HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

(ROOM)) by Donoghue,…
Loading...

(ROOM)) by Donoghue, Emma(Author)Hardcover{Room} on 13-Sep-2010 (original 2010; edition 2010)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
8,920765336 (4.05)1 / 852
Because this book is told from Jack's perspective, it isn't disturbing as some might believe, considering the content. I'd recommend it because it goes beyond the time frame you'd expect a book about a kidnapping to go - further than all the Dateline specials go. Without giving away what happens in the book, I would simply say the characters are believable and you feel empathetic towards them with all of the connections the author makes you feel. I read this book in 2 days but there were some parts where I simply and literally could NOT put the book down. I was late for a lunch date because I couldn't stop reading! ( )
  lisifer | Sep 2, 2011 |
English (737)  Dutch (10)  Spanish (5)  German (5)  Danish (2)  Finnish (2)  Swedish (2)  French (1)  All languages (764)
Showing 1-25 of 737 (next | show all)
Ok book. Story of life in, escape from, then consequences of living trapped in a room 11' X 11' square. The interesting part is that it's told through the eyes and voice of a 5 year old, which gives it a quirky some interesting, but sometimes facile bent. Sometimes it's irritatingly inconsistent - for example, a very adult observation, told in a childlike way. But overall it works. Enjoyable read (or in my case - listen!). ( )
  jvgravy | May 4, 2016 |
If I could have stayed awake long enough, I would have finished this book in one sitting. I don’t pay much attention to sensational news, so this was a completely new concept to me… and a shocking one at that. A young woman kidnapped and imprisoned in a backyard shed for seven long years; the narrator of the tale is her five-year-old son, Jack – a stranger in a strange land trying to understand his fellow humans, reminiscent of Valentine Michael Smith (Robert Heinlein) but with more heart. ( )
  memccauley6 | May 3, 2016 |
Unforgettable. ( )
  booksweremyfirstlove | Apr 25, 2016 |
The subject matter and content in the text are really written for an adult, however, the characters and plot would appeal to a teen. Emma Donoghue's novel leaves the reader thinking about the resiliency of youth, the limitless bond of parent and child, and the inaccuracy of human expectations. The use of the child narrator adds a sense of innocence regarding the situation, and keeps the reader off balance. Donoghue portrays the living arrangement of mother and son as odd, however, the lighthearted and funny voice of Jack keeps the reader from fully understanding that it is one room because the mother is a kidnapped victim. The relationship between the kidnapper and mother, though strained, also seems somewhat normal. The novel depicts a loving relationship between mother and son as they pass the days playing, reading, eating, and sleeping. When Ma begins to prepare an escape plan, the reader realizes the situation of the two main characters. Ma is somewhat unprepared for the escape plan to work and Jack is wholly unprepared for the world and freedom. The second half of the novel explores the flexibility and adaptability of youth, as Jack becomes indoctrinated in the real world and accepts changes in his life. Ma on the other hand, has difficulty coming to terms with changes in her family such as her parents divorce, and the realization that she has been traumatized. The road back to reality is much harder for Ma than Jack. This novel explores the effects of isolation and absence and the character, Ma, can be compared to the character, Gatsby. Jack and Ma can also be compared to a number of characters in Of Mice and Men. In the room, Ma teaches Jack to fear certain things for his own protection, but she does not teach Jack what to fear in the real world. This action can lead to debate about what should and should not be feared in society and connected to the theme of fear in The Crucible. ( )
  sgemmell | Apr 21, 2016 |
Both parts of the novel are compelling. The first half of the story explores the relationship of mother and son in a uniquely difficult and at times horrific circumstance. The second half deals with the aftermath - all the difficult things that follow and that weren't even thought of when the only object was escape. I liked that the story felt real - there wasn't a lot of false emotion (and maybe that is because the narrator is five and a sheltered five at that). I also really liked the second half of the novel because it highlighted the difference between Jack & Ma's experience and perspective. The only thing I found annoying was the confused sentence structure that Jack often uses. It was distracting and odd rather than true-to-life (at least in my experience with five year olds). ( )
  tjsjohanna | Apr 11, 2016 |
Prica ispricana jezikom petogodisnjaka koji je zajedno sa svojom majkom bio zatocen u Sobi...volim ovakve knjige,drugacije od drugih ( )
  ceca78 | Apr 10, 2016 |
Mixed thoughts on this one - it's a real page-turner which I read over just a couple of days. It was not quite what I expected in that only the first half is set in the 'room', the second half being readjustment to the outside world. It is a new perspective on this situation, being only from the 5 year old boys point of view, and struck home to me as I have a child the same age. The thought of being stuck in a room with her for the last 5 years is pretty terrifying even without the other stuff to be honest! So it got under my skin a bit. On the other hand I am not sure I found the child's way of speaking entirely convincing, and the escape bit was really ridiculous. ( )
  AlisonSakai | Apr 8, 2016 |
enjoyed every word of it. ( )
  sidiki | Apr 8, 2016 |
Jack, the five-year-old narrator of this tale, has spent his whole life locked in the garden shed he calls Room. His mother, held prisoner by kidnapper “Old Nick” since he lured the nineteen-year-old college student into his pickup truck seven years ago, has been his constant companion.
Ma has created a world for her son in this eleven-by-eleven foot prison, but as his curiosity and her desperation both grow, she hatches a risky plan for their escape.

In a narrative filled with shock, terror, a child’s curiosity, and a mother’s fierce love and devotion, readers will find a riveting story that is, by turns, both harrowing and inspiring. Spinning out a tale that is impossible to put aside, readers will find this story remains with them long after they’ve turned the final page.

Highly recommended. ( )
  jfe16 | Apr 7, 2016 |
This has been on my 'want to read list' for a long time. There was something about the subject-matter (I'm not sure what) that put me off. But I've read it at last and boy am I glad.
When I started, my doubts seemed to be confirmed. Wasn't it going to get very tedious being trapped inside a small room with a five year old narrator constantly struggling to explain things through the handicap of such a restricted experience of life? And yet, somehow, Emma Donoghue's pulls it off. I soon found myself suspending dis belief and accepting (and enjoying) five year old Jack's naive but often sophisticated attempts to make sense of his and his mother's life. (I'll accept her making him a highly intelligent child-savant). But the novel is more than clever narrative tricks. It makes the reader feel, touch, taste and smell the claustrophobia of the room while, at the same time, sharing Jack's perception of it as a whole world. Also, through Jack's innocent, loving eyes, we see his mother as a supreme example of human resilience.
The novel also becomes a tense thriller and, finally, is daring enough to show us our everyday world in startling new ways. ( )
  stephengoldenberg | Apr 6, 2016 |
Another book that promotes quite a bit of discussion for a book club. Hard to believe, but you can find something uplifting about how this story ends. ( )
  yvonne.sevignykaiser | Apr 2, 2016 |
Room is a book that pulled me in right from the start. It's an amazing perspective to experience, not only because it's written in the mind of a five year old boy, but because it inspires you and makes your heart ache in the same sentence.

I will admit, toward the last bit....

See the rest of this review here ( )
  CommonBookSense | Apr 1, 2016 |
** spoiler alert ** Honestly, I didn't have a clue as to what this book was about when I snatched it off the shelf at the library. I just knew it was all over my Goodreads feed and Instagram feed, so I must read it! I didn't even know it was adapted into film...but now I have another movie to add to my Must Watch List. Anyways, let's get to my thoughts on this little tale.

The premise of this story is horrific in theory although situations like this have happened, continue to happen, in our world today. I enjoyed the realism of that. Don't get me wrong, I love a good fantasy story but the ones that really stay with me are the ones that can happen, that do happen. A girl disappears on an uneventful day in an uneventful place, kidnapped by monster. As these things go, time passes, the case slips into the unsolved files, the family assumes the worst and so they move on in life. But life is happening in a different manner for the kidnapped girl, almost in an alternate universe. Trapped in a square room, surrounded by people but unseen, unsuspecting. She's enslaved to the one who snatched her, Old Nick. Experiencing god knows what during the 7 years she's trapped, she finds hope in the little boy who figuratively and quite literally is her savior.

I was genuinely happy the story didn't go into the horrific, gory details of her torture in this particular book. It would have taken away from the beauty found in Jack's story. Following the loss of one baby, Jack enters this world a year later. This book is centered around Jack, his interactions with the things around him, and his thoughts on everything. Told through his voice, which adds to the legitimacy of the storytelling, the language may take you a bit to grasp but if you're a parent you'll catch on quickly. Imagine your whole world is an 11 ft by 11 ft room and all that resides inside is all you know. That's the theme of the book and it really resonates long after you've finished it.

The high point of the story some may say is the escape scene, which on it's own is quite terrifying especially for a child to go through but I think the high point comes in the latter half of the book. The life after this event, getting to know a world you only thought was imagined and things you thought only existed in the TV has to be the most difficult, most challenging aspect of this story for Jack. Reacquainting yourself to life, family, people, and everything is most certainly hard for Ma but in this story, she's a minor character at best in the latter half of the book.

I gave this a 4 star rating because the book was beautifully written, albeit a little choppy in places. I think the author gets the message across loud and clear, in a believable way. If you're looking for some sort of story with unimaginable horrors detailed of what they suffered through, don't bother picking this up because you'll just be disappointed. This isn't that kind of story. It's an uplifting story of sorts, in a twisted manner, and a story of a boy discovering things for the first time. I wish it was longer in that respect, I want to know what happens next, where do they end up.

All in all, it was an enjoyable and quick read! ( )
  ReannaReads | Mar 20, 2016 |
Room by Emma Donoghue is a 2010 Little, Brown and Company publication.

When this book was first released and the buzz began circulating, I snapped it up, eager to see what the fuss was about. However, each time I intended to start reading it, I would talk myself out of it, due to the tense atmosphere of the book, and the inevitable emotional response, that would result from it. I’m not one to shrink from dark subject matter, but I never felt up for something this heavy and kept putting the book aside.

So, now, nearly six years later, with a movie based on it, the lead actress having won an academy award for her role, I’ve determined it was time to suck it up and read this novel, which has garnered so many awards and accolades, and is a commercial and critical success.

The story started off much the way I imagined it would. Ma and Jack being held captive in a room, with no way of escape. The story is told from the perspective of five year old Jack, and this initially threw me, because of how he named objects in the room, and his speech patterns. But, I soon adjusted and began absorbing the stark living conditions they survived in, and of course the abuse Ma was subjected to. Yes, this is very difficult to read, and is very disturbing, mostly because there is a precious child involved. But, I realized right away, that Ma, did whatever was necessary to protect him and knew if they were ever to escape they would have to take a huge risk. What choice did they have?

This portion, of the book ends quicker than I thought it would, thank goodness, with the remainder of the story centered around the aftermath. At this point I expected the writing to firm up and the conversations to become more normal, since the first person narrative switches over, for the most part, to more of a third person narrative.

However, the dialogue was stilted and kept its emotional distance from the reader. That being said, I did like how the author approached Jack’s character. He is, as many young children are, quite resilient, but his confusion leapt off the page. He wanted to understand, loved being free, but his adjustment was more difficult than it appeared on the surface. Still, he has a wisdom beyond his years, and is absolutely adorable.

I also admired, Ma, who loved that child, no matter what the circumstances. However, she does a few things that left me scratching my head, but after all those years in captivity, I thought her mental health was surprisingly strong. I loved her Q&A with the press, most of all, and thought her lack of self pity admirable, but of course she is much more fragile that I initially thought. I know she made some controversial decisions and there were a few missteps, but overall she is worthy of great respect.

The secondary characters, seemed to barely reach the surface as though they were only in my peripheral vision. They are understanding, and as helpful as possible, but often couldn’t grasp the nightmare Jack and Ma have survived, while others can’t cope at all, which could have made for some very interesting characterizations if they had been fleshed out more.

So, while this was an interesting way of telling this story, and I do believe I caught onto what the author was attempting to accomplish here, I was left feeling a little underwhelmed. The emotional upheaval I had been avoiding for so long, never happened, and I think the writing style is to blame for that. It just didn’t work for me, but I do respect the approach taken, and apparently I am one of only a few who failed to connect with the book in the way it was intended.

Still, at the end of the day, this story is certainly haunting, and the characters did hang around in my head for some time. The story is moving and touching in the end, and I can’t say how much I appreciate the author’s portrait of the mother and child bond, which is unshakable, and is what stands out for me more than anything else. I fell in love with Jack, and feel like we have left him a good place in quite capable hands. I would love to have an update on him, because I believe he may become a remarkable man someday. ( )
  gpangel | Mar 18, 2016 |
Room is a book that pulled me in right from the start. It's an amazing perspective to experience, not only because it's written in the mind of a five year old boy, but because it inspires you and makes your heart ache in the same sentence.
I will admit, toward the last bit....
You can find the rest of this review (along with many more) on the CommonBookSense blog.
http://commonbooksense.blogspot.com/2015/07/room-novel.html ( )
  CommonBookSense | Mar 17, 2016 |
I really enjoyed this book especially after I got past the first quarter of it. I loved how the author wrote it from the 5 year olds perspective, that made it a lot easier to take the content of of the book. I was hooked on Jack in the way he saw the world. I was a little nervous about reading it just because and the fact that it was a kidnapping, but ended up really enjoying the book and would highly recommend it to anyone else. ( )
  brandymuss | Mar 15, 2016 |
This book has been on my list forever, just hadn't quite gotten around to it. I'm glad that I finally did. It took a little time to get used to the special language of Jack's narration, but it really brings you into the story and understand how Room is indeed his home and all he knows of life. It is hard to get through some parts as details come to light, but is not overly disturbing. The ending seemed abrupt but I haven't stopped thinking about it, so it did its job. Highly recommend to anyone who might be waffling on it. ( )
  jennk | Mar 11, 2016 |
It seems like everyone loves this book so I really surprised myself by not being able to get into it. I just did not like the voice of the little boy. I have read many book that are narrated by children but this one just didn't work for me. ( )
  lacey.tucker | Mar 10, 2016 |
"Emma Donoghue's writing is superb alchemy, changing innocence into horror and horror into tenderness. ROOM is a book to read in one sitting. When it's over you look up: the world looks the same but you are somehow different and that feeling lingers for days." - Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler's Wife

I have to be at work in, um, a very short number of hours, but I really couldn't bear not to stay up and finish this book. I'm almost without words to describe it -- but I'll start by saying it's an almost outlandish premise that the author makes incredibly realistic, and *real*. I believe every word of it, yet know it's fiction.

Definitely, definitely, read this book. And don't make any plans for several hours after you start it. ( )
  BraveNewBks | Mar 10, 2016 |
Great story, told from the perspective of 5-year old Jack. Looking forward to seeing the movie, but I would definitely recommend reading the book first. ( )
  junepearl | Mar 4, 2016 |
I had a hard time putting this book down to do the things I had to do. I thoroughly enjoyed the little boy's perspective of the entire ordeal. I would definitely read another book by this author or even re-read this book ( )
  MelAnnC | Feb 28, 2016 |
I will NEVER forget Jack.
Not the lightest of storyline but incredibly and beautifully told through the eyes of an innocent 5yr old. ( )
  SkiKatt68 | Feb 26, 2016 |
This is a book that I would not necessarily recommend to others. It was quite a task to write a book from the perspective of a five-year old and Donoghue does an excellent job for the most part. Building Jack's character was well done and it was easy to relate to him and be drawn into his experience. There was good character development for the others in the book, but it wasn't in a way to deeply draw you to them, but that may have been her intent. The book is in Jack's view, after all.

There are two main things that drew this away from a higher rating for me. One of those I admit is anal on my part. It is simply the fact that the woman has been in captivity for 7 years and somehow her teeth are so rotten she's in constant pain and her 5-year old comments on the rotting condition of the teeth (and yes, she had a toothbrush). Surely we know many people who have avoided dentists for years and not had rotting teeth. Maybe I missed something here, but it felt out of place for me. Like I prefaced, I know that's pretty anal on my part.

The second main thing that detracted from more stars for me was the author's need to have the narrator actually voice the social commentary she's trying to get at. First of all, this is annoying when any author does this. Trust your writing skills to get the point across without having to come out with it. Trust your readers to be smart enough to catch on. In this case, the character with the insight is not only 5 years old, but a 5-year old who has lived in a room all his life. He's really going to have this kind of insight enough to come up with social commentary? One example: “In the world I notice persons are nearly always stressed and have no time...I don't know how persons with jobs do the jobs and all the living as well...I guess the time gets spread very thin like butter all over the world, the roads and houses and playgrounds and stores, so there's only a little smear of time on each place, then everyone has to hurry on to the next bit.”

Regardless, this was well done. Yet I almost feel like I wasted my time on this one. ( )
  MahanaU | Feb 26, 2016 |
I listened to the audio version of this book. The voices were just fantastic. I think hearing it adds to the experience of the boy especially. A lot of this book is interaction between mother and son. It is done in an interesting and humorous fashion with us being in the know and the boy just telling things as he sees them. Another aspect is drama and even a bit of thriller which is likewise well done. The book does not have graphic violence even though it is about a horrific situation. I highly recommend this book. ( )
1 vote ajlewis2 | Feb 24, 2016 |
8.40
  johnrid11 | Feb 14, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 737 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5 8
1 43
1.5 6
2 125
2.5 39
3 457
3.5 205
4 1348
4.5 293
5 1081

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,353,198 books! | Top bar: Always visible