HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

(ROOM)) by Donoghue,…
Loading...

(ROOM)) by Donoghue, Emma(Author)Hardcover{Room} on 13-Sep-2010 (original 2010; edition 2010)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
8,062678398 (4.05)1 / 821
Because this book is told from Jack's perspective, it isn't disturbing as some might believe, considering the content. I'd recommend it because it goes beyond the time frame you'd expect a book about a kidnapping to go - further than all the Dateline specials go. Without giving away what happens in the book, I would simply say the characters are believable and you feel empathetic towards them with all of the connections the author makes you feel. I read this book in 2 days but there were some parts where I simply and literally could NOT put the book down. I was late for a lunch date because I couldn't stop reading! ( )
  lisifer | Sep 2, 2011 |
English (651)  Dutch (10)  Spanish (5)  German (5)  Danish (2)  Finnish (2)  Swedish (2)  French (1)  All languages (678)
Showing 1-25 of 651 (next | show all)
Fear, anger, relief, humor, love and hope...excellent reading. ( )
  CMiller600 | May 17, 2015 |
Room by Emma Donoghue is disturbing yet brilliant. Inspired by countless cases of children born to mothers in captivity, this book is told from the perspective of five-year-old Jack, who has lived in “Room” his entire life. But Jack isn’t alone. He lives in Room with Ma, who was kidnapped as a teen and has been held in isolation for years. It was mind boggling to imagine being confined to a room (really a backyard shed) that measures 11X11 feet.

At first, I wasn’t sure if I liked that the story is told from Jack’s point of view. But within a few chapters, I grew to love the innocent, matter-of-fact way in which he sees things. I also found it intriguing to imagine the amount of information a child would be able to soak in without outside influences or distractions and if constantly communicated with. Ma spends so much time telling Jack about things (anything and everything), so he is extremely mature for his age. Besides constantly talking to him, Ma also does her best to involve Jack in various activities. For example, they measure things, play games, exercise and read (rotating between the handful of books provided by “Old Nick”).

Approximately half of the book takes place in Room, so some of the scenes felt a bit redundant. However, I like to think that Donoghue purposely drew out the amount of time Jack and Ma spent in captivity together to stress how mind-numbing it would be for someone to be held prisoner. Maybe this wasn’t her intent, but after thinking about it that way, the repetitive scenes held new meaning for me. My heart ached a little bit more just imagining what it would be like. Day after day after day.

I’m not sure if what I’m about to say would be considered a spoiler, but if you really dislike spoilers, skip the rest of this paragraph. When Jack and Ma finally get out of Room, I wasn’t sure what to expect. A trial perhaps? Ma and Jack having to face Old Nick in court? Well, it turns out that the rest of the story is more about how Jack copes with being away from the only thing he’s ever known: Room. And let’s not forget about Ma. She has a lot of coping to do as well. Can you imagine finally being free after a decade of captivity? And can you imagine living the rest of your life with the child of your captor? You love the child, of course, but would he be a constant reminder of the time you spent locked away from the world?

If you enjoy true crime or fictional books that are inspired by horrific real-life events, then you must read this one. ( )
  KJFarnham | May 17, 2015 |
Told through the voice of a five year old boy, Jack, who has been locked in a garden shed with his mother his entire life, this novel is haunting and sincere. He had been told by his mother, who has been locked in the room for seven years, that everything on television is fake. He is unaware of the true size of the world and all that exists outside of the room. Their supplies are delivered by their captor, a man known only as “Old Nick” who visits at night to rape Jack’s mother while Jack hides in a wardrobe. Jack begins to put some of the pieces together, though, and his mother decides to tell him the truth.

One day soon after he begins to learn about the world outside, Jack and his mother hatch a plan to escape the room. Jack fakes an illness, pretends to be dead, gets rolled into a rug, and when Old Nick puts the rug with Jack in it into the back of his truck to dispose of the body, Jack jumps out the truck and runs for help. The plan works, Jack and his mother are freed, and they are placed in a psychiatric clinic for treatment.

Jack and his mother must both cope in their individual ways with life on the outside. Jack has to learn things like walking down stairs and feeling overwhelmed by the loud and busy world. Jack’s mother must cope with the trauma she experienced, her feelings of inadequacy as a mother, unwanted fame, and depression that has visited her on and off throughout her life.

After Jack’s mother overdoses on pills, Jack goes to live with his grandmother while his mother recovers. He gets stronger and more courageous each day as he learns about the world and how it works. Jack’s mother is released in a few weeks, and they move together to an apartment.

The most endearing feature of the story is Jack’s perception of the room he was locked in for five years. While his mother sees it for its horror, Jack sees it as his childhood. It was all he knew in life, and he loved it there because it was all he knew. All he needed in life was the love of his mother, and they loved each other very much. Jack was the only thing that kept his mother going. The novel ends with a visit back to the room so that Jack and his mother could have some closure with that part of their lives.

I read this book very quickly; the pace stopped me from wanting to put it down. The sweetness of Jack, the tragedy of the circumstances, and the love between Jack and his mother were captivating. Jack’s perspective on the world colored by his time in the room is unique, childish, and moving.
  Carlie | May 6, 2015 |
A very interesting book that I would never have picked up for myself, but was given to me at one time, and sat unread on my shelves for quite a while.
I was intrigued when I finally picked it up; written from the child's point of view, it took me a bit of time to figure out what's going on. I found it very poignant and thought the child's voice was spot on. It was quite heartbreaking, but never annoyingly cloy, sentimental or obviously designed to make you cry. ( )
  Hobbitlass | May 6, 2015 |
Got this from my library but as it only had a limited 2 week loan period (as its a popular book) i was very dubious that I would be able to finish it in time as I never seem to find enough time to read. However i have just finished it on the day it is due back probably because I found myself reading it at every spare moment. I know some people have said they found the narration style of the child very annoying but I found it very engaging. I must admit that I found the second part of the novel more interesting than the first part.
I found that it was very interesting the way the child saw everything in the world outside 'room' when they escape. It made me really think about how we see the world. I think that Emma Donoghue was very clever in the way she handled both the boys and the mothers reactions to the outside world, and the sense of protection that their relationship and the there time inside 'room' gave them.I must admit that right up to the end i did think that the mother may kill herself but the way the boys reactions to the outside world were written made me think about all the things that we do take for granted because they have always been there.
Not a great literary classic but very interesting all the same. ( )
  WWDG | May 6, 2015 |
A lot of drama and great literature, I do wish the perspectives could have flipped between Ma and Jack. The 5-year old perspective had me confused at some points and it took me 40 pages to figure out that "some" is breastmilk. ( )
  JanJanFreeman | May 5, 2015 |
fin beskrivelse af indespærrings psykologiske følger
  Logopedia | May 1, 2015 |
I'm a slow reader, and if there is ever an instance when I can read a physical book (not audio) in less than a week, that is saying something. Everybody should read this book. Yes, there are times it makes you angry. There were times I wanted to throw the stupid book across the room. But I couldn't. I had to keep reading. And if a book has the power to arose such powerful emotions, I think that's rather amazing. It's told from the perspective of a five year old, and at first I thought it would soon get annoying, but that was not the case at all. She actually pulls it off surprisingly well and I grew to love the boy. Another thing: I knew the premise of the book ahead of time, but I didn't expect the tension to be so high that I couldn't put it down. There was a night that it was getting late and I had to keep reading, but then I knew things could only get worse--so as curious as I was, I had to bookmark it and go to bed. The second half of the book was slower, but I found I was glad for it. It's one of those few that I want to read again someday. ( )
  KR_Patterson | Apr 28, 2015 |
This is the story about a horrendous situation, told by an innocent 5 year old. The book manages to be horrifying and heartwarming; it is a truly unusual book. ( )
  martensgirl | Apr 22, 2015 |
The story of the abduction and imprisonment of a young college student, told from the point of view of the 5 year old child who has been born as a result of these crimes. Although Jack has a precocious vocabulary, his syntax is quirky and his sensory experience severely limited, resulting in a narrative which can be challenging to follow at times. I was reminded of [b:The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time|1618|The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time |Mark Haddon|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1255690510s/1618.jpg|4259809] by Mark Haddon, a novel told from the point of view of an autistic teenager (if you liked that, you will probably like this). I had a bit of trouble getting into this book, but after the first chapter or so, I didn't want to put it down. The imagery is disturbing and vivid, yet the horrifying circumstances are filtered through the mind of Jack, who is incapable of recognizing that the existence he and his mother share is aberrant and anomalous. Most thought provoking. ( )
  LizHD | Mar 25, 2015 |
I admit that getting through the beginning of this book was slow going because it's so different from anything I've ever read. But once I figured out the scenario (which was less than 20 pages), I was sucked in. I read it in 3 sittings I think and thoroughly enjoyed it. The author,makes us feel the anger and confusion of a 5 year old- how crazy is that? It's an interesting point of view that I am glad I continued on with. I felt empathy for every character involved - with the exception of one. Great read. ( )
  JenBurge | Mar 20, 2015 |
Listened to this book rather than read this and was completely absorbed! A fantastic book, esp as it's from the boy's point of view, making this terrifying experience less traumatic because of his positive outlook. The author does not downplay the seriousness of the kidnapping and the years of confinement, but makes you understand how a person's experience can be significantly different if that's the only thing he knows. Whole-heartedly recommend this to everyone. ( )
  olongbourn | Mar 1, 2015 |
This is the story of Jack and his ma. For all of his life he has known only Room. It is his world, what is in the room is real, everything else is just ‘on TV’ and outside the room is outer space. At night he is shut up in Wardrobe in case Old Nick visits. Room is his home, but to Ma it is a prison. She’s been a prisoner there for 7 years and although she has made a life for Jack and protected him, she knows they must escape in order to survive.

This is not just a story about abduction and imprisonment. It is about family relationships, personal strength, survival and adjustment. Written as if Jack were telling the tale, how he went from where he knew everything to where everything was new. There were surprises every day and it is interesting seeing them as a five year old would.

At first I was very enthused and read through about the first half rather quickly, and then it seemed to get bogged down. The middle part seemed rather contrived and predictable. Despite this the book does not drag on I was wondering how it was going to end, seeing as how Jack and Ma were in a new home, the ending was very nicely done.

I gave this book 2 stars because although I didn’t love it, it was a rather enjoyable read, just not a great read. ( )
  BellaFoxx | Feb 14, 2015 |
I absolutely loved this story! While it took a bi to adjust to a five year old telling the story, it flew by once I did. It both heartbreaking and heartwarming. Everyone needs to read it! ( )
  kelsey.hintzman | Feb 10, 2015 |
Writing in the voice of five-year-old Jack, Donoghue gives a new view of the life of the abducted. It really is a heartbreaking story, showing Jack's understanding of the world from the only room he's ever known. We are presented with two different perspectives of their rescue and Donoghue depicts the way in which both Jack and his Ma cope with their tragedy.

This is a very new subject matter for me and I like this book a lot. It was very different from what I would normally pick up but I'm glad I gave it a chance. ( )
  CarleyShea | Feb 5, 2015 |
This book is fascinating on two fronts: 1. The story, which involves a young woman who is being kept captive. 2. The narrator, who is the 5 year old son of the woman and her captor, and who is only just beginning to realize there is a world outside of "room"--the shed where they are locked up. The first part especially has a lot of tension and action, and then the second part becomes more psychological. I hesitate to go into a lot of details and spoil it for someone who is reading it for the first time! It kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't put it down, especially during the first part. I also had a great time discussing it with my book discussion group, we were able to talk about the real life kidnapping stories that inspired this one and the reasons why such stories fascinate us. So if you too are fascinated by such things and you haven't read this book yet, I strongly recommend that you do! ( )
  debs4jc | Jan 21, 2015 |
Disturbing story of a young boy and his courageous mother who are held captive for years in a room. ( )
  marcal | Jan 13, 2015 |
This was amazing--listening to the book, rather than reading it in print, especially brought the story to life. It's told in the perspective of Jack, a five-year-old boy, and the boy who does the reading is amazing. I loved this--it'd be worth buying eventually! ( )
  trayceetee | Jan 13, 2015 |
Reading this again for book club. Loved it the first time, looking forward to reading it again.

...I enjoyed it just as much the second time around. ( )
  carebear10712 | Jan 8, 2015 |
This is a very interesting and compelling read, told in a unique fashion, as Jack, the narrator, is just a five year-old boy. It doesn't really take long to find out that Jack's circumstances are unusual, but the real trick comes in allowing the reader to understand the truth even as Jack remains innocently clueless. I do have some complaints as to the believability, both as to the narrator and some of the reactions within the storyline, which detracted somewhat from my immersion, but it's still a strong effort. The narrative voice simply seems to slip at times, as the author comes through more strongly in trying to make sure the information is conveyed in the way that she desires. Still, it's a powerful and effective effort that made me want to finish the book. ( )
  TiffanyAK | Jan 1, 2015 |
I wanted to enjoy this book so much more than I did. The stuttery writing (whilst effective as a 5yr old's voice) frsutrated me towards then end, and I found it hard to empathise with any of the characters, in what should have been a book where I was rooting for them both! Saying all this, there has been a line that has stuck with me "....and maybe mummy will go dancing without me..." that drove home to me how restricted they both had been.
  Em_Mac | Jan 1, 2015 |
The story starts off on Jack's 5th birthday, who lives with Ma and is looked "after" by Old Nick. Jack and Ma live in a tiny, 11-foot-square soundproofed cell in a converted shed in the kidnapper's yard that Jack calls Room and it is all Jack knows of the world. Room does have the necessary amenities needed in life and the screen on the T.V. is imaginary pictures. Jack has no idea that there is a real world beyond Room.
What was a great kick for me was how Jack used proper nouns on inanimate objects as he narrated this story.
Ma was abducted seven years prior by Old Nick at the age of 19 and had a baby before Jack arrived in this world. The baby, a girl, had died from the umbilical cord which was wrapped around her neck during the birth. Then came Jack.
About a week after Jack's birthday Ma finds out that Old Nick isn't working anymore and believes things will become a lot worse now and decides that she and Jack need to escape. After Old Nick had broke her wrist before during an attempted escape and Jack startling Old Nick one night causing him to shut the power off for several days, Ma tells Jack that the images he sees on the T.V. are actually real, and naturally, Jack finds it hard to believe.
They devise a plan - she fakes Jack having a fever and diarrhea and that night she demands that Old Nick take Jack to a hospital. Old Nick refuses because he is afraid that the boy will inform the authorities about Room. So, plan B - Ma and Jack rehearse an escape plan, Jack will die. Jack will be rolled up in Rug and when Old Nick gets there he will see that Ma has prepared him to be taken away. Then when the truck slows in traffic or stops at a traffic light, Jack will squeeze out from Rug and jump down from the truck and run for help. That night Jack has "died" and is rolled up in Rug and Old Nick will take him to some remote spot and dump him.
Things go according to plan and when Jack jumps off the truck just a few blocks from Room, Old Nick pursues him. A passer-by sees what is going on and rescues Jack and calls the police. The police arrive and after having a bit of communication problem with Jack they do find Ma and she is rescued. Old Nick is arrested and faces some serious time - like life!
Ma and Jack are taken to a mental hospital and get medical TLC. Now you could imagine being kidnapped for seven years things change. Ma finds out that her parents are now divorced and her older brother is married and has a child of his own. The media gets wind of what is going on and this story gets national attention. Everything is going like a hundred miles an hour for Ma and she has a mental breakdown and tries to commit suicide. Jack goes to live with Grandma and her new partner in life and things are hard on Jack. New things, new surroundings, new life for a five year old where everything he sees he had thought were make believe.
Ma and Jack do get back together and start living at this independent living facility where Jack has his own room and slowly starts to accept life as it is happening around him. But being in Room all his life Jack has this attachment to it as one could understand. He needs to go back and see it, if at anything, for one last time. And he does. And you gotta smile to yourself when you read that Room does not have the same thing for Jack as he thought it would. He can finally close Door on Room once and for all.
(and please do NOT read it) what made the whole book, for me, was the very last word. ( )
  Buttonholed | Dec 21, 2014 |
This is a remarkable book! It is the story of a young woman who is abducted at 19 and imprisoned in an 11x11 room by a stranger. There she gives birth to her son Jack, who is five when the novel begins. The sotry is told from the boy's point of view, which is shaped not only by his young age but by the fact that he has absolutely no experience of the outside world. In the face of their terrible circumstances, Ma dedicates herself to raising her son as well as she possibly can, engaging him in creative play and educating him within the narrow limitations of their Room. This is often a heart-rending story, yet beautiful and insightful. Don't be put off by the bizarre circumstances - it is an excellent read. ( )
  bookfest | Dec 21, 2014 |
Just finished it. I was slow to pick it up, as I have had the hardback for a while. But I read it in three days. The childs voice sounded authentic to me, I think those people who find the voice false, appear to be under the impression that 5 year boys must be incredibly stupid. On the whole they are not. I agree with most of the mini-reviews on the jacket. I loved it. ( )
  Urthwild | Nov 30, 2014 |
Just finished it. I was slow to pick it up, as I have had the hardback for a while. But I read it in three days. The childs voice sounded authentic to me, I think those people who find the voice false, appear to be under the impression that 5 year boys must be incredibly stupid. On the whole they are not. I agree with most of the mini-reviews on the jacket. I loved it. ( )
  Urthwild | Nov 30, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 651 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5 8
1 38
1.5 5
2 112
2.5 39
3 416
3.5 194
4 1213
4.5 289
5 987

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,176,444 books! | Top bar: Always visible