Picture of author.

Maggie Nelson

Author of The Argonauts

16+ Works 4,180 Members 131 Reviews 9 Favorited

About the Author

Maggie Nelson is a poet, critic, and nonfiction author of several books including The Argonauts, The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning, Bluets, and Jane: A Murder: She teaches in the School of Critical Studies at CalArts and lives in Los Angeles, California.

Works by Maggie Nelson

Associated Works

Suicide blonde (1992) — Introduction, some editions — 473 copies
The Best American Poetry 2002 (2002) — Contributor — 182 copies
The Writer's Notebook II: Craft Essays from Tin House (2012) — Contributor — 38 copies
Pathetic Literature (2022) — Contributor — 21 copies
Ellery Queen Mysteries: The Complete Series (2010) — Actor — 21 copies

Tagged

2016 (18) 2017 (19) 21st century (42) American (36) American literature (36) art (22) autobiography (21) biography (25) biography-memoir (18) color (16) crime (21) criticism (21) cultural studies (14) essay (25) essays (99) family (23) favorites (19) feminism (49) fiction (40) gender (33) goodreads (17) lgbt (22) LGBTQ (33) literary criticism (20) literature (19) Maggie Nelson (15) memoir (234) motherhood (28) murder (18) non-fiction (260) own (15) philosophy (41) poetry (210) pregnancy (19) queer (37) read (32) sexuality (26) to-read (619) true crime (42) USA (33)

Common Knowledge

Members

Reviews

There are things I don't love about this (it's very white-cis-lady about racism and some trans stuff---trying hard but not all the way there and not always conscious of the ways in which she's not all the way there), but it's also a very theory-heavy book that also manages to be very poetic and very readable, which is not an easy feat. And overall I did like it and did find many valuable things in it, so.
 
Flagged
caedocyon | 78 other reviews | Feb 13, 2024 |
Great, great, great.
 
Flagged
RachelGMB | 78 other reviews | Dec 27, 2023 |
Complex musings on freedom as the concept applies to art, sex, drugs, and climate change. Nelson shows through her deeply considered thinking that the complexities ARE the thing. Freedom is never one thing and it must always face its inherent complications and conflicts. In the meanwhile we must speak our moments of joy, we must feel and live. We are after all living.
 
Flagged
BookyMaven | 5 other reviews | Dec 6, 2023 |
Christmas present from Saul. Very good and strangely relatable. I have nothing in common except so much in common. So many of the same thoughts, influences, and experiences. The exterior details differ, but on the inside I know her well, she’s practically me. A very thoughtful and tender book. The sort of book I might have written but would have worried about being too contrived. Is it contrived? A little, but it’s still good. My but don’t we all have so much to expound upon. In the vein of Sontag and Barthes. Little bits pulled together around a family: its expansions and diminutions, but ultimate steady poignant march.… (more)
 
Flagged
BookyMaven | 78 other reviews | Dec 6, 2023 |

Lists

Awards

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Statistics

Works
16
Also by
5
Members
4,180
Popularity
#6,024
Rating
3.9
Reviews
131
ISBNs
125
Languages
11
Favorited
9

Charts & Graphs