Picture of author.

Anna Jacobs

Author of Freedom's Land

115+ Works 1,417 Members 32 Reviews

About the Author

Includes the name: Anna Jacobs

Disambiguation Notice:

Writes historical sagas and modern novels as Anna Jacobs and fantasy novels as Shannah Jay (pen name).


Works by Anna Jacobs

Freedom's Land (2008) 44 copies
Salem Street (1994) 33 copies, 2 reviews
Our Lizzie (1999) 33 copies
Winds of Change (2012) 29 copies, 1 review
The Trader's Wife (2012) 29 copies, 6 reviews
Farewell to Lancashire (2009) 28 copies, 1 review
An Independent Woman (2005) 27 copies
Ridge Hill (1995) 27 copies, 1 review
The Trader's Sister (2012) 27 copies, 1 review
Heir to Greyladies (2013) 27 copies
Legacy of Greyladies (2015) 27 copies
Lancashire Lass (2000) 24 copies
Our Eva (2003) 24 copies
Mistress of Greyladies (2014) 24 copies
Hallam Square (1996) 24 copies
Destiny's Path (2011) 23 copies, 2 reviews
Persons of Rank (1992) 23 copies
Twopenny Rainbows (2004) 22 copies
Our Polly (2001) 22 copies
A Place of Hope (2013) 21 copies
High Street (1995) 21 copies
A Time for Renewal (2015) 21 copies
The Wishing Well (2004) 21 copies, 1 review
Peppercorn Street (2014) 21 copies
Our Mary Ann (2003) 21 copies
Bright Day Dawning (2006) 20 copies, 1 review
Beyond the Sunset (2010) 20 copies, 2 reviews
Yesterday's Girl (2008) 19 copies
Licence to Dream (2010) 19 copies, 1 review
The Trader's Dream (2012) 19 copies
Marrying A Stranger (2013) 18 copies
Threepenny Dreams (2004) 17 copies
A Pennyworth of Sunshine (2003) 17 copies, 1 review
Saving Willowbrook (2009) 17 copies, 1 review
Pride of Lancashire (2005) 16 copies, 1 review
The Trader's Gift (2013) 16 copies, 1 review
Spinners Lake (1997) 16 copies
In Focus (2009) 16 copies
Kirsty's Vineyard (2007) 16 copies, 1 review
Family Connections (2007) 16 copies, 1 review
One Quiet Woman (2017) 15 copies
In Search of Hope (2013) 15 copies
Moving On (2011) 14 copies, 1 review
Like No Other (2000) 13 copies
The Trader's Reward (2014) 13 copies
Heart of the Town (2006) 12 copies, 1 review
The Corrigan Legacy (2006) 12 copies
A Time To Rejoice (2016) 12 copies
Lancashire Legacy (2001) 11 copies
Down Weavers Lane (2002) 11 copies
Replenish the Earth (2002) 11 copies
Calico Road (2005) 11 copies
Jessie (1998) 11 copies
Mistress of Marymoor (2002) 10 copies
The Northern Lady (2010) 9 copies
One Special Village (2018) 9 copies
Tomorrow's Path (2015) 9 copies, 1 review
Chestnut Lane (2008) 9 copies, 1 review
Star of the North (2006) 8 copies, 1 review
A Stranger in Honeyfield (2016) 7 copies
Short and Sweet (2011) 7 copies, 1 review
Tomorrow's Promises (2008) 7 copies
One Perfect Family (2019) 6 copies
Peace Comes to Honeyfield (2018) 6 copies
Silver Wishes (2022) 5 copies
A Valley Secret (2022) 5 copies
A Valley Dream (2021) 5 copies
Change of Season (2003) 5 copies
Seasons of Love (2000) 5 copies
The Dower House Mystery (2019) 3 copies
A Forbidden Embrace (2001) 2 copies
Larch Tree Lane (2023) 2 copies
Le destin de Cassandra (2018) 1 copy

Associated Works


Common Knowledge

Other names
Jay, Shannah
Littleborough, The United Kingdom
Disambiguation notice
Writes historical sagas and modern novels as Anna Jacobs and fantasy novels as Shannah Jay (pen name).



Good story, interesting characters, well written.
Abcdarian | 5 other reviews | May 18, 2024 |
Bright Day Dawning by Anna Jacobs is the third book in her Preston Family series. This book picks up immediately after the last book, and with only one more book in the series, a number of story lines were finished with this volume.

Carrie and Eli are rebuilding their music hall which was burnt down at the end of the last book but their inexperience in business finds them hiring a con-man instead of a respectable architect. We also follow the misadventures of another young couple as Gwynna & Lucas must fight to escape the clutches of an evil land-owner who is trying to control Lucas and punish Gwynna for her past. We also follow the story of Maria, the widow of Athol Stott and see her beginning to reclaim her life.

While the plot-lines follow a familiar path of evil men doing nasty things to good people, I still enjoyed the read. There is a comfort in these books, knowing that although bad things are going to happen, you can rely on good triumphing in the end. Although offering nothing particularly new or different, Bright Day Dawning was a comfortable escape read.
… (more)
DeltaQueen50 | Mar 27, 2024 |
LisaBergin | Apr 12, 2023 |
Star of the North is the second book in author Anna Jacobs series about the Preston Family. While the first book mostly featured the eldest sister, Carrie, this 2nd book features the second sister, Marjorie. Marjorie is the pretty one of the Preston sisters, but she is a dreamer and dreams of going on the stage and performing. She has no desire to have children or do menial work so she is thrilled when she is asked to assist singer, Denby Sinclair with his act.

When Denby Sinclair moves on, he offers to take Marjorie and, even marries her to reassure her family but unfortunately Denby has a huge secret that will eventually come to light and ruin Marjories’ life. While Marjorie is the main character in the story, we also get caught up with the rest of the family that we got to know in the first book. Unfortunately the cruel mill owner, Athol Stott, is slowly recovering from his many injuries that occurred at the end of the last book, and he has vowed revenge upon the Preston family.

Although the characters are fairly one-dimensional and the plot predictable, I enjoyed escaping into this book. Light, undemanding yet dramatic, I particular enjoyed the setting of the various music halls that Marjorie travelled to. There are two more books in this series and I will be continuing on and reading more about this family.
… (more)
DeltaQueen50 | Mar 18, 2023 |



You May Also Like

Associated Authors


Also by

Charts & Graphs