This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Margaret Lane (1907–1994)

Author of The Tale of Beatrix Potter: A Biography

Includes the names: Magaret Lane, Margaret Lane, Lane Margaret

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
751 (50,060)75922,652 (3.92)10
1001 (162) 1001 books (189) 19th century (1,542) 19th century literature (190) biography (170) British (801) British fiction (116) British literature (825) Bronte (367) Christmas (110) classic (2,429) classic fiction (212) classic literature (335) classics (2,106) ebook (224) Emily Bronte (186) England (736) English (364) English literature (790) fiction (5,391) Folio Society (142) gothic (712) Heathcliff (117) historical fiction (129) kindle (180) literature (1,166) love (340) novel (1,021) own (260) paperback (119) read (545) Roman (154) romance (1,141) to-read (931) tragedy (117) unread (301) Victorian (703) victorian literature (145) women (110) Yorkshire (185)
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Margaret Lane was first employed as a journalist for the Daily Express in 1928, and then as a special correspondent for the International News Service in the USA in 1931. This was followed by a further six years back home in England with the Daily Mail. In 1934, she married Bryan Wallace; they later divorced. In 1944, she married as her second husband Francis Plantagenet Hastings, 15th Earl of Huntingdon, the noted painter, and the couple had two daughters. In addition to her journalism, novels, and other writings, Margaret Lane was president at different times of the Dickens Fellowship, the Johnson Society, the Bronte Society, and the Jane Austen Society. Margaret Lane also produced a series of natural history books for children entitled The Fox, The Spider, The Stickleback, The Squirrel, The Frog and The Beaver (all 1982). She was most famous for her biography of Samuel Johnson, published in 1975.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.92)
0.5 35
1 254
1.5 45
2 613
2.5 149
3 1666
3.5 457
4 3019
4.5 418
5 3352

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Margaret Lane is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Margaret Lane is composed of 4 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,184,414 books! | Top bar: Always visible