Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
5,845 (6,034)4214,175 (3.91)21
Adrian McKinty was born in Northern Ireland. He read politics and philosophy at the University of Oxford. He is a crime fiction novelist, blogger and book reviewer. His novels include the Sean Duffy series and the Lighthouse Trilogy. He made the Ned Kelly 2015 shortlists in the category of Best Novel with his title Gun Street Girl. He won the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Award for best paperback original with his novel, Rain Dogs. (Bowker Author Biography) — biography from The Chain… (more)
The Chain 1,333 copies, 73 reviews
The Cold, Cold Ground 708 copies, 62 reviews
Dead I Well May Be 416 copies, 12 reviews
The Island 388 copies, 29 reviews
I Hear the Sirens in the Street 369 copies, 36 reviews
In the Morning I'll Be Gone 339 copies, 27 reviews
Rain Dogs 282 copies, 25 reviews
Gun Street Girl 280 copies, 25 reviews
The Dead Yard 242 copies, 7 reviews
The Bloomsday Dead 242 copies, 13 reviews
The Lighthouse Land 166 copies, 5 reviews
Falling Glass 157 copies, 19 reviews
Hidden River 150 copies, 6 reviews
Fifty Grand 142 copies, 10 reviews
Belfast Noir (Editor) 86 copies, 14 reviews
The Sun Is God 78 copies, 5 reviews
The Lighthouse War 72 copies, 1 review
Deviant 57 copies, 13 reviews
The Detective Up Late 38 copies, 2 reviews
Hang On, St. Christopher 6 copies, 3 reviews
Lee 2 copies, 1 review
No title 1 copy
OxCrimes (Contributor) 71 copies, 7 reviews
The Best British Mysteries 4 (Contributor) 25 copies, 1 review
Requiems for the Departed (Contributor, some editions) 13 copies
Shaken: Stories for Japan (Contributor) 12 copies, 1 review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. He studied politics and philosophy at Oxford University before moving to New York in the mid 1990s His first novel Dead I Well May Be (loosely based on his experiences as an illegal immigrant in the US) was published in 2003. In 2012 after moving to Australia with his wife and children he began publication of the critically acclaimed Sean Duffy series. In 2019 after giving up writing Adrian had a global hit with his standalone novel The Chain. Adrian's books have won the Edgar Award, the Ned Kelly Award (3 times), The Anthony Award, Barry Award, Macavity Award and the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. His books have been translated into over 40 languages.
Disambiguation notice

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Adrian McKinty's book Belfast Noir was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (3.91)
0.5 5
1 16
1.5 3
2 65
2.5 18
3 298
3.5 157
4 776
4.5 126
5 382

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Adrian McKinty is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Adrian McKinty is composed of 5 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 195,059,779 books! | Top bar: Always visible