This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Nigel G. Tranter (1909–2000)

Author of The Bruce Trilogy

Includes the names: N. Tranter, Bruce Tranter, NIGEL TRANTER, Nigel G. Tranter, FSA Scot. NIGEL G TRANTER

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
2,870 (2,872)496,277 (3.63)150
Disambiguation Notice

also wrote Westerns under the pseudonym Nye Tredgold

14th century (13) 15th century (14) 16th century (18) 17th century (16) 20th century (15) biography (22) bookpedia (20) British (14) done (13) eb (25) ebook (12) Edward I (12) England (21) English (23) fiction (286) general fiction (27) HF (15) historical (109) historical fiction (402) historical novel (84) history (180) isbn (14) Kindle (13) medieval (14) N (14) non-fiction (26) novel (34) original (14) own (18) read (14) Robert the Bruce (21) Scotland (530) Scottish (71) Scottish History (35) to-read (98) TRANTER (64) travel (12) unowned (12) unread (26) William Wallace (15)
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Nigel Tranter was born in Scotland and educated in Edinburgh. His childhood interests included history and architecture, but his first job was as an accountant for his uncle's insurance company. In 1933, he married Jean Campbell Grieve, and his first book was published a year later: The Fortalices and Early Mansions of Southern Scotland, which he illustrated himself. Tranter then turned to fiction and became a full-time writer by 1936.

During World War II he served in the Royal Artillery, but still found time to write five books. After the war, he returned to writing, producing childrens' books, romantic novels, and Westerns under the pen-name Nye Tredgold. Tranter is most famous for his historical novels, particularly the Robert the Bruce trilogy, written between 1969 and 1971. Later novels featured many more Scottish figures, including King James II, James V, Macbeth, and King David I.

He was an active public speaker, particularly on historical and political subjects, and was a firm Scottish Nationalist.

In all, he wrote over 130 books; his final novel, Hope Endures, was published posthumously in 2004.
Disambiguation notice
also wrote Westerns under the pseudonym Nye Tredgold

Member ratings

Average: (3.63)
1 11
1.5 1
2 17
2.5 3
3 102
3.5 26
4 182
4.5 9
5 41

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Nigel G. Tranter is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Nigel G. Tranter is composed of 6 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 140,308,731 books! | Top bar: Always visible