Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Margaret Craven (1901–1980)

Author of I Heard the Owl Call My Name

Includes the names: Margret Craven, Margaret Caven, Margaret Craven

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
2,143 (2,174)349,516 (3.86)20
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Margaret Craven was born in Helena, Montana, and grew up in Bellingham, Washington. In 1924, she graduated with distinction from Stanford University in Palo Alto, California and moved to San Jose, where she took a job as secretary to the managing editor of the San Jose Mercury Herald. She soon began writing editorials, first under the editor’s name, then under her own. Later she moved to San Francisco, where she met Alice B. Toklas and Gertrude Stein. She wrote short stories that were published in the Saturday Evening Post for about 20 years, beginning in 1941. She learned about the natives of the Pacific Northwest coast first from her brother Wilson, who had visited there, and then from reading published accounts. In 1962, she made a visit to Kingcome and other ancient Kwakiutl villages in British Columbia, which provided the material for her first novel, I Heard the Owl Call My Name (1967). It became a bestseller after being published in the USA in 1973. The same year, it was adapted as a CBS television movie. She went on to publish a second novel, Walk Gently This Good Earth (1977); an autobiography, Again Calls the Owl (1980); and a collection of short stories, The Home Front (1981).
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.86)
0.5 2
1 6
2 12
2.5 8
3 51
3.5 25
4 95
4.5 15
5 77

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Margaret Craven is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Margaret Craven is composed of 4 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 157,660,734 books! | Top bar: Always visible