhat feckless but likeable protagonist and an adventure-filled plot. Might appeal to readers who liked Oppel's "Skybreaker" or Westerfeld's "Leviathan". ( )
  msmilton | Jul 18, 2018 |
Rosamund is a foundling, a stray child, who has been raised in a foundlingery (an orphanage, of sorts) to become a sailor, but is instead hire out as a lamplighter. This first book in the Monster Blood Tattoo series tells the story of his adventure-filled journey from the orphanage to his new job, during which he meets monsters, a monster-fighter, wicked sailors, a brave postman, and a scary and mysterious guy who wears a box on his head.
The world-building in this first book is amazing and so intricate - so much so that there's an extensive glossary and set of appendices at the back to help the reader navigate so much new information. I like Rosamund a great deal, and I'll definitely come back to the series to learn more about the world Cornish has created. ( )
  electrascaife | Jul 2, 2018 |
Enjoyable start. I like the huge chunk of information at the back, too. ( )
  SMBrick | Feb 25, 2018 |
4.79 stars! I can't give it a full five because- it wasn't an absolute page turner. I was able to set this book down quite a few times. BUT - I kept picking it back up! Usually if I can't finish a book in 2 or 3 settings, it's just not going to happen. But it took me quite a few days to finish! I already have the second one and I can't wait to get started. ( )
  mollypitchermary | Oct 11, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 45 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (3 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
D. M. Cornishprimary authorall editionscalculated
Lindgren, NilleTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Chapter 1:

foundling (noun) also wastrel. Stray people, usually children, found without a home or shelter on the streets of cities or even, amazingly, wandering exposed in the wilds. The usual destinations for such orphaned children are workhouses, mills, or the mines, although a fortunate few may find their way to a foundlingery. Such a place can care for a small number of foundlings and wastrels, fitting them for a more productive life and sparing them the agonies of harder labor.
Dedication
For Will and Mandii,
who were the first to believe
First words
Rossamünd was a boy with a girl's name.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
Rossamünd, a young boy with a girl’s name, has never known his parents, and has lived his entire life at Madame Opera’s Estimable Marine Society for Foundling Boys and Girls, shielded from the horrors of the outside world. When he comes of age, however, a mysterious leer named Mr Sebastipole offers him a job as a lamplighter along the monster-fraught Wormway, far to the south. With his trusty almanac to guide him, Rossamünd must journey to High Vesting in the state of Brandenbrass, down the black waters of the Humour river, led by mysterious and sinister companions that are more often foe than friend. The outside world is a terrible, dangerous place for a young Foundling boy.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0142409138, Paperback)

Meet Rossamünd?a foundling, a boy with a girl?s name who is about to begin a dangerous life in the service of the Emperor of the Half-Continent. What starts as a simple journey becomes a dangerous and complicated set of battles and decisions. Humans, monsters, unearthly creatures . . . who among these can Rossamünd trust? D. M. Cornish has created an entirely original world, grounded in his own deft, classically influenced illustrations. Foundling is a magic-laced, Dickensian adventure that will transport the reader.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:20:44 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

Having grown up in a home for foundlings and possessing a girl's name, Rossamünd sets out to report to his new job as a lamplighter and has several adventures along the way as he meets people and monsters who are more complicated that he previously thought. Includes glossaries and maps.… (more)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.91)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 15
2.5 5
3 33
3.5 17
4 84
4.5 10
5 57

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 129,030,435 books! | Top bar: Always visible