Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Anne Michaels

Author of Fugitive Pieces

Includes the names: Anne Michaels

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
3,8011385,335 (3.71)200
Fugitive Pieces 2,749 copies, 67 reviews
The Winter Vault 593 copies, 40 reviews
The Adventures of Miss Petitfour 103 copies, 26 reviews
Poems 81 copies
Skin Divers 64 copies
All We Saw 33 copies, 1 review
Railtracks 28 copies, 1 review
Infinite Gradation 14 copies, 2 reviews
Miner's Pond 6 copies
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Anne Michaels, (b at Toronto 1958) the daughter of a Jewish-Polish immigrant, grew up in Toronto, and earned a BA in Honours English at the University of Toronto. Michaels's first novel, FUGITIVE PIECES (1996), brought her national recognition and awards, including the Trillium Prize and the Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award. The novel also garnered international acclaim, winning Britain's Orange Prize for Fiction and America's Lannan Literary Award for Fiction. Robert FULFORD observed that Fugitive Pieces "attracted more international praise than any first novel by a serious writer in Canadian history." A film version of Fugitive Pieces, directed by Jeremy Podeswa, was produced in 2006.

Like Fugitive Pieces' protagonist Jakob Beer, Anne Michaels is also a poet. Her first collection, The Weight of Oranges, won the 1986 Commonwealth Prize for the Americas. Miner's Pond (1991) was short-listed for a GOVERNOR GENERAL'S AWARD and won a Canadian Authors Association Award. Skin Divers was published in 1991. The poems from these three collections were published together, under the title Poems, in 2001.
Disambiguation notice

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Anne Michaels's book The Adventures of Miss Petitfour was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Anne Michaels's book The Winter Vault was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (3.71)
0.5 3
1 17
1.5 7
2 62
2.5 21
3 165
3.5 59
4 227
4.5 41
5 180

Author pictures (3)


(see all 3 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Anne Michaels is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Anne Michaels is composed of 2 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 158,976,193 books! | Top bar: Always visible