Picture of author.

Raymond Carver (1938–1988)

Author of What We Talk about When We Talk about Love

235+ Works 18,805 Members 295 Reviews 195 Favorited

About the Author

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most show more important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988. (Bowker Author Biography) show less

Works by Raymond Carver

What We Talk about When We Talk about Love (1981) 3,913 copies, 61 reviews
Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988) 3,322 copies, 38 reviews
Cathedral: Stories (1983) 3,122 copies, 96 reviews
Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? Stories (1976) 1,889 copies, 20 reviews
Short Cuts: Selected Stories (1993) 1,069 copies, 9 reviews
Fires: Essays, Poems, Stories (1983) 561 copies, 5 reviews
Collected Stories (2009) 534 copies, 11 reviews
All of Us: The Collected Poems (1996) 502 copies, 6 reviews
A New Path To The Waterfall (1989) — Author — 379 copies, 7 reviews
Elephant and other stories (1988) 339 copies, 5 reviews
American Short Story Masterpieces (1987) 332 copies, 1 review
Beginners (2009) 294 copies, 5 reviews
No heroics, please : uncollected writings (1991) 198 copies, 2 reviews
Ultramarine: Poems (1986) 196 copies, 2 reviews
The Best American Short Stories 1986 (1986) — Editor & Introduction — 97 copies
Tres rosas amarillas (1988) 81 copies, 2 reviews
Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? {story} (1976) 38 copies, 2 reviews
In a Marine Light: Selected Poems (1984) 38 copies, 1 review
Vidas cruzadas (1995) 33 copies
Furious Seasons (1977) 29 copies
Dostoevsky: A Screenplay / King Dog: A Screenplay (1985) — Author — 25 copies
Todos los cuentos (2016) 24 copies
At Night the Salmon Move (1976) 21 copies
Limonata e altri racconti (2011) 17 copies
Erste und letzte Stories (2002) 13 copies
Tutti i racconti (2005) 12 copies
68 Contos de Raymond Carver (2010) 12 copies
A Small, Good Thing {story} (2011) 11 copies
Adam Bartos: Yard Sale Photographs (2009) 11 copies, 1 review
Winter Insomnia (1970) 10 copies
En alvorlig samtale og andre noveller (2000) 9 copies, 1 review
Voorzichtig (1986) 5 copies
Tell It All (2005) 5 copies, 1 review
En aldri så liten matbit (1996) 4 copies
Gazebo {story} 3 copies
Üks hea asi 3 copies
Les feux (2015) 3 copies
Louise Bourgeois 2001 (2001) 3 copies
Grannar (1991) 3 copies
Katedralen 3 copies
If It Please You (1984) 3 copies
Uit het oosten, licht (2021) 2 copies
Fogos 2 copies
Dostoevsky: A Screenplay (1987) 2 copies
Vrij Nederland 2 copies
Errand {story} 2 copies
Menudo {story} 2 copies
Boxes {story} 2 copies
Fever {story} 2 copies
Fat {story} 2 copies
Collectors 1 copy
Night School 1 copy
Why, Honey? 1 copy
The Ducks 1 copy
What is It? 1 copy
Signals 1 copy
Thánh đường 1 copy, 1 review
Near Klamath (1968) 1 copy
Yazmak Üzerine (2022) 1 copy
Poésie (2016) 1 copy
The Idea 1 copy
Odakle zovem (2019) 1 copy
Svi mi - sabrane pesme (2017) 1 copy
Pesme 1 copy
No title 1 copy
Αρχάριοι: (2010) 1 copy
Viewfinder 1 copy
Three stories (1990) 1 copy
For Tess 1 copy
Kindling 1 copy
Peresa 1 copy
Night School {story} — Author — 1 copy
Un corte de pelo (2013) 1 copy
50 digte (2012) 1 copy

Associated Works

The Best American Short Stories of the Century (2000) — Contributor — 1,576 copies, 10 reviews
Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (1995) — Contributor, some editions — 937 copies, 7 reviews
A Book of Luminous Things: An International Anthology of Poetry (1996) — Contributor — 836 copies, 11 reviews
My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead (2008) — Contributor — 771 copies, 20 reviews
The Oxford Book of American Short Stories (1992) — Contributor — 760 copies, 3 reviews
The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Short Stories (1994) — Contributor — 485 copies, 2 reviews
American Gothic Tales (1996) — Contributor — 465 copies, 5 reviews
The World of the Short Story: A 20th Century Collection (1986) — Contributor — 464 copies, 4 reviews
Birthday Stories (2002) — Contributor — 457 copies, 5 reviews
Points of View: Revised Edition (1966) — Contributor — 418 copies, 7 reviews
Flash Fiction: 72 Very Short Stories (1992) — Contributor — 399 copies, 9 reviews
The Best American Short Stories 2000 (2000) — Contributor — 397 copies, 2 reviews
The Granta Book of the American Short Story (1992) — Contributor — 369 copies, 1 review
Sudden Fiction: American Short-Short Stories (1986) — Contributor — 363 copies, 6 reviews
100 Years of the Best American Short Stories (2015) — Contributor — 294 copies, 3 reviews
Object Lessons: The Paris Review Presents the Art of the Short Story (2012) — Contributor — 222 copies, 9 reviews
The New Granta Book of the American Short Story (2007) — Contributor — 214 copies, 1 review
Nothing But You: Love Stories From The New Yorker (1997) — Contributor — 188 copies
The Best American Short Stories of the 80s (1990) — Contributor — 165 copies
Granta 25: The Murderee (1988) — Contributor — 162 copies, 1 review
The Best American Short Stories 1988 (1988) — Contributor — 161 copies
Granta 21: The Story-Teller (1987) — Contributor — 160 copies, 1 review
Granta 68: Love Stories (1999) — Contributor — 153 copies, 1 review
The Best American Short Stories 1987 (1987) — Contributor — 130 copies
Emergency Kit (1996) — Contributor, some editions — 110 copies, 1 review
Prize Stories 2000: The O. Henry Awards (2000) — Contributor — 99 copies
The Norton Book of Friendship (1991) — Contributor — 96 copies
American Short Stories (1976) — Contributor, some editions — 95 copies
The Granta Book of the Family (1995) — Contributor — 88 copies
A Life in Medicine: A Literary Anthology (2002) — Contributor — 84 copies
The Oxford Book of Travel Stories (1996) — Contributor — 74 copies, 1 review
The Best American Short Stories 1983 (1983) — Contributor — 73 copies
Granta 14: Autobiography (1985) — Contributor — 72 copies
Granta 8: Dirty Realism (1983) — Contributor — 72 copies
Great Esquire Fiction (1983) — Contributor — 71 copies, 2 reviews
The Heath Anthology of American Literature, Concise Edition (2003) — Contributor — 69 copies, 1 review
The Penguin Book of the Modern American Short Story (2021) — Contributor — 62 copies
Granta 147: 40th Birthday Special (2019) — Contributor — 58 copies, 1 review
Granta 12: The True Adventures of The Rolling Stones (1984) — Contributor — 44 copies, 1 review
Granta 4: Beyond the Crisis (1990) — Contributor — 36 copies
The Best American Short Stories 1982 (1982) — Contributor — 29 copies
The Best American Short Stories 1967 (1967) — Contributor — 27 copies
A Good Man: Fathers and Sons in Poetry and Prose (1993) — Contributor — 20 copies, 1 review
Twentieth-Century American Short Stories: An Anthology (1975) — Contributor — 18 copies
Horse Stories (2012) — Contributor — 16 copies
20th Century American Short Stories, Volume 1 (1995) — Contributor — 16 copies, 1 review
Bright Poems for Dark Days: An Anthology for Hope (2021) — Contributor — 11 copies
A Vintage Christmas (Vintage Minis) (2018) — Contributor — 9 copies, 1 review
Cutting Edges: Young American Fiction for the 70's (1973) — Contributor — 9 copies
Reasons to Believe: New Voices in American Fiction (1988) — Contributor — 6 copies, 1 review
Presentask med fyra noveller om kärlek II (2020) — Contributor — 3 copies
Enjoying Stories (1987) — Contributor — 2 copies
TriQuarterly 48: Western Stories — Contributor — 2 copies

Tagged

20th century (282) America (51) American (423) American fiction (100) American literature (511) anthology (1,389) Carver (53) classics (66) collection (186) ebook (40) essays (187) fiction (3,075) first edition (61) genre - short story (51) Granta (146) Library of America (50) literary fiction (50) literature (643) love (58) minimalism (104) narrativa (45) non-fiction (110) own (123) owned (46) poetry (899) Raymond Carver (141) read (189) relationships (44) short fiction (253) short stories (3,808) short story (203) short story collections (73) stories (324) textbook (74) to-read (1,318) unread (175) US (45) US literature (60) USA (183) writing (109)

Common Knowledge

Members

Reviews

Where I’m Calling From is a masterpiece of short fiction, a collection of 37 stories by one of the most influential American writers of the 20th century, and my favourite author, Raymond Carver. The stories span his entire career, from his early works that explore the lives of ordinary people struggling with alcoholism, poverty, and loneliness, to his later works that show more hope and redemption. Carver’s style is minimalist, precise, and realistic, often using dialogue and details to reveal the emotions and conflicts of his characters. The stories deal with themes such as love, loss, addiction, family, and death, and often end with an epiphany or a twist. Some of the most famous stories in the book are “Cathedral”, “A Small, Good Thing”, and of course the devastating “What We Talk About When We Talk About Love.” If you are new to Carver, this is an excellent place to begin. If you are a lifelong fan, this is the perfect book to add to your collection.… (more)
 
Flagged
Andrew.Lafleche | 37 other reviews | Feb 23, 2024 |
This is a comprehensive collection of Raymond Carver's published and unpublished stories. It includes stories found after his death as well as at least one draft of a story subsequently published in a more complete form.
½
 
Flagged
jwhenderson | 10 other reviews | Feb 20, 2024 |
purely meaningful, unpretentious writing. so good
 
Flagged
torturedgenius | 6 other reviews | Jan 19, 2024 |
A couple of the stories hit home for me. The writing is good minimalist fair. Unfortunately, most of the stories didn't appeal to me. The writing isn't my taste either. Does this make sense? I could see why many would love this book of stories, but for me I will pass on future Carver.
 
Flagged
wvlibrarydude | 60 other reviews | Jan 14, 2024 |

Lists

Awards

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Shannon Ravenel Series editor
Tess Gallagher Introduction, Foreword, Contributor, , Author

Statistics

Works
235
Also by
67
Members
18,805
Popularity
#1,160
Rating
4.1
Reviews
295
ISBNs
479
Languages
31
Favorited
195

Charts & Graphs