This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsRatingFavorited   Events   
    No works currently cataloged.

Top members (works)


Recently added


Member favorites

Members: None

Add to favorites
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Margaret Campbell, Duchess of Argyll, née Ethel Margaret Whigham, was the only child of George Hay Whigham, a Scottish multi-millionaire businessman and his wife Helen Mann Hannay. She grew up mainly in New York City, where she attended the exclusive Hewitt School for girls. In 1930, she was presented at Court in London and was considered the debutante of the year. Shortly afterwards, she announced her engagement to Charles Guy Fulke Greville, 7th Earl of Warwick, however, the wedding never took place. Instead, in 1933, after converting to the Roman Catholic faith, she married Charles Sweeny, an American golfer and socialite, with whom she had three children. The couple divorced in 1947.

In 1951, she remarried to Ian Douglas Campbell, 11th Duke of Argyll. This marriage was marked by serious problems of alcoholism, drug use, financial extravagance, and suspected infidelity and by 1959 they were living separate lives. In 1963, the Duke accused his wife of adultery and produced sexually explicit Polaroid photographs of her with an unknown man or men. A sensational divorce trail ensued that made her name infamous. Margaret wrote her memoirs, entitled Forget Not, published in 1975. From the enormous wealth of her youth, she died in penury in 1993.
Disambiguation notice


Member ratings

Average: No ratings.

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Duchess of Argyll Margaret is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Duchess of Argyll Margaret is composed of 5 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 129,629,966 books! | Top bar: Always visible