Big news! LibraryThing is now free to all! Read the blog post and discuss the change on Talk.
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Margaret Leech (1893–1974)

Author of Reveille in Washington, 1860-1865

Includes the names: Leech Magaret, Mararet Leech, Leech Margaret

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
845 (848)1022,700 (4.02)00
Reveille in Washington, 1860-1865 586 copies, 5 reviews
In the Days of McKinley 209 copies, 3 reviews
The Garfield Orbit 20 copies, 1 review
Tin Wedding 10 copies
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Margaret Leech was born in Newburgh, New York, and earned a B.A. from Vassar College in 1915. She moved to New York City and began her writing career in the advertising and publicity departments of Condé Nast. After World War I, she served on the American Committee for Devastated France and became a journalist and author. She was a member of the famous Algonquin Round Table of wits and writers in Manhattan. In 1928, she married Ralph Pulitzer, publisher of the New York World, with whom she had a daughter. Her father-in-law Joseph Pulitzer had established the Pulitzer Prize by a bequest to Columbia University in 1917. Magaret became the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for History and one of only two people to win it twice. The first was in 1942 for Reveille in Washington, 1860-1865, a history of the capital during the American Civil War. The second was for In the Days of McKinley (1960), which also received the Bancroft Prize. Margaret Leech also wrote three novels: The Back of the Book (1924), Tin Wedding (1926), and The Feathered Nest (1928). In 1927, she co-wrote a biography of Anthony Comstock with Heywood Broun, and she collaborated with Beatrice Kaufman on a play, Divided by Three (1934).
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (4.02)
1 1
2 1
3 11
3.5 5
4 23
4.5 4
5 18

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Margaret Leech is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Margaret Leech is composed of 4 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 148,863,204 books! | Top bar: Always visible