This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Alice Mary Hadfield (1908–1989)

Author of Charles Williams: An Exploration of His Life and Work

Includes the names: Alice M. Hadfield

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
56 (90)0205,214 (3.71)00
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Alice Mary Hadfield, née Smyth, was born in Cirencester, England (some sources say Birdholme in Derbyshire) and educated at Oxford University and Mount Holyoke College, Massachusetts. Her first husband, Peter Miller, was killed very early in World War II. Alice Mary went to Bermuda with her baby daughter and worked in the British code breaking service. She became a book editor and was the coordinating editor of the first edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, published in 1941. In 1945, she married historian Charles Hadfield, later co-founder of the London publishing firm David & Charles, with whom she had three more children. Alice Mary was named librarian at Oxford University Press's Amen House. Her first independent published work was a novel, What Happens Next (1950). She wrote on a wide range of subjects that included British and local history, and collaborated on a number of books with her husband. She produced an adaptation of Sir Thomas Malory's Le Morte d'Arthur called King Arthur and the Round Table (1953); The Chartist Land Company (1970); several books on the Cotswolds, including Introducing the Cotswolds (1976); and a series of children's books known as The Williver Chronicles, beginning with Williver's Luck (1964). Her last book was a biography, Charles Williams: An Exploration of His Life and Work (1983), completed with the help of her husband.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.71)
3 3
4 3
5 1

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Alice Mary Hadfield is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Alice Mary Hadfield is composed of 2 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 131,845,989 books! | Top bar: Always visible