HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

(ROOM)) by Donoghue,…
Loading...

(ROOM)) by Donoghue, Emma(Author)Hardcover{Room} on 13-Sep-2010 (original 2010; edition 2010)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
8,688745349 (4.05)1 / 841
Because this book is told from Jack's perspective, it isn't disturbing as some might believe, considering the content. I'd recommend it because it goes beyond the time frame you'd expect a book about a kidnapping to go - further than all the Dateline specials go. Without giving away what happens in the book, I would simply say the characters are believable and you feel empathetic towards them with all of the connections the author makes you feel. I read this book in 2 days but there were some parts where I simply and literally could NOT put the book down. I was late for a lunch date because I couldn't stop reading! ( )
  lisifer | Sep 2, 2011 |
English (715)  Dutch (10)  Spanish (5)  German (5)  Danish (2)  Finnish (2)  Swedish (2)  French (1)  All languages (742)
Showing 1-25 of 715 (next | show all)
8.40
  johnrid11 | Feb 14, 2016 |
The first part of the book, where we meet Jack and Ma, as well as Old Nick, is genuinely disturbing, but the details of their life, written from the 5 year old's perspective, quickly become tedious. Still, I stayed with it, and found the escape the most compelling part. After the escape is the aftermath, which I found boring. A lot of people seemed to love this book, but I can't say I was one of them. ( )
  fromthecomfychair | Feb 11, 2016 |
Unfortunately, I'm a little slow getting around to this review, so I may fail expressing the great joy I had reading Room. The feelings I experienced at the time were powerful. This is one of the most enthralling books I've read in recent times.

Told in the voice of five-year-old Jack, the novel is initially difficult to get into, but once it picks up, it's really wonderful. The voice never changes and it is hard to imagine how a book with such a strange narrative style can become so powerful. In itself, Room is not a complicated or intellectual novel, but its implementation of the child's voice is very brilliant. It's done exceptionally well and really is what makes this book stand above so many others. Jack's perspective, having spent his entire life confined to a single room, is extremely unique yet universal. At some point, we all saw the world for the first time. Once upon a time, we left a small, cramped space and entered a universe that was massive and completely foreign. Maybe our story of how we got to this new world was an intense as Jack's. And oh, wow, how intense was Jack's emergence! I cannot remember the last time I was so enthralled with a scene in a book. My heart was racing. I couldn't put the book down.

The second half of Room is certainly mild in comparison to the first half, but it's not a letdown. This is the story that needs to be told. The first half, while much more memorable, merely sets up the drama that is at the heart of this story.

And that ending: perfect. I wasn't really expecting to enjoy this novel as much as I did, but I think it was done really well. Brilliant work of literature? Maybe not. But make no mistake, Room is intelligently drawn and vitally important to a better understanding of abuse and human nature. Emma Donoghue's hit novel is a wild ride that will stick with me for years to come. ( )
  chrisblocker | Feb 10, 2016 |
I LOVED this book! Who knew narration of a 5 year old could be so insightful. Jack makes some very keen observations as he struggles to come to terms with the strange Outside. Read it! ( )
  tashlyn88 | Feb 5, 2016 |
I enjoyed this book. It was different from anything I've ever read. The subject matter is difficult, but the author handles it well. ( )
  Jadedog13 | Feb 3, 2016 |
Narrated by Michal Friedman, Ellen Archer, Suzanne Toren, Robert Petkoff. The big highlight of this audio production is Jack. On hearing the story begin, I swore it was a child reading, but as it progressed, I could not believe that even the most gifted child actor could read this story with such fluency, inflection and emotion. Turns out Michal Friedman is a woman who's done voicework for a Speed Racer cartoon, and her work as Jack completely brings readers into Jack's world and head. A couple of the adult voices seemed stiff at times, especially that of Old Nick and Ma (Nick did not come off sounding as evil as I would expect ). A compelling story about kidnapping, parenting, and the huge capacity of child development. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
Pretty good story, certainly held my attention. But I didn't get why the kid would have such an odd speaking pattern like he was raised in an environment where he needed to make up his own phrases and sentence structure; his mother spoke normally like the rest of us, so I don't know where he got his speech patterns. I found that this was distracting rather than anything else. Other than that the story was believable, making for a pretty creepy read. I must say this book stayed in my brain longer than most books. ( )
  KathyGilbert | Jan 29, 2016 |
told from the perspective of a 5 yr old who has known nothing but a "room" and hios mother for his entire life. The reader comes to learn of how this came to be. Great read although the language can get confusing at times because of the POV. Not nearly as dark of a story as you anticipate. ( )
  micahmom2002 | Jan 25, 2016 |
told from the perspective of a 5 yr old who has known nothing but a "room" and hios mother for his entire life. The reader comes to learn of how this came to be. Great read although the language can get confusing at times because of the POV. Not nearly as dark of a story as you anticipate. ( )
  micahmom2002 | Jan 25, 2016 |
This was a pretty amazing story with a very authentic voice. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 23, 2016 |
This was a pretty amazing story with a very authentic voice. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 23, 2016 |
Very unusual story about the kidnapping of a young woman and the events after her and her son's escape. The story is told by 5 year old Jack (complete with kid speak) with all the directness and innocence of a young child. Never ghastly, but very moving, this book seems to be reflecting the long-term abduction cases that have been reported world-wide in the past few years. Interestingly, the book doesn't end with their release, but goes on to describe them re-entering the world and coming to terms with everyday life. ( )
  SabinaE | Jan 23, 2016 |
Inspired by the horrific events that occurred to Elisabeth Fritzl who was locked in a basement for 24 years by her father, this story is about Ma who is abducted at 19 and kept hidden and abused for seven years. Thankfully, because the story is narrated by five-year-old Jack, the details of Ma's brutal treatment is kept to a minimum although there is a horribly sinister feel to the first part of the book, especially. At first I found Jack's voice rather irritating, but I discovered that I couldn't put the book down as it is absolutely fascinating and touching. The book is divided into two parts - the first being how Jack and his mother survive in Room; their daily routines, tasks and games to help pass the time, and the second half is how Jack struggles to accept the outside world once they are rescued. He finds the noise, space and people confusing and complex and longs for the Room with his Ma and all the things that are familiar to him. Beautifully written, this is a compelling read. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 22, 2016 |
Inspired by the horrific events that occurred to Elisabeth Fritzl who was locked in a basement for 24 years by her father, this story is about Ma who is abducted at 19 and kept hidden and abused for seven years. Thankfully, because the story is narrated by five-year-old Jack, the details of Ma's brutal treatment is kept to a minimum although there is a horribly sinister feel to the first part of the book, especially. At first I found Jack's voice rather irritating, but I discovered that I couldn't put the book down as it is absolutely fascinating and touching. The book is divided into two parts - the first being how Jack and his mother survive in Room; their daily routines, tasks and games to help pass the time, and the second half is how Jack struggles to accept the outside world once they are rescued. He finds the noise, space and people confusing and complex and longs for the Room with his Ma and all the things that are familiar to him. Beautifully written, this is a compelling read. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 22, 2016 |
This was okay. Difficult to read because you were reading from a 5 year old's perspective. There were a couple compelling sections in the book. For me the most interesting concept was the "safeness" the child felt within Room, and the discomfort they both felt when they finally made it Outside. I must add, though, that the mother and son relationship as written was so heartwarming. ( )
  Judy_Ryfinski | Jan 20, 2016 |
This was okay. Difficult to read because you were reading from a 5 year old's perspective. There were a couple compelling sections in the book. For me the most interesting concept was the "safeness" the child felt within Room, and the discomfort they both felt when they finally made it Outside. I must add, though, that the mother and son relationship as written was so heartwarming. ( )
  Judy_Ryfinski | Jan 20, 2016 |
This one is more of a 3.5 stars book. I was blown away by the author's ability to write from the prospective of a unique 5-year-old. However, I had some issues with a few of the events in the book. A few of the mother's actions felt more like plot devices rather than being character-driven. ( )
  joyhclark | Jan 20, 2016 |
I really struggled through this one. There are just so many pages you can describe activity in an 11x11 room. Once they escaped, it picked up a bit for me, but it was not enough for more than two stars. I can say, however, I loved the Ma's spunkiness in her conversations with outside people, like her mother and the reporter. ( )
  CarmenMilligan | Jan 18, 2016 |
This novel takes us into an eleven foot by eleven foot storage shed that Jack and his mother call home. Jack was born in this room and it is his reality. Mother has known the outside world however, and until his fifth birthday Jack never knew that once, a long seven years ago, Mother was lifted from the streets and kidnapped to be held hostage by their nightly visitor, Old Nick.
Told entirely from the point of view of this intelligent little boy, “Room” shows us the great love that Mother has for Jack. They have a few books, the TV, a wardrobe—where Jack sleeps so Old Nick will never see him—and whatever they can beg for as a Sundaytreat. In return for Old Nick never seeing her son, she has given up all attempts to escape and allows her body to be sexually violated whenever he needs her. Jack, awake in the closet at night, counts the number of times Old Nick makes the bed squeak.
After explaining to Jack how she actually got in the shed, the two make an audacious attempt at escape, and miraculously pull it off. I don’t want to spoil the surprise except to say it was the fastest I have ever read, skipping paragraphs and pages to get to the finale which brought me to tears. The book, if written as a novella, could have ended at their freedom. However, Donoghue has gone on to feed us a second well-crafted story, still from Jack’s point of view to show the adjustments that the child had to go through to adapt to what we all think of as our reality.
This is a bright uplifting story that takes us from the near depths of a hellacious existence to a new life. I loved the imaginative, original work Donoghue placed in my hands. It is one for the ages, a plausible, but dark story with the light of hope shining as a beacon for all who dare read it.
( )
  MarkPSadler | Jan 17, 2016 |
This novel takes us into an eleven foot by eleven foot storage shed that Jack and his mother call home. Jack was born in this room and it is his reality. Mother has known the outside world however, and until his fifth birthday Jack never knew that once, a long seven years ago, Mother was lifted from the streets and kidnapped to be held hostage by their nightly visitor, Old Nick.
Told entirely from the point of view of this intelligent little boy, “Room” shows us the great love that Mother has for Jack. They have a few books, the TV, a wardrobe—where Jack sleeps so Old Nick will never see him—and whatever they can beg for as a Sundaytreat. In return for Old Nick never seeing her son, she has given up all attempts to escape and allows her body to be sexually violated whenever he needs her. Jack, awake in the closet at night, counts the number of times Old Nick makes the bed squeak.
After explaining to Jack how she actually got in the shed, the two make an audacious attempt at escape, and miraculously pull it off. I don’t want to spoil the surprise except to say it was the fastest I have ever read, skipping paragraphs and pages to get to the finale which brought me to tears. The book, if written as a novella, could have ended at their freedom. However, Donoghue has gone on to feed us a second well-crafted story, still from Jack’s point of view to show the adjustments that the child had to go through to adapt to what we all think of as our reality.
This is a bright uplifting story that takes us from the near depths of a hellacious existence to a new life. I loved the imaginative, original work Donoghue placed in my hands. It is one for the ages, a plausible, but dark story with the light of hope shining as a beacon for all who dare read it.
( )
  MarkPSadler | Jan 17, 2016 |
This novel takes us into an eleven foot by eleven foot storage shed that Jack and his mother call home. Jack was born in this room and it is his reality. Mother has known the outside world however, and until his fifth birthday Jack never knew that once, a long seven years ago, Mother was lifted from the streets and kidnapped to be held hostage by their nightly visitor, Old Nick.
Told entirely from the point of view of this intelligent little boy, “Room” shows us the great love that Mother has for Jack. They have a few books, the TV, a wardrobe—where Jack sleeps so Old Nick will never see him—and whatever they can beg for as a Sundaytreat. In return for Old Nick never seeing her son, she has given up all attempts to escape and allows her body to be sexually violated whenever he needs her. Jack, awake in the closet at night, counts the number of times Old Nick makes the bed squeak.
After explaining to Jack how she actually got in the shed, the two make an audacious attempt at escape, and miraculously pull it off. I don’t want to spoil the surprise except to say it was the fastest I have ever read, skipping paragraphs and pages to get to the finale which brought me to tears. The book, if written as a novella, could have ended at their freedom. However, Donoghue has gone on to feed us a second well-crafted story, still from Jack’s point of view to show the adjustments that the child had to go through to adapt to what we all think of as our reality.
This is a bright uplifting story that takes us from the near depths of a hellacious existence to a new life. I loved the imaginative, original work Donoghue placed in my hands. It is one for the ages, a plausible, but dark story with the light of hope shining as a beacon for all who dare read it.
( )
  MarkPSadler | Jan 17, 2016 |
This is a wonderful perspective, that of a charming and well-loved 5-year-old. Despite the disturbing setting, a tiny room where a woman and her young son are imprisoned, he finds life idyllic. It shouldn't be so surprising, but it is. As a parent, it was striking to recall how happy a child is to have a parent's complete attention, no matter what the situation, and to remember the joy that can be had in tiny things...

Of course, as an adult, I was aware of the mother's nightmare and was anxious to get out of the room, except that I worried that would be the end of the book. Luckily, it was not. We get to experience the struggles of adapting to "outside", as serious an adjustment as living "in room".

Great audio, seamlessly read. ( )
  Connie-D | Jan 17, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 715 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5 8
1 41
1.5 5
2 120
2.5 39
3 453
3.5 199
4 1304
4.5 291
5 1049

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,270,324 books! | Top bar: Always visible