HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
7,844 (8,132)1622,671 (3.87)290
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912. Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor. (Bowker Author Biography) Jorge Amado has been called the greatest twentieth-century Brazilian novelist. He was born in 1912 in Ilheus, in the northeastern-most state of Bahai. This area serves as the backdrop for most of Amado's work, which reflects a deep appreciation of the Brazilian essence. Amado's works have made him a national figure in Brazil. Amado's early novels were shaped by a belief in Marxism, and relate the sufferings of humble fishermen and cocoa plantation workers. By the 1950s, he had turned his attention to the plight of middle-class Bahains. This more jovial approach brought him worldwide acclaim, and his keen comic sense and appreciation of the common man have drawn comparisons to the novels of Charles Dickens. Music, cuisine, and passion figure prominently in Amado's literary output. Amado's works have been translated from Portuguese into more than forty languages, have sold over fifty million copies worldwide, and have been reworked for film, television, and stage. His portraits of commanding female characters, including Gabriela from Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon, and Dona Flor from Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands, have been adapted to the screen, and actress Sonia Braga earned her initial success in these roles. Other titles include The Sand Captains; Memory of a Child; The War of the Saints; and Home Is the Sailor. (Bowker Author Biography)
— biography from Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon
… (more)
Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon 1,329 copies, 20 reviews
Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands 1,205 copies, 26 reviews
Captains of the Sands 720 copies, 16 reviews
Tent of Miracles 438 copies, 6 reviews
Home Is the Sailor 314 copies, 9 reviews
The War of the Saints 276 copies, 5 reviews
Sea of Death (Author) 255 copies, 3 reviews
Showdown 251 copies, 8 reviews
The Violent Land 250 copies, 7 reviews
Tieta do Agreste 249 copies, 4 reviews
Jubiabá 228 copies, 2 reviews
Shepherds of the Night 175 copies, 2 reviews
Cacao 134 copies, 1 review
The Golden Harvest 95 copies, 2 reviews
Il paese del carnevale 72 copies, 5 reviews
Sudore 70 copies, 1 review
Seara Vermelha 65 copies
Agonia della notte 39 copies, 1 review
Il ragazzo di Bahia 31 copies, 2 reviews
La Palla Innamorata 15 copies, 2 reviews
Los coroneles 5 copies

Jorge Amado has 1 past event. (show)

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Gender
Nationality
Country (for map)
Birthplace
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Education
Occupations
Relationships
Organizations
Awards and honors
Agents
Short biography
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.87)
0.5 3
1 25
1.5 3
2 58
2.5 24
3 207
3.5 61
4 394
4.5 37
5 313

Author pictures (3)

  

(see all 3 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Jorge Amado is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

Jorge Amado is composed of 14 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 171,808,623 books! | Top bar: Always visible