Picture of author.

Tracey Baptiste

Author of The Jumbies

24+ Works 1,223 Members 49 Reviews 1 Favorited

About the Author

Tracey Baptiste is the author of the young-adult novel Angel's Grace, which was named one of the 100 Best Books for Reading and Sharing by the New York Public Library. She has also written biographies of Jerry Spinelli and Madeleine L'Engle, as well as Overcoming Prejudice and Being a Leader and show more Making Decisions. show less

Series

Works by Tracey Baptiste

Associated Works

Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America (2019) — Contributor — 523 copies
The Talk: Conversations about Race, Love, and Truth (2020) — Contributor — 176 copies
The Creativity Project: An Awesometastic Story Collection (2018) — Contributor — 96 copies
Sycorax's Daughters (2017) — Contributor — 40 copies
Magic Has No Borders (2023) — Contributor — 28 copies
Joyful, Joyful: Stories Celebrating Black Voices (2022) — Contributor — 3 copies

Tagged

adventure (10) African (7) ARC (7) biography (10) BIPOC (6) Caribbean (41) children (5) children's (10) Civil Rights Movement (5) ebook (9) fairy tales (6) family (7) fantasy (65) fiction (37) folklore (23) folktales (7) friendship (17) grade 5 (11) grade 6 (7) history (15) horror (50) kids (11) Kindle (8) library (5) magic (23) magical realism (17) mermaids (5) middle grade (22) monsters (8) multicultural (7) non-fiction (17) picture book (15) scary (10) series (18) to-read (88) Trinidad (11) U-W (6) X (13) YA (7) young adult (9)

Common Knowledge

Birthdate
1972-03-07
Gender
female
Nationality
Trinidad and Tobago

Members

Reviews

A little spooky, but not horror, this books is full of friendship and adventure. The main character is half Jumbie, and the themes of us vs them and distrust of other communities is a wonderful addition that runs throughout the story. This would make a good read-alike for Riordan fans, as it has magic and adventure, and friends working together. The writing is very good, but simple enough to make the books run very smooth.
 
Flagged
mslibrarynerd | 29 other reviews | Jan 13, 2024 |
A retelling of The Magic Orange Tree story for, I think?, a middle grade audience? At any rate, it was a fun, quick read.
 
Flagged
electrascaife | 29 other reviews | Jul 2, 2023 |
DNF @ 127pages or 55%.

I’m glad this book exists because the Caribbean folklore was interesting, but I just felt bored most of the time I was reading. Just not for me.
 
Flagged
LynnMPK | 29 other reviews | Jun 27, 2023 |
An adorable and delightful story with absolutely gorgeous artwork that will charm and entertain both children and adults alike. Illustrations are bold and beautifully colored while the text engages toddlers and early readers with simple but meaningful and playful text. My 3 year old daughter loved it and so did I.

GoodReads FirstReads Giveaway
 
Flagged
LibStaff2 | May 3, 2023 |

Lists

Awards

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Statistics

Works
24
Also by
6
Members
1,223
Popularity
#20,999
Rating
4.0
Reviews
49
ISBNs
132
Languages
3
Favorited
1

Charts & Graphs