This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Michael J. Bird (1928–2001)

Author of The Town that Died: a chronicle of the Halifax Disaster

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
156397,940 (3.53)00
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Michael J. Bird (31 October 1928, London – 11 May 2001, Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire) was an English writer.

In addition to several novels, he was perhaps best known for the television dramas he wrote for the BBC. His series for the BBC all had the common theme of being set in the Mediterranean - The Lotus Eaters and Who Pays the Ferryman? were set in Crete, The Aphrodite Inheritance was set in Cyprus and The Dark Side of the Sun took place on Rhodes. Breaking with this practice, his final series for the BBC, Maelstrom, was set in Norway.

Bird also wrote for the following series during his career: Danger Man, Special Branch, The Onedin Line, Arthur of the Britons, Secret Army and Warship.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.53)
2 1
2.5 3
3 2
3.5 3
4 7
4.5 1
5 1

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Michael J. Bird is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Michael J. Bird is composed of 1 name.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 139,619,266 books! | Top bar: Always visible