HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

(ROOM)) by Donoghue,…
Loading...

(ROOM)) by Donoghue, Emma(Author)Hardcover{Room} on 13-Sep-2010 (original 2010; edition 2010)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
7,710645437 (4.07)1 / 793
lisifer's review
Because this book is told from Jack's perspective, it isn't disturbing as some might believe, considering the content. I'd recommend it because it goes beyond the time frame you'd expect a book about a kidnapping to go - further than all the Dateline specials go. Without giving away what happens in the book, I would simply say the characters are believable and you feel empathetic towards them with all of the connections the author makes you feel. I read this book in 2 days but there were some parts where I simply and literally could NOT put the book down. I was late for a lunch date because I couldn't stop reading! ( )
  lisifer | Sep 2, 2011 |
All member reviews
English (619)  Dutch (10)  Spanish (5)  German (4)  Swedish (2)  Danish (2)  Finnish (2)  French (1)  All languages (645)
Showing 1-25 of 619 (next | show all)
Finished it in 2 days. Other than the very end, which dragged a bit, it was very compelling and surprisingly sweet. ( )
  lunule | Aug 22, 2014 |
As a woman whose only desire in life is to have children, it was a stunning refresher to find an adult fiction novel narrated in the eyes of a 5 year old. I have spent my entire life around young children, and the voice that Donoghue writes in could not be more spot-on. The storyline itself is great insight on those who are oppressed. Recommend for all mothers! ( )
  juliamarinaro | Aug 19, 2014 |
Five year old Jack and his Ma live what Jack believes to be a normal life in room. Room is Jack's whole world, where just he and Ma go about their lives. Except when Old Nick comes to visit. Then Jack must sleep in wardrobe, until Old Nick leaves for the day. Life goes on and on, until one day Ma comes up with a desperate and bold plan to escape from room. Ma tells Jack that room is just one part of Outside and Outside is where she desperately wants them to go. But after making it to Outside, Jack realizes that life is full of surprises and complications. Can Jack learn to survive in Outside? Or will he always long to return back to the controlled environment of room?

Room is a harrowing story of a 19 year old girl who is kidnapped and brutalized over seven years. Forced to live in a soundproof shed, she gives birth to her captives baby, the imaginative Jack. Told entirely through Jack's perspective, Room explores what it would be like, to be born into such a situation and how difficult the adjustment to outside would be. ( )
  queencersei | Aug 10, 2014 |
Ok, I read it. I didn't cry, I didn't get angry. It did give me perspective from the child's point of view. It was ok. Back to the zombies! ( )
  nycke137 | Jul 29, 2014 |
Ok, I read it. I didn't cry, I didn't get angry. It did give me perspective from the child's point of view. It was ok. Back to the zombies! ( )
  nycke137 | Jul 29, 2014 |
Ok, I read it. I didn't cry, I didn't get angry. It did give me perspective from the child's point of view. It was ok. Back to the zombies! ( )
  nycke137 | Jul 29, 2014 |
This book is extremely sad, but very interesting. I enjoyed the book, but was left heart broken for the child most of the way through the novel. ( )
  blog_gal | Jul 26, 2014 |
Kas olete kunagi proovinud täiesti sirgel teel silmad kinni käia?
See õnnestub seni, kuni hakkad... mõtlema. Enese alalhoiuinstinkt või hirm keerata võpsikusse sunnib piiluma Ja tavaliselt, kui juba mõtlema hakkad, siis maandudki kraavis. Imelihtsast ülesandest- tõsta üks jalg teise ette saab järsku ületamatu, sest sunnid aju tööle.

Kui aju rakendada 100% on see raamat õõvastav, jälk, vastik. Sa pead tekitama filtri ja mitte mõtlema, et kuidas see kõik oleks PÄRISELT.
Aga kui lugemisel keskenduda loole. Sellele, kuidas autor on teinud ära suurepärase töö mõtlemaks läbi kõikvõimalikud detailid- on tegu suurepärase saavutusega.

Loe edasi
http://indigoaalane.blogspot.com/2012/09/e-donoghue-tuba.html ( )
  Indigoaalane | Jul 18, 2014 |
I read this very quickly during Thanksgiving break. It was written from the perspective of a five-year-old living in a shed with his mother who had been kidnapped. It was a very interesting read. ( )
  aliterarylion | Jul 14, 2014 |
Read up to page 125, completely gripped. However I have elected not to continue. I find it too harrowing and it is keeping me awake. Shame because it is well written and engrossing. ( )
  happyanddandy1 | Jul 14, 2014 |
Some people have commented that Jack and Ma's escape was contrived, with a flimsy plot twist. In my opinion, the secret behind this series of events was subtle and very powerful in the context of an unreliable narrator.

--SPOILER--

Why does the mother scream "no! no! not in the backyard!"? Why does Old Nick agree to transport the load to the edge of the forest? Something happened that Jack did not understand. His mother, rightly, did not tell him about her first pregnancy, and the outcome of that.

Those events are the real tragedy of the story.
  feeling.is.first | Jul 2, 2014 |
A woman is kidnapped and enslaved in a room. She has a baby before escaping. The story is told through the voice of the (now) 5yo boy. That's enough for you to know going in.
Donoghue seems to be trying to do 2 things. First, get us into the mind of a child raised in a single room where his mother is enslaved. Second, to explore the challenge of coping with the real world after seven years of enslavement. My reading is that she doesn't really succeed in both.
The plot is strong, but slowed down by the many passages dwelling on how the child perceives things. If the reader is fascinated by both, fine, but after a while I found the child's voice a bit tiresome and wanted the plot to move along faster. Maybe that's just me.
There are some very powerful passages nonetheless. And despite the dark subject many funny moments. And, spoiler alert, a quite hopeful ending. ( )
  PhilipJHunt | Jun 29, 2014 |
Amazing story about a mother (kidnapped at 16 and kept securely locked up) and her 5 year old son, who has never been out of the room. ( )
  Ethnee | Jun 23, 2014 |
A unique, amazing book. Highly recommended. I read the beginning curious to see how an author could possibly sustain a first person narrative by a five year old boy who had spent his entire life locked in an 11x11 room together with his mother. Jack, the little boy, has been taught by his mother that this room is the entire world and that the images he sees on TV are not real (thus the lack of articles, 'room' and 'chair' are sufficient words when there is only one of each in existence) -- something she does so that he does not get upset about everything that he is missing. Up until his fifth birthday when he spots a mouse, the largest creature he has seen other than his mother is a spider.

The first half is almost like a mother-son version of The Road, as the two of them work together to survive in an unimaginably harsh environment surrounded by cruelty -- in this case in the form of their monstrous captor. Reading it at times you are jealous of their relationship and experience and lack of greater worries and a tiny part of wishes for the same experience -- but then you're reminded of the brutality of their captor who punishes them by shutting off the power, raping and beating the mother, and not providing them with needed medicine.

The book is not plot driven, but SPOILER ALERT if you are averse to knowing anything about how the story develops. The second half is set outside of Room and the challenges the mother and Jack face as they try to integrate into the world that treats her as a saint and him as a freak. The second half is in many ways a more moving and challenging story, but it also suffers from the fact that the characters that surround them on the outside are cartoonish and at times implausible (e.g., and this is a minor example of which there are several, I found it downright bizarre that on Jack's first night in a home without his mother, following 5 years in Room and one week in a clinic, his otherwise loving grandmother would be annoyed about having to sit in his room while he fell asleep).

One of the best books of the year. ( )
  nosajeel | Jun 21, 2014 |
I'll start with the good, the book is amazingly written. I've found that the novels where they're told from differing points of view, like from childrens point of view (or those with mental illness) can vary widely in how good they are. A lot of books in which it comes off sounding stilted or too fake. But Room was different. Although by the end of the book the boy was driving me quite insane, although it wasn't so much because his narrative was bad, it was exceptionally good.

The story isn't a surprise. It's the story of a young boy, five years old, and his mother and their lives in one room. It's told from the boy's point of view so it's not quite as gruesome as it could be, since at some points all he knows is that 'Ma' isn't there in the room sometimes.

It took a bit to get used to some of the terms for stuff in the room and while realistic for a young boy to mention his bodily functions often it was still a little icky. And then there was the him 'getting some' (milk) from his Ma (and not from a bottle). It made sense in the story, but the fact that he was five and still breast feeding did ick me out on one level.

So, it was a good book, but not quite as all totally amazing as everyone seemed to be raving. ( )
  DanieXJ | Jun 12, 2014 |
Room is one of those books that will change the way you view the world. What if you had grown up only knowing one room and believing that all you saw on TV was from another planet? What if you were a five year old boy who believe that you and your mother were the only "real" people? I think the author's choice of using the five year old as a narrator was particularly brilliant as the reader got to see Outside in an entirely different light. Donoghue used real cases to build a fictionalized tale about a woman and her son in an impossibly agonizing situation. At times, I had to stop reading just so that I could catch my breath from the intensity and the descriptive power of her words made me feel like I was trapped (probably didn't help that I read a lot of it on the train). I don't want any of this to put you off reading this book though because I thought it was fantastic (even though it ended rather abruptly for my tastes). In fact, I'll be adding some more of this author's books onto my TRL for the future. :-) ( )
  AliceaP | Jun 8, 2014 |
Really really powerful. I read it in two days.

Room is told from the point of view of Jack, a 5-year-old who has lived his entire life as a captive with his mother in an 11 x 11 room. Although Jack is exceptionally articulate, his diction reflects his age and social deficiencies.

The early chapters of the book, as Jack describes daily life in the room (They eat, they bathe, they do "phys. ed," they watch just a little bit of TV, they have school), were creepy to me, but because of Jack's unique voice, they aren't as harrowing as they could be.

Jack doesn't know what he's missing out there in the real world, and when he finds out, he still thinks he'd prefer life in Room with Ma.

The premise is horrifying, but the story is hopeful.

( )
  keneumey | Jun 4, 2014 |
Seeing life through the eyes of a five year old boy is fascinating, but when that little boy has been contained in a single room his whole life with only his mother for company, well, that perspective is singularly unique, disconcerting, at times terrifying and at others darkly humorous. Room by Emma Donoghue is her controversial story of a young woman taken by a stranger and held for seven years. During the course of her captivity she gives birth and she and her son have a isolated existence in a locked garden shed. The book’s focus is on the boy, Jack. Jack knows no other way of living, he doesn’t know much beyond the walls of the room, except for what he has seen on TV. To him Dora the Explorer is as real as Old Nick, the man who visits in the night. His mother tries very hard to keep Jack away from Old Nick and has him sleep in a wardrobe so he is out of sight when Old Nick visits.

When these two finally escape and emerge into the real world, Jack must learn to cope with unlimited boundaries. Everyday things we take for granted need to be explained and learned, Jack needs constant guidance but his Mother is also dealing in her own way with freedom. These two who have been inseparable now find they have different ways of looking at things, and different levels of acceptance. While Jack remembers Room as a place of comfort, the very idea of that place upsets the Mother to the point of nausea.

I found Room is be a very unique read and it told such a compelling story of human resourcefulness and resilience that it was very hard to put down. I was very moved by Jack’s mother, who overcame such difficulties and showed such devotion and care in the raising of her son. This is a book that truly moved me, and one that I will long remember. ( )
6 vote DeltaQueen50 | May 26, 2014 |
Creepy. I didn't like it. ( )
  librarymary09 | May 24, 2014 |
Disturbing ( )
  siri51 | May 19, 2014 |
I just couldn't do it. I got several pages into Room, and while I knew there was likely an interesting plot brewing, and that kept me plodding forward, I just could not deal with Jack as child-narrator. Jack's speech patterns, rather than being realistic or moving or even cute, were just overly immature and irritating. Does Donoghue know any children? Or is she just making this glop up as she goes?

I couldn't even finish reading my Kindle sample, and came to Goodreads to find a plot spoiler. I'm sure it's fascinating...if you manage to read while sporking your eyes out.
  fefferbooks | May 12, 2014 |
This book is similar in many ways to 'The Road' by Cormac McCarthy. Both stories have an adult sharing knowledge of the world with child who has no direct knowledge of it. Both stories have goodness inexplicably prevailing in the heart of a child. There are many more...... ( )
  aklnbrg | Apr 20, 2014 |
Very compelling premise (a child born into captivity) and I devoured this very quickly. The degree to which you will enjoy it hinges partly on how believable you think the five year old narrator is. I found this a challenge at the start but it won me over overall due the unique context and the fact that the author focuses more on the emotional journey of child and mother than sensationalising the brutality involved. ( )
  Kirstie_Innes-Will | Apr 18, 2014 |
It didn't take me long to read this book. 24 hours. 1 day. But in that time I felt so utterly consumed by it I could think of nothing else. It made interacting with other people difficult because I couldn't explain how I was feeling, or why. It is haunting.

Jack just turned five years old. His entire world is contained in an eleven by eleven foot Room he lives in with his Ma. He knows nothing else, except for Old Nick who brings the groceries but he isn't allowed to see because Ma makes Jack stay in the wardrobe when Old Nick visits each night. Jack has no idea there is a whole wide world outside the Room.

This book is unputdownable but at the same time it can be hard to read. The subject matter is sensitive but Donoghue handles it with care, showing us how a life of confinement must feel for a child who doesn't know anything else. The world is a big and scary place at the best of times, let alone for a 5-year-old who never knew it existed. There is so much taken for granted everyday that Jack doesn't even understand. He is words- and numbers-smart but everything else he has to learn from scratch and he struggles to comprehend it with what he thinks he already knows. It is incredibly moving and at time's painful to read as he interprets the world around him and doesn't always like what he sees and wishes for the comfort of the Room he knew - something that hurts his Ma, who orchestrated their escape.

I know I shouldn't finish this review without mentioning the strength of Jack's Ma. I can't imagine how hard it would be to have the child of your rapist and I'm not going to pretend to. She did an incredible thing, raised her son to the best of her ability in her circumstances and then did everything she could to make sure he made it to 'the Outside', to give him the best chance she could. It wasn't too surprising that once she got outside she had a breakdown. She had endured for so long, what do you do once you break free of the person who kept you captive for so long? But I admire what she did for her child. I imagine Jack is what kept her going for all those years. All the pain and the suffering can be awful to read, but there is a sliver of hope present in the end, when Jack says his good-byes to his previous life, that makes you think everything will be okay in the end. ( )
  crashmyparty | Apr 17, 2014 |
Difficult to dredge the memory banks and come up with a book I liked even less than this one..............the biggest pile of mince I have had the sad misfortune to ever read ( )
  col2910 | Apr 17, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 619 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.07)
0.5 8
1 33
1.5 4
2 102
2.5 38
3 389
3.5 187
4 1150
4.5 288
5 942

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,238,847 books! | Top bar: Always visible