HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
16,742 (29,204)3901,150 (4.06)1930
Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988. (Bowker Author Biography)
— biography from What We Talk about When We Talk about Love
… (more)
Cathedral 2,754 copies, 89 reviews
Short Cuts: Selected Stories 981 copies, 9 reviews
Fires: Essays, Poems, Stories 486 copies, 4 reviews
Collected Stories 472 copies, 9 reviews
All of Us: The Collected Poems 446 copies, 6 reviews
A New Path to the Waterfall 345 copies, 4 reviews
Elephant and other stories 306 copies, 4 reviews
Beginners 264 copies, 6 reviews
Ultramarine: Poems 177 copies, 2 reviews
The Best American Short Stories 1986 (Editor & Introduction) 85 copies
Tres rosas amarillas 66 copies, 2 reviews
Furious Seasons 27 copies
Vidas cruzadas 26 copies
Voorzichtig 6 copies
Tell It All 5 copies, 1 review
Les feux 3 copies
Grannar 3 copies
Üks hea asi 3 copies
Boxes {story} 2 copies
Fat {story} 2 copies
Fever {story} 2 copies
50 digte 1 copy
[No title] 1 copy
Night School {story} (Author) 1 copy
For Tess 1 copy
Peresa 1 copy
Kindling 1 copy
The Best American Short Stories of the Century (Contributor) 1,455 copies, 9 reviews
Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Contributor, some editions) 847 copies, 6 reviews
My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead (Contributor) 716 copies, 19 reviews
The Oxford Book of American Short Stories (Contributor) 674 copies, 2 reviews
American Gothic Tales (Contributor) 403 copies, 5 reviews
Points of View: Revised Edition (Contributor) 379 copies, 6 reviews
Flash Fiction: 72 Very Short Stories (Contributor) 362 copies, 10 reviews
The Best American Short Stories 2000 (Contributor) 361 copies, 2 reviews
The Granta Book of the American Short Story (Contributor) 344 copies, 1 review
Sudden Fiction: American Short-Short Stories (Contributor) 338 copies, 6 reviews
100 Years of The Best American Short Stories (Contributor) 214 copies, 4 reviews
The New Granta Book of the American Short Story (Contributor) 189 copies, 1 review
Granta 25: The Murderee (Contributor) 149 copies, 1 review
The Best American Short Stories 1988 (Contributor) 147 copies
Granta 68: Love Stories (Contributor) 146 copies, 1 review
Granta 21: The Story-Teller (Contributor) 128 copies, 1 review
The Best American Short Stories 1987 (Contributor) 119 copies
Emergency Kit (Contributor, some editions) 100 copies, 1 review
Norton Book of Friendship (Contributor) 87 copies
American Short Stories (Contributor, some editions) 80 copies
The Granta Book of the Family (Contributor) 75 copies
The Oxford Book of Travel Stories (Contributor) 69 copies, 1 review
The Best American Short Stories 1983 (Contributor) 65 copies
Granta 8: Dirty Realism (Contributor) 64 copies
Granta 14: Autobiography (Contributor) 62 copies
Granta 147: 40th Birthday Special (Contributor) 43 copies, 1 review
Granta 4: Beyond the Crisis (Contributor) 31 copies
The Best American Short Stories 1982 (Contributor) 25 copies
The Best American Short Stories 1967 (Contributor) 24 copies, 1 review
A Good Man: Fathers and Sons in Poetry and Prose (Contributor) 19 copies, 1 review
A Vintage Christmas (Vintage Minis) (Contributor) 7 copies, 1 review

Top members (works)

Member favorites

Members: Danieldaking, adaorhell, gangleri, Dreamweaver99, SolomonCinco, frogalina, Kevinred, MizzBirdsong, CarltonC, Tolstoys_ghost, BayanX, Pickled_vegetables, princefan, carsonab, dew_enfolded, JHL03, John_Graves_Simcoe, jlgamband, missizicks, HeatherMoss (show 173 more), necrodeathmortem, evforija, okwari, jphamilton, JennieKillough, dharmalita, TexasBookLover, pseudoeden, MSarki, Mad_Mac, sollocks, shaunbelcher, splitmyspine, fact62, brianw4815, outofprint1, MaskedMumbler, private member, edenic, mrkay, Fredselbow, prmlibrarian, Bertolt, jotranen, tenth_sheep, frosanne, robnormal, DigUnlocked, tamamushi, lulks, akrnr, killtacobell, rodolfob., alphaselene, private member, ben.thomas, mattsya, Hraefn, holeyone, JacobPurah, Repollo, jlspad, velazq, josephdante, clairewiltshire, breathtest, railarson, htbou, trivigo, folks, nottheradio, Grapheme, mara_, KarenFunt, catmeyoo, private member, EaterSleeperReader, AlRiske, private member, davidbersell, yurenasar, forestofdreams, Varam, benedetto.fiorelli, bdfitzpatrick, caribou32, katiemullen, goldfishrobot, sarahdeanjean, janitsaari, drewjameson, Damian2902, Bonita_Aranda, colleenkane, ajsomerset, sanford9850, jimmyj, gspatel, SunnyMurdoch, private member, lindsaay, keibean, mjmccracken, blackhornet, advincent, DeadAlready, kylekatz, 19692, aaronsg, katiebobus, TSzakacs, private member, fishinidaho, DRFP, muleson, private member, reader509, montymike, private member, brendanphughes, DeanaG, Rozeman, jumpingfrog214, applegatelibrary, Brasidas, amandaknichols, shearrob, JackTheRabbit, Arthur.Goldman, Picola43, whymaggiemay, dawnlovesbooks, vincentvan, cupofsugarborrowed, ehduke, natbeourfriend, Detail_Muse, ms.cat, verbad, private member, jericb, GregoryHeath, fergarcia1966, mtehbob, private member, HarvReviewer, chasingdogma54, InTheNo, eairo, dauroveras, private member, wesh, SeanLong, private member, cbraspenning, CelesteM, Ragle, kikireader, hombredemaderas, findundercan, TomJoaquin, rjuris, Grammath, dcafaro, intothetrees, caseyjames, ellisonite, NetLeaper, paugust, mattbriggs, coreymesler, papalaz, parmaviolet, jkamnik, cedwardes, BORGES, hayduke, Ernest, Caroline_McElwee, sljh0, petescisco, fish1861, vexkitten, udo, SaraBat86, seanstew, misirlou, enkyklios, innominate, davidabrams, MikeFarquhar, etcetera, xkyzero

Add to favorites
20th century (279) America (45) American (403) American fiction (97) American literature (487) anthology (1,309) Carver (47) classics (41) collection (176) drama (37) essays (182) favorites (38) fiction (2,919) first edition (60) genere racconto (51) Granta (127) Library of America (44) literary fiction (40) literature (591) love (58) minimalism (98) non-fiction (102) own (112) owned (39) poetry (853) Raymond Carver (130) read (176) relationships (41) short fiction (241) short stories (3,647) short story (186) short story collections (66) stories (312) textbook (66) to-read (1,125) unread (152) US (43) US literature (49) USA (170) writing (104)

Raymond Carver has 3 past events. (show)

Member ratings

Average: (4.06)
0.5 4
1 32
1.5 9
2 163
2.5 37
3 690
3.5 206
4 1575
4.5 190
5 1483

Author pictures (3)

  

(see all 3 author pictures)

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 170,169,031 books! | Top bar: Always visible