This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Author photo. Author promotion picture from her publisher (Otava, Finland)

Author promotion picture from her publisher (Otava, Finland)

Marja-Liisa Vartio (1924–1966)

Author of The Parson's Widow

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
116 (119)3115,729 (3.57)00

Top members (works)

Member favorites

Members: None

Add to favorites
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Information from the Finnish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Awards and honors
Short biography
Marja-Liisa Vartio, née Sairanen, was born in Sääminki, Finland, to parents who divorced a few months before she was born. She went to high school in Nurmijärven and studied literature, art history, and philosophy at the University of Helsinki, graduating with a master's degree in 1950. During her freshman year in 1945, she married Valter Vartion, with whom she adopted a daughter before the marriage ended in 1955. That year, she remarried to the writer Paavo Haavikko, with whom she had two children. She began her literary career in the early 1950s as a poet, but after publishing a few collections, she turned to prose. She is considered an innovator of the Finnish novel, often using folk literature as inspiration. Her first novel, Se on sitten kevät (It Is Then the Spring) was published in 1957, and was followed by several more. She also wrote short stories; many of her poems and short stories have appeared in anthologies. She died in 1966 at age 41 following a high fever that led to a coma. Her last novel Hänen olivat linnut (The Parson's Widow), was published posthumously in 1967. She kept a diary that was published, together with her letters, in three volumes in the 1990s, edited by her daughter Anna-Liisa Haavikko.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.57)
2 1
2.5 2
3 2
3.5 6
4 9
5 1

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Marja-Liisa Vartio is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Marja-Liisa Vartio is composed of 1 name.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 130,230,362 books! | Top bar: Always visible