Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
2,597 (4,350)1108,721 (3.7)11
Margaret Oliphant Wilson Oliphant (née Margaret Oliphant Wilson) (4 April 1828 - 25 June 1897), was a Scottish novelist and historical writer who married her cousin, Frank Wilson Oliphant. Oliphant's first novel was published in 1849, Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland. The book dealt with the Scottish Free Church movement. Oliphant, during an often difficult life, wrote more than 120 works, including novels, books of travel and description, histories, and volumes of literary criticism. Among the best known of her works of fiction are: Adam Graeme (1852), The Marriage of Elinor (1892), The Ways of Life (1897). She died at Wimbledon, London, on 25 June 1897. (Bowker Author Biography)
— biography from Miss Marjoribanks
… (more)
Miss Marjoribanks 451 copies, 14 reviews
Salem Chapel 162 copies, 6 reviews
Phoebe Junior 153 copies, 4 reviews
The Perpetual Curate 152 copies, 6 reviews
The Rector 41 copies, 4 reviews
The Open Door [short story] 31 copies, 4 reviews
The Library Window 30 copies, 2 reviews
A Beleaguered City 24 copies, 1 review
Old Lady Mary 23 copies
The Doctor's Family 22 copies, 2 reviews
The Marriage of Elinor 17 copies, 2 reviews
The Executor 13 copies, 2 reviews
Sheridan 9 copies, 1 review
Francis of Assisi 8 copies, 1 review
Madam 5 copies
Janet 5 copies
Cervantes 4 copies
Molière 4 copies
Whiteladies 4 copies
Squire Arden 3 copies
At His Gates 3 copies
Zaidee: A Romance 3 copies, 1 review
Two Strangers 3 copies
The fugitives 2 copies
The Sorceress 2 copies
Agnes 2 copies
Katie Stewart 2 copies
Dante. 1 copy
Dress 1 copy
Hauntings: Tales of the Supernatural (Contributor) 215 copies, 5 reviews
The Omnibus of Crime (Contributor) 192 copies, 1 review
The Virago Book of Ghost Stories (Contributor) 131 copies, 1 review
The Penguin Book of Ghost Stories (Contributor) 115 copies, 1 review
Scottish Ghost Stories (Contributor) 67 copies
The New Penguin Book of Scottish Short Stories (Contributor) 66 copies, 1 review
Six Novels of the Supernatural (Contributor) 38 copies, 1 review
The Mystery Book (Contributor) 28 copies
Twelve Victorian Ghost Stories (Contributor) 27 copies
A Treasury of Victorian ghost stories (Contributor) 22 copies, 1 review
Ghosts and Marvels (Contributor) 17 copies
Great Tales Of The Supernatural (Contributor) 6 copies
Armchair Horror Collection (Contributor) 5 copies
Z Duchami Przy Wigilijnym Stole (Contributor) 3 copies
Wakacje Wśród Duchów (Contributor) 1 copy
Good Words 1891 (Contributor) 1 copy
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Margaret Oliphant Wilson was born in Wallyford, near Musselburgh, Scotland, the daughter of a customs house official. The family moved to Liverpool, England, when she was a child. She began writing as a teenager. In 1852, she married her cousin Francis Oliphant, an artist, and turned to writing to help support them and their seven children. Her first published work was Passages in the Life of Margaret Maitland (1849), and she became a regular contributor to Blackwood's Literary Magazine. Her husband died in 1859 while on a family trip to Italy, leaving Margaret pregnant. John Blackwood sent her funds to enable her to return to England and to relocate to Elie in Fife. She wrote more than 100 novels, biographies, translations, travel books, and collections of short stories during her prolific career. Her best-remembered works are the group of novels known as The Chronicles of Carlingford, which consisted of The Rector and the Doctor’s Family (1863), Salem Chapel (1863), The Perpetual Curate (1864), Miss Majoribanks (1866), and Phoebe Junior (1876). Many of her popular works focused on Scottish life, including The Minister’s Wife (1869) and Kirsteen (1890). She also wrote a volume of supernatural stories, Tales of the Seen and Unseen, and an autobiography that was published posthumously in 1899.
Disambiguation notice

Current discussions

Margaret Oliphant's Chronicles of Carlingford 3: Salem Chapel in Virago Modern Classics

Member ratings

Average: (3.7)
1 9
1.5 1
2 25
2.5 8
3 135
3.5 58
4 197
4.5 19
5 83

Author pictures (3)


(see all 3 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Margaret Oliphant is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Margaret Oliphant is composed of 25 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 180,389,878 books! | Top bar: Always visible