Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
4,708 (5,023)504,571 (3.76)270
Dion Fortune (born Violet Mary Firth, 1890-1946), founder of the Society of the Inner Light, is recognized as one of the most luminous figures of 20th century esoteric thought. A prolific writer, pioneer psychologist, powerful psychic, and spiritualist, she dedicated her life to the revival of the Western Mystery Tradition. She was also a member of the Order of the Golden Dawn, whose members included A. E. Waite, Aleister Crowley, and W. B. Yeats.
— biography from Mystical Qabalah
… (more)
Disambiguation Notice

"Dion Fortune" is the nom-de-plume of Violet Mary Firth Evans

Mystical Qabalah 874 copies, 6 reviews
Psychic Self-Defense 573 copies, 8 reviews
The Sea Priestess 439 copies, 8 reviews
Moon Magic 284 copies, 1 review
The Secrets of Dr. Taverner 201 copies, 5 reviews
Cosmic Doctrine 164 copies
Sane Occultism 149 copies, 3 reviews
Demon Lover 149 copies, 2 reviews
Applied Magic 139 copies, 1 review
Esoteric Orders and Their Work 137 copies, 1 review
The Winged Bull 129 copies, 3 reviews
Through the Gates of Death 121 copies, 1 review
Aspects of Occultism 118 copies, 1 review
Blood-Lust 2 copies
Occultisme 1 copy
Time 1 copy
Revival 1 copy
Recalled 1 copy
anthology (37) ceremonial (24) ceremonial magic (52) Dion Fortune (197) England (22) esoteric (166) esotericism (24) fantasy (62) fiction (263) fortune (44) Glastonbury (21) Golden Dawn (67) history (19) horror (34) Kabbalah (269) magic (278) magick (203) meditation (20) metaphysics (22) mysticism (54) non-fiction (141) novel (36) occult (587) occult fiction (87) occultism (139) pagan (31) paganism (33) philosophy (24) psychology (37) QBLH (18) read (23) religion (37) ritual magic (44) short stories (49) spirituality (81) to-read (109) unread (18) vampires (26) Western Mystery Tradition (19) witchcraft (34)
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Dion Fortune (1891-1946), founder of The Society of the Inner Light, was a prolific writer, pioneer psychologist, and powerful psychic. Author of the highly acclaimed Psychic Self-Defense, her novels include The Goat Foot God, The Demon Lover, and The Winged Bull.
Disambiguation notice
"Dion Fortune" is the nom-de-plume of Violet Mary Firth Evans

Member ratings

Average: (3.76)
1 12
1.5 1
2 38
2.5 3
3 151
3.5 25
4 197
4.5 23
5 132

Author pictures (2)


(see all 2 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Dion Fortune is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Dion Fortune is composed of 13 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 173,682,638 books! | Top bar: Always visible