Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
14,301 (14,420)3021,274 (3.8)640
The Shell Seekers 3,139 copies, 67 reviews
Winter Solstice 1,843 copies, 51 reviews
September 1,652 copies, 25 reviews
Coming Home 1,627 copies, 32 reviews
Wild Mountain Thyme 485 copies, 6 reviews
The Carousel 476 copies, 12 reviews
Under Gemini 466 copies, 8 reviews
The End of Summer 464 copies, 7 reviews
The Day of the Storm 449 copies, 14 reviews
Snow in April 448 copies, 13 reviews
The Empty House 443 copies, 8 reviews
Voices in Summer 408 copies, 6 reviews
Sleeping Tiger 382 copies, 9 reviews
Another View 373 copies, 8 reviews
The World of Rosamunde Pilcher 100 copies, 2 reviews
Love Stories 53 copies
Young Bar 4 copies
A Long Way from Home 2 copies, 1 review
Coming Home I 2 copies
Dear Tom 2 copies
The Shell Seekers [ABRIDGED] 2 copies, 2 reviews
Jahreszeiten 2 copies, 1 review
On My Own 1 copy
Sommerwind 1 copy
20th century (34) adult fiction (36) audiobook (42) Britain (25) British (135) British fiction (66) chick lit (61) Christmas (52) contemporary (57) contemporary fiction (48) Cornwall (139) ebook (29) England (260) English (33) English fiction (27) English literature (28) family (105) family saga (49) fiction (1,728) hardcover (45) historical fiction (62) Kindle (27) Large Print (42) library (39) love (41) novel (172) own (62) paperback (81) Pilcher (37) read (155) relationships (47) Roman (113) romance (550) Rosamunde Pilcher (74) Scotland (226) short stories (92) to-read (334) unread (47) women's fiction (46) WWII (147)

Rosamunde Pilcher has 3 past events. (show)

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Rosamunde Scott was born on 22 September 1924 in Lelant, Cornwall, England, UK, daughter of Helen and Charles Scott, a British commander. Just before her birth her father was posted in Burma, her mother remained in England. She attended St. Clare's Polwithen and Howell's School Llandaff before going on to Miss Kerr-Sanders' Secretarial College. She began writing when she was seven, and published her first short story when she was 18. From 1943 through 1946, Pilcher served with the Women's Naval Service. On 7 December 1946, she married Graham Hope Pilcher, a war hero and jute industry executive who died in March 2009. They moved to Dundee, Scotland, where she still lives today with a dog in Perthshire. They had two daughters and two sons, and fourteen grandchildren. Her son, Robin Pilcher, is also a novelist.

In 1949, her first book, a romance novel, was published by Mills & Boon, under the pseudonym Jane Fraser. She published a further ten novels under that name. In 1955, she also began writing under her married name Rosamunde Pilcher, by 1965 she her own name to all of her novels. In 1996, her novel Coming Home won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award by Romantic Novelists' Association. She retired from writing in 2000. Two years later, she was named an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE).
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.8)
0.5 7
1 52
1.5 14
2 122
2.5 61
3 654
3.5 138
4 824
4.5 89
5 687

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Rosamunde Pilcher is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Rosamunde Pilcher is composed of 11 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 157,822,477 books! | Top bar: Always visible