This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Wolf Mankowitz (1924–1998)

Author of A Kid for Two Farthings

Includes the names: Wo Mankowitz, Wolf Makowitz, Wolf Mankowitz, Wolf Mamkowitz

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
437 (486)1237,854 (3.52)00

Top members (works)

Member favorites

Members: None

Add to favorites
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Cyril Wolf Mankowitz was born in the impoverished East End of London, to a family of Russian Jewish descent. He read English at Downing College, Cambridge, where he was tutored by F.R. Leavis. During World War II, he volunteered to serve in the British Army and as a coal miner. After the war, he became a noted dealer and authority on antique porcelain, especially Wedgwood, beginning in a street market and working his way up to his own shop. In 1953, he published The Portland Vase and the Wedgwood Copies, a definitive book on the subject that sold well; later he would be the editor of the Concise Encyclopaedia of English Pottery and Porcelain (1957). At the same time, he was writing short novels. Make Me An Offer was published in 1952, and his most successful book, A Kid for Two Farthings, appeared in 1953. The latter was adapted as a film in 1955 directed by Carol Reed. Mankowitz himself wrote the screenplay. He also wrote the screenplays for The Millionairess (1960), based on the 1936 play by George Bernard Shaw, and for the science fiction film The Day the Earth Caught Fire (1961). He wrote the script for the series Dickens of London (1976) made by Yorkshire Television and then the nonfiction book of the same name, based on his research. Other works included the novels My Old Man's a Dustman (1956) and A Night With Casanova (1991); a volume of short stories, The Mendelman Fire and Other Stories (1957); a documentary on Yiddish cinema in the 1930s, Almonds and Raisins (1984); and plays such as The Samson Riddle, The Bespoke Overcoat, It Should Happen to a Dog, The Mighty Hunter and The Irish Hebrew Lesson (1978). With his wife Ann Seligmann, a psychoanalyst, he had four sons.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.52)
1 1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 2
3 15
3.5 5
4 19
4.5 1
5 6

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Wolf Mankowitz is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Wolf Mankowitz is composed of 5 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,227,659 books! | Top bar: Always visible