HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Loading...

Daddy-Long-Legs (1912)

by Jean Webster (Author)

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Daddy-Long-Legs (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,997753,367 (4.13)205
  1. 70
    Dear Enemy by Jean Webster (kathleen.morrow)
    kathleen.morrow: The sequel to Daddy Long Legs, featuring Sally's adventures at an orphan asylum
  2. 40
    I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (mybookshelf)
    mybookshelf: Both are classic stories about unusual young women who enjoy writing.
  3. 30
    Carney's House Party: A Deep Valley Story by Maud Hart Lovelace (Bjace)
    Bjace: Partially set at Vassar. Also a story about college friendships.
  4. 20
    A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter (Hollerama)
  5. 10
    Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher (charl08)
    charl08: Similar epistolary format, although with very different results!
  6. 10
    When Patty Went to College by Jean Webster (Bjace, Hollerama)
    Bjace: Patty is a fun but less responsible version of Judy Abbott. Both of these are college stories probably set at Vassar.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 205 mentions

English (69)  Spanish (2)  German (1)  French (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (74)
Showing 1-5 of 69 (next | show all)
●Author, Jean Webster, born Alice Jane Chandler, 1876-1916, grew up in Fredonia, NY
●Author was related to Mark Twain
○her mother was Twain's niece
○her father was Twain's business manager
●Epistolary fiction, published 1910
●A series of dolls, based on the book's characters, were sold as a
fundraiser. Proceeds of sales were used to help cover adoption fees
for families adopting a child from an orphanage.
●A coming-of-age story.
  BALE | Feb 7, 2016 |
  MisaBookworm | Feb 2, 2016 |
Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster

5 stars and a heart

Written and set in pre-WWI Northeastern USA.

Jerusha (Judy) Abbott grew up an an orphanage, but is offered a full college education with allowance by an anonymous trustee who appreciates a witty high school essay she wrote about life in the orphanage. Her one form of repayment is to write him a letter each month and to address it to Mr. John Smith. Having seen his shadow and knowing he had long legs, she starts writing to Daddy Long Legs after the second letter, and her colourful, illustrated letters take us through her four years of school including the summer breaks.

If you've never read it, it's really something that, while totally different, is right up there with Anne of Green Gables (from a similar time; I'm not sure why it hasn't stayed as popular other than she is older than Anne when Anne starts out. There's no sentimentality, but it is definitely a fun read. ( )
  Karin7 | Jan 20, 2016 |
Audio book narrated by Julia Whelan.

Jerusha (Judy) Abbott is an orphan who has been raised at the John Grier Home. Being the oldest orphan, she is in charge of the younger children. Children are usually released from the Home at age sixteen. Jerusha, having excelled at school was allowed to go to the village for high school, and kept on at the Home two years past the usual time frame. But this exception, too, must come to an end. An unusual offer has come to her, however. In the past, one of the Home’s trustee’s has sometimes helped a particularly bright boy by paying his college tuition. This year, one of Jerusha’s essays has captured this benefactor’s attention, and he has agreed to pay her college tuition for four years. He will remain anonymous, but does require that she write to him monthly – not to thank him, but to tell him of her experiences, much as she would write to her parents.

So begins this delightful book of letters from Judy to the man she knows as “Mr John Smith,” but whom she affectionately calls Daddy Longs Legs (or just Dear Daddy). The reader witnesses her growth from an immature but exuberant young girl to an accomplished and delightful young woman as her horizons are broadened by all she learns. My only complaint is with the unrealistic (and somewhat abrupt) ending. I don’t want to give anything away, so I won’t say more about that. I’m guessing this is a difference in styles and expectations from the time when it was first published – 100 years ago in 1912.

Julia Whelan does a wonderful job of performing the book. Her enthusiasm as Jerusha is introduced to experiences she hadn’t even dreamed about is infectious. Also, she perfectly voices Judy’s genuine need to explain herself and her continual questioning of her benefactor for some guidance and answers. What the audio cannot convey, however, are the illustrations that the text contains. These are drawings the author, herself, included in the original, and I think they add to the charm of the book. So, if you are going to listen … get a copy of the text so you can at least see the drawings that are referred to.

( )
  BookConcierge | Jan 13, 2016 |
A most delightful book. A charming, fluffy, sweet little literary morsel. The only downer is. . . the heroine decides to become a Fabian Socialist. NOOOO!!!

But other than that, a truly delightful read, as I believe I mentioned. Highly recommended for fans of L.M. Montgomery, Grace Livingston Hill, and other similar authors.

Now, to read the sequel: "Dear Enemy". And I must also watch the Fred Astaire musical and the Mary Pickford silent film, though I doubt either will be half as magical as the book. ( )
  TheEditrix | Jan 13, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 69 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (25 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Webster, JeanAuthorprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Ardizzone, EdwardIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Boveri, MargretTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Haapanen-Tallgren, TyyniTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Ibbotson, EvaIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Kliphuis, J.J.F.Translatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Korthals Altes, AlisonIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Mac Neill, JoanCover designersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Munsching, Annie vanEditorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Schreuder, H.Editorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Tholema, A.C.Translatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Veen, H.R.S. van derEditorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Information from the French Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To You
First words
The first Wednesday in every month was a Perfectly Awful Day--a day to be awaited with dread, endured with courage and forgotten with haste.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
This entry is for the book Daddy-Long-Legs, first published in 1912. Please do not combine with the 1919 Mary Pickford film, the 1931 Janet Gaynor/Warner Baxter film, or the 1955 Fred Astaire/Leslie Caron film.
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

All sorts of things begin to happen when an orphaned boarding school student finally meets the wealthy guardian with whom she has corresponded for years sight unseen.

» see all 8 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.13)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 11
2.5 10
3 61
3.5 29
4 165
4.5 24
5 166

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Tantor Media

An edition of this book was published by Tantor Media.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,186,108 books! | Top bar: Always visible