HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

(ROOM)) by Donoghue,…
Loading...

(ROOM)) by Donoghue, Emma(Author)Hardcover{Room} on 13-Sep-2010 (original 2010; edition 2010)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
8,182692382 (4.05)1 / 823
Because this book is told from Jack's perspective, it isn't disturbing as some might believe, considering the content. I'd recommend it because it goes beyond the time frame you'd expect a book about a kidnapping to go - further than all the Dateline specials go. Without giving away what happens in the book, I would simply say the characters are believable and you feel empathetic towards them with all of the connections the author makes you feel. I read this book in 2 days but there were some parts where I simply and literally could NOT put the book down. I was late for a lunch date because I couldn't stop reading! ( )
  lisifer | Sep 2, 2011 |
English (665)  Dutch (10)  Spanish (5)  German (5)  Danish (2)  Finnish (2)  Swedish (2)  French (1)  All languages (692)
Showing 1-25 of 665 (next | show all)
Really unique book written from a 5 year old's point of view. It gets a little Repetitive at times but you get through it easy enough. At least two parts will have your heart thumping and you really have no idea how things will turn out. I think it might be a tad over-rated with a lot of 5 star ratings on Amazon but I give it a solid 3 1/5. ( )
  Fearshop | Aug 20, 2015 |
This is the story of a young woman, kidnapped at age 19 and kept for seven years in a locked "room" with no contact with the outside world. She has a baby in this room and the entire story is told from his point of view as he reaches his fifth birthday, never having left the "Room." Disturbing, but I really liked it. What if you thought that the entire world was just one Room???????? ( )
  TheresaCIncinnati | Aug 17, 2015 |
I read this for the second time for our book club. It was just as good the second time around! ( )
  TheresaCIncinnati | Aug 17, 2015 |
Wow. Read this book. seriously, you must read this book. ( )
  PiperUp | Aug 14, 2015 |


I'm on the fence on this one. The story was interesting but the 5 yr old narration did not come off well. It was too forced and not consistent. ( )
  nurse73 | Aug 14, 2015 |
I really enjoyed this book. I really liked the perspective of the boy and all the things his mother did to keep him and herself sane while they were being held captive. I would recommend it. ( )
  klburnside | Aug 11, 2015 |
WOW! I have had this book stashed away for who knows how long - years, maybe - but recently, I was cleaning off my bookshelves and decided I needed to read it or get rid of it. I am happy I chose to read it! This has proven to be one of the most thought provoking books I have read in a while. I took my time reading, and digesting, and reading, and digesting. Many nights, I couldn't get what I read out of my head. There were deep, dark, demented parts that I had to reason out. I found the elements truly disturbing, possibly due largely to the fact that the story was told from the innocent and naive perspective of a five year old boy. Seeing the events from a childs point of view increased my immense appreciation for this amazing book! ( )
  kimg77 | Jul 31, 2015 |
One of only 3 books I've ever thought about not finishing. I think there were 2 reasons for this thought. First the syntax of the 5-year-old narrator and second, the darkness of this fictional story that so imitated life. Jack spends his entire 5 years in Room - home to him and prison to abducted Ma. Tough subject matter. That said, the author did an amazing job of living in the mind of a 5-year-old. ( )
  Kathy_Dyer | Jul 27, 2015 |
Because the reader is thrown into the story from the first sentence it is difficult to give a synopsis of the story without screaming “caution – spoiler alert”. “Room” is home to 5 year old Jack and his Ma. “Room” is all Jack knows except for his friends on television and the other “planets” he sees there. Old Nick lives outside and is the bringer of all things … not all things are good.

This story is told in Jack’s five year old voice, which has the dual effect of making the story a little more palpable considering the subject matter and at the same time, a little more frightening in his innocence. Jack’s voice is so sincere “Room” almost becomes a character in the book. Ms. Donoghue examines both the evil in the world today and the resiliency of the human spirit to overcome it by whatever means necessary. Ma is a quiet hero written with rough around the edges tenderness. Jack’s voice stayed with me for a long time after I closed the covers of this book.
( )
  ChristineEllei | Jul 14, 2015 |
The subject matter is pretty freaky. The author does an excellent job of imagining a life in captivity, as told by a very young child. ( )
  Phyllis.Mann | Jul 13, 2015 |
When I heard how Room is narrated by a 5 year old boy, I first thought it was going to get annoying and be very basic, but surprisingly it was well written and didn't break character. Yes, its from a 5 year olds perspective, but you still learn a lot about his Ma and what happened to her, as well as have a connection with Jack and understand his thought process in something most people have never experienced. You learn so much background and setting not by being told directly when it happened and how the Room looks, but by Jack and Ma just having normal conversations and Jacks thoughts. My only negative about this novel is Emma Donogue's attempt to trash todays society is done through Jack and his observations about the outside and how parents don't care about their kids or spend time with them, the wording and what was being said didn't sound like something a 5 year old, no matter how smart, would ever notice at that age. Overall this is a great read and makes you think what kids really notice and think about their world. ( )
  GrlIntrrptdRdng | Jun 28, 2015 |
When I heard how Room is narrated by a 5 year old boy, I first thought it was going to get annoying and be very basic, but surprisingly it was well written and didn't break character. Yes, its from a 5 year olds perspective, but you still learn a lot about his Ma and what happened to her, as well as have a connection with Jack and understand his thought process in something most people have never experienced. You learn so much background and setting not by being told directly when it happened and how the Room looks, but by Jack and Ma just having normal conversations and Jacks thoughts. My only negative about this novel is Emma Donogue's attempt to trash todays society is done through Jack and his observations about the outside and how parents don't care about their kids or spend time with them, the wording and what was being said didn't sound like something a 5 year old, no matter how smart, would ever notice at that age. Overall this is a great read and makes you think what kids really notice and think about their world. ( )
  GrlIntrrptdRdng | Jun 28, 2015 |
It's almost hard to find the words to describe how this book made me feel.
Room is the story of Jack and his Ma. It's told from Jack's POV. Jack is 5 years old and has never left Room. He and Ma have their routines, each other, and not much else. Old Nick is the bad man who keeps them locked up and brings them meager provisions on Sundays.
Jack doesn't believe that the world exists outside of Room until Ma tells him that it does. She was stolen from Outside and locked up in Room 7 years ago. What happens next is an adventure of epic proportions.
This is a story of survival, the incredible bond between mother and child, and growing up.
It absolutely broke my heart. ( )
  DanielleMD | Jun 20, 2015 |
3.5 ( )
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for the kid describing one of his moms breasts giving him creamier milk. I am 100% and advocate for breastfeeding but fuck that noise, nope. Nope nope nope. ( )
  katherineemilysmith | May 29, 2015 |
Fear, anger, relief, humor, love and hope...excellent reading. ( )
  CMiller600 | May 17, 2015 |
Room by Emma Donoghue is disturbing yet brilliant. Inspired by countless cases of children born to mothers in captivity, this book is told from the perspective of five-year-old Jack, who has lived in “Room” his entire life. But Jack isn’t alone. He lives in Room with Ma, who was kidnapped as a teen and has been held in isolation for years. It was mind boggling to imagine being confined to a room (really a backyard shed) that measures 11X11 feet.

At first, I wasn’t sure if I liked that the story is told from Jack’s point of view. But within a few chapters, I grew to love the innocent, matter-of-fact way in which he sees things. I also found it intriguing to imagine the amount of information a child would be able to soak in without outside influences or distractions and if constantly communicated with. Ma spends so much time telling Jack about things (anything and everything), so he is extremely mature for his age. Besides constantly talking to him, Ma also does her best to involve Jack in various activities. For example, they measure things, play games, exercise and read (rotating between the handful of books provided by “Old Nick”).

Approximately half of the book takes place in Room, so some of the scenes felt a bit redundant. However, I like to think that Donoghue purposely drew out the amount of time Jack and Ma spent in captivity together to stress how mind-numbing it would be for someone to be held prisoner. Maybe this wasn’t her intent, but after thinking about it that way, the repetitive scenes held new meaning for me. My heart ached a little bit more just imagining what it would be like. Day after day after day.

I’m not sure if what I’m about to say would be considered a spoiler, but if you really dislike spoilers, skip the rest of this paragraph. When Jack and Ma finally get out of Room, I wasn’t sure what to expect. A trial perhaps? Ma and Jack having to face Old Nick in court? Well, it turns out that the rest of the story is more about how Jack copes with being away from the only thing he’s ever known: Room. And let’s not forget about Ma. She has a lot of coping to do as well. Can you imagine finally being free after a decade of captivity? And can you imagine living the rest of your life with the child of your captor? You love the child, of course, but would he be a constant reminder of the time you spent locked away from the world?

If you enjoy true crime or fictional books that are inspired by horrific real-life events, then you must read this one. ( )
  KJFarnham | May 17, 2015 |
Told through the voice of a five year old boy, Jack, who has been locked in a garden shed with his mother his entire life, this novel is haunting and sincere. He had been told by his mother, who has been locked in the room for seven years, that everything on television is fake. He is unaware of the true size of the world and all that exists outside of the room. Their supplies are delivered by their captor, a man known only as “Old Nick” who visits at night to rape Jack’s mother while Jack hides in a wardrobe. Jack begins to put some of the pieces together, though, and his mother decides to tell him the truth.

One day soon after he begins to learn about the world outside, Jack and his mother hatch a plan to escape the room. Jack fakes an illness, pretends to be dead, gets rolled into a rug, and when Old Nick puts the rug with Jack in it into the back of his truck to dispose of the body, Jack jumps out the truck and runs for help. The plan works, Jack and his mother are freed, and they are placed in a psychiatric clinic for treatment.

Jack and his mother must both cope in their individual ways with life on the outside. Jack has to learn things like walking down stairs and feeling overwhelmed by the loud and busy world. Jack’s mother must cope with the trauma she experienced, her feelings of inadequacy as a mother, unwanted fame, and depression that has visited her on and off throughout her life.

After Jack’s mother overdoses on pills, Jack goes to live with his grandmother while his mother recovers. He gets stronger and more courageous each day as he learns about the world and how it works. Jack’s mother is released in a few weeks, and they move together to an apartment.

The most endearing feature of the story is Jack’s perception of the room he was locked in for five years. While his mother sees it for its horror, Jack sees it as his childhood. It was all he knew in life, and he loved it there because it was all he knew. All he needed in life was the love of his mother, and they loved each other very much. Jack was the only thing that kept his mother going. The novel ends with a visit back to the room so that Jack and his mother could have some closure with that part of their lives.

I read this book very quickly; the pace stopped me from wanting to put it down. The sweetness of Jack, the tragedy of the circumstances, and the love between Jack and his mother were captivating. Jack’s perspective on the world colored by his time in the room is unique, childish, and moving.
  Carlie | May 6, 2015 |
A very interesting book that I would never have picked up for myself, but was given to me at one time, and sat unread on my shelves for quite a while.
I was intrigued when I finally picked it up; written from the child's point of view, it took me a bit of time to figure out what's going on. I found it very poignant and thought the child's voice was spot on. It was quite heartbreaking, but never annoyingly cloy, sentimental or obviously designed to make you cry. ( )
  Hobbitlass | May 6, 2015 |
Got this from my library but as it only had a limited 2 week loan period (as its a popular book) i was very dubious that I would be able to finish it in time as I never seem to find enough time to read. However i have just finished it on the day it is due back probably because I found myself reading it at every spare moment. I know some people have said they found the narration style of the child very annoying but I found it very engaging. I must admit that I found the second part of the novel more interesting than the first part.
I found that it was very interesting the way the child saw everything in the world outside 'room' when they escape. It made me really think about how we see the world. I think that Emma Donoghue was very clever in the way she handled both the boys and the mothers reactions to the outside world, and the sense of protection that their relationship and the there time inside 'room' gave them.I must admit that right up to the end i did think that the mother may kill herself but the way the boys reactions to the outside world were written made me think about all the things that we do take for granted because they have always been there.
Not a great literary classic but very interesting all the same. ( )
  WWDG | May 6, 2015 |
A lot of drama and great literature, I do wish the perspectives could have flipped between Ma and Jack. The 5-year old perspective had me confused at some points and it took me 40 pages to figure out that "some" is breastmilk. ( )
  JanJanFreeman | May 5, 2015 |
fin beskrivelse af indespærrings psykologiske følger
  Logopedia | May 1, 2015 |
I'm a slow reader, and if there is ever an instance when I can read a physical book (not audio) in less than a week, that is saying something. Everybody should read this book. Yes, there are times it makes you angry. There were times I wanted to throw the stupid book across the room. But I couldn't. I had to keep reading. And if a book has the power to arose such powerful emotions, I think that's rather amazing. It's told from the perspective of a five year old, and at first I thought it would soon get annoying, but that was not the case at all. She actually pulls it off surprisingly well and I grew to love the boy. Another thing: I knew the premise of the book ahead of time, but I didn't expect the tension to be so high that I couldn't put it down. There was a night that it was getting late and I had to keep reading, but then I knew things could only get worse--so as curious as I was, I had to bookmark it and go to bed. The second half of the book was slower, but I found I was glad for it. It's one of those few that I want to read again someday. ( )
  KR_Patterson | Apr 28, 2015 |
This is the story about a horrendous situation, told by an innocent 5 year old. The book manages to be horrifying and heartwarming; it is a truly unusual book. ( )
  martensgirl | Apr 22, 2015 |
The story of the abduction and imprisonment of a young college student, told from the point of view of the 5 year old child who has been born as a result of these crimes. Although Jack has a precocious vocabulary, his syntax is quirky and his sensory experience severely limited, resulting in a narrative which can be challenging to follow at times. I was reminded of [b:The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time|1618|The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time |Mark Haddon|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1255690510s/1618.jpg|4259809] by Mark Haddon, a novel told from the point of view of an autistic teenager (if you liked that, you will probably like this). I had a bit of trouble getting into this book, but after the first chapter or so, I didn't want to put it down. The imagery is disturbing and vivid, yet the horrifying circumstances are filtered through the mind of Jack, who is incapable of recognizing that the existence he and his mother share is aberrant and anomalous. Most thought provoking. ( )
  LizHD | Mar 25, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 665 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5 8
1 39
1.5 5
2 115
2.5 39
3 423
3.5 196
4 1231
4.5 288
5 1001

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 98,995,622 books! | Top bar: Always visible