Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Author photo. Used by permission of <A HREF="http://www.bakerpublishinggroup.com/">Baker Publishing Group</A>, copyright © 2008. All rights to this material are reserved. Materials are not to be distributed to other web locations for retrieval, published(see © info.)

Used by permission of Baker Publishing Group, copyright © 2008. All rights to this material are reserved. Materials are not to be distributed to other web locations for retrieval, published(see © info.)

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
52,951 (54,013)448273 (3.88)39
Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana. Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the "Love Comes Softly" and the "Prairie Legacy" series of books. Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children. (Bowker Author Biography) — biography from Love Comes Softly… (more)
Love Comes Softly 2,257 copies, 30 reviews
Love's Enduring Promise 1,646 copies, 15 reviews
When Calls the Heart 1,635 copies, 26 reviews
Love's Long Journey 1,467 copies, 9 reviews
Love's Abiding Joy 1,352 copies, 10 reviews
Love's Unending Legacy 1,289 copies, 6 reviews
Once Upon a Summer 1,271 copies, 12 reviews
A Gown of Spanish Lace 1,254 copies, 8 reviews
Love's Unfolding Dream 1,202 copies, 7 reviews
When Comes the Spring 1,196 copies, 11 reviews
Love Takes Wing 1,188 copies, 7 reviews
Love Finds a Home 1,170 copies, 6 reviews
Roses for Mama 1,153 copies, 9 reviews
The Calling of Emily Evans 1,143 copies, 8 reviews
When Breaks the Dawn 1,110 copies, 6 reviews
The Tender Years 1,095 copies, 6 reviews
When Hope Springs New 1,080 copies, 5 reviews
The Bluebird and the Sparrow 1,073 copies, 5 reviews
The Meeting Place 989 copies, 7 reviews
Heart of the Wilderness 958 copies, 6 reviews
The Centurion's Wife 957 copies, 33 reviews
They Called Her Mrs. Doc 956 copies, 8 reviews
A Woman Named Damaris 955 copies, 8 reviews
Winds of Autumn 941 copies, 6 reviews
Too Long a Stranger 916 copies, 4 reviews
A Bride for Donnigan 916 copies, 4 reviews
Julia's Last Hope 894 copies, 7 reviews
Winter is Not Forever 893 copies, 5 reviews
A Searching Heart 873 copies, 8 reviews
Drums of Change 850 copies, 10 reviews
Spring's Gentle Promise 833 copies, 2 reviews
The Measure of a Heart 829 copies, 7 reviews
A Quiet Strength 826 copies, 8 reviews
The Sacred Shore 795 copies, 5 reviews
Beyond the Gathering Storm 733 copies, 2 reviews
Another Homecoming (Author) 723 copies, 5 reviews
Like Gold Refined 705 copies, 3 reviews
The Birthright 701 copies, 5 reviews
Return to Harmony 694 copies, 4 reviews
When Tomorrow Comes 643 copies, 2 reviews
The Distant Shore 622 copies, 4 reviews
The Beloved Land 572 copies, 4 reviews
Dana's Valley (Author) 568 copies, 2 reviews
Tomorrow's Dream (Author) 544 copies, 1 review
The Hidden Flame 411 copies, 10 reviews
The Prodigal Cat 410 copies
Spunky's Diary 407 copies, 1 review
New Kid in Town 356 copies, 1 review
Ducktails 324 copies
Nana's Gift 320 copies
The Matchmakers 320 copies, 3 reviews
The Damascus Way 313 copies, 6 reviews
Where Courage Calls 264 copies, 17 reviews
Trouble in a Fur Coat 258 copies, 1 review
Prairie Dog Town 255 copies, 1 review
The Red Geranium 250 copies, 1 review
This Little Pig 238 copies
Where Trust Lies 152 copies, 15 reviews
Where Hope Prevails 101 copies, 5 reviews
Making Memories 89 copies, 2 reviews
What Does Love Look Like? 83 copies, 2 reviews
Unyielding Hope 64 copies, 5 reviews
When Calls the Heart [2013 TV Movie] (Author) 38 copies, 1 review
Sustaining Faith 38 copies, 5 reviews
Unfailing Love 30 copies, 3 reviews
Spunky's Circus Adventure 22 copies, 1 review
Hey, Teacher! 10 copies
Westwaarts 1 copy
Love Comes Softly [2003 TV movie] (Author) 251 copies, 1 review
Love's Long Journey [2005 TV movie] (Author) 190 copies, 1 review
Love's Unending Legacy [2007 TV movie] (Author) 144 copies, 1 review
Love's Unfolding Dream [2007 TV movie] (Author) 126 copies, 1 review
Love Begins [2011 TV Movie] (Author) 51 copies
When Calls the Heart: Complete Season 5 (Author, some editions) 11 copies
1 (182) adult (246) adult fiction (686) animals (132) book (237) Canada (147) Canadian West (95) children (101) children's (75) Christian (865) Christian fiction (2,247) Christian historical fiction (102) Christian romance (241) DVD (255) F (98) F OKE (258) family (133) FIC OKE (152) fiction (5,241) historical (475) historical fiction (1,112) historical romance (237) inspirational (134) inspirational fiction (125) Janette Oke (329) Kindle (112) Large Print (115) love (87) Love Comes Softly (130) Love Comes Softly Series (185) novel (313) Oke (80) own (134) read (173) romance (1,463) series (383) to-read (643) western (167) Women of the West (175) Women of the West series (141)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Janette was born during the depression years to a Canadian prairie farmer and his wife, and she remembers her childhood as full of love and laughter and family love. After graduating from Mountain View Bible College in Canada where she met her husband, Edward, they pastored churches in Canada and the U.S., and they raised their family of four children, including twin boys, in both countries. Edward eventually became president of Mountain View Bible College and recently established a coalition of colleges that became Rocky Mountain Bible College.

In recent years, Janette and her siblings lovingly restored their parents' prairie farm home, and it now serves as a gift shop and museum of prairie life. Please see below for a special invitation to the Oke Writing Museum and The Steeves' Historical House. She and her husband live nearby in Alberta, Canada, where they are active in their local church. Visits from their families, including their grandchildren, are their delight.
Disambiguation notice

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Janette Oke's book Unfailing Love was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Janette Oke's book Where Courage Calls was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Janette Oke's book The Centurion's Wife was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (3.88)
0.5 1
1 68
1.5 5
2 174
2.5 43
3 876
3.5 98
4 926
4.5 50
5 1134

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Janette Oke is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Janette Oke is composed of 18 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 188,687,081 books! | Top bar: Always visible